About Us

Also available in Deutsch

Freedom, justice and solidarity are the basic principles underlying the work of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS). The KAS is a political foundation, closely associated with the Christian Democratic Union of Germany (CDU). As co-founder of the CDU and the first Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany, Konrad Adenauer (1876-1967) united Christian-social, conservative and liberal traditions. His name is synonymous with the democratic reconstruction of Germany, the firm alignment of foreign policy with the trans-Atlantic community of values, the vision of a unified Europe and an orientation towards the social market economy. His intellectual heritage continues to serve both as our aim as well as our obligation today.

In our European and international cooperation efforts we work for people to be able to live self-determined lives in freedom and dignity. We make a contribution underpinned by values to helping Germany meet its growing responsibilities throughout the world.

We encourage people to lend a hand in shaping the future along these lines. With more than 70 offices abroad and projects in over 120 countries, we make a unique contribution to the promotion of democracy, the rule of law and a social market economy. To foster peace and freedom we encourage a continuous dialog at the national and international levels as well as the exchange between cultures and religions.

Human beings in their distinctive dignity and with their rights and responsibilities are at the heart of our work. We are guided by the conviction that human beings are the starting point in the effort to bring about social justice and democratic freedom while promoting sustainable economic activity. By bringing people together who embrace their responsibilities in society, we develop active networks in the political and economic spheres as well as in society itself. The guidance we provide on the basis of our political know-how and knowledge helps to shape the globalization process along more socially equitable, ecologically sustainable and economically efficient lines.

We cooperate with governmental institutions, political parties, civil society organizations and handpicked elites, building strong partnerships along the way. In particular we seek to intensify political cooperation in the area of development cooperation at the national and international levels on the foundations of our objectives and values. Together with our partners we make a contribution to the creation of an international order that enables every country to develop in freedom and under its own responsibility.

In 2002 the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung opened an office in Kabul. With its programmes, the KASsupports the peace process in Afghanistan and contributes to the establishment of a democratic state based on the rule of law. The KAS sponsors conferences, seminars and publications of its partners and conducts its own programmes. The objectives of these programmes are:

  • to contribute to the political, economic and social development of Afghanistan;
  • to disseminate knowledge about the functioning of political institutions and processes;
  • to inform about relevant political, economic, and social issues and provide a forum for the discussion of important topics.

Policy Analysis and Policy Advice

The Foundation supports the establishment of a national research institute at Kabul University (National Center for Policy Research), with which projects are implemented on the following subjects:

  • State structure / development of a democratic state based on the rule of law
  • Political economy
  • Society and the peace process
  • Regional integration and international dialogue

Within the cooperation with the National Center for Policy Research the KAS finances the study and analysis of policy issues and setting-up of a monitoring system that supports decision-making on a national basis. The KAS sponsors the dialogue between scientists and national decision-makers to enhance the reestablishment of functioning state structures that focus on development issues.

Supporting the constitution-making process has been one of the important aspects of the KAS's activities during the years 2002 and 2003. A study tour to Germany and consultancies, workshops and seminars in Afghanistan were some of the means by which the Foundation encouraged discussion on relevant constitutional issues among politicians and scientists.

Current Issues and Subjects

The cooperation between the National Center for Policy Research and the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation currently focuses on the following subjects:

  • State structure / development of a democratic state based on the rule of law
    • Challenges in strengthening state structures and establishing national unity
    • Acceptance and development of democracy
    • Establishing the rule of law
    • Elections and electoral systems
  • Political economy
    • Social market economy - a way for the reconstruction of Afghanistan's economy
    • The role of small and medium enterprises within the plans for Afghanistan's economic recovery
    • Afghanistan's future fiscal policy
    • The revival of the trade sector
  • Society and the peace process
    • Afghan women's global funding and projects
    • Reconciliation without polarization
    • Disarming militias as a precondition for peace in Afghanistan

The National Center for Policy Research conducts research on these topics, publicises its results, and offers seminars and workshops.

Activities in the Media Sector

To supplement the activities described above, the Konrad Adenauer Foundation sponsors the monthly television programme "Nega" which is a TV magazine focussing on current issues of general public interest.

In this field the KAS cooperates with the national Afghan broadcasting corporation Radio Television Afghanistan which produces and broadcasts the monthly programme.

The KAS's media work also includes training for TV journalists that encourages an investigative approach in journalism.

Über uns

Auch verfügbar in English

Willkommen bei der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung !

Freiheit, Gerechtigkeit und Solidarität sind die Leitprinzipien der Arbeit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS). Die KAS ist eine Politische Stiftung, die der Christlich Demokratischen Union Deutschlands (CDU) nahesteht. Als Mitbegründer der CDU und erster deutscher Bundeskanzler verband Konrad Adenauer (1876-1967) christlich-soziale, konservative und liberale Traditionen. Sein Name steht für den demokratischen Wiederaufbau Deutschlands, die außenpolitische Verankerung in einer transatlantischen Wertegemeinschaft, die Vision der europäischen Einigung und die Orientierung an der Sozialen Marktwirtschaft. Sein geistiges Erbe ist uns weiterhin Aufgabe und Verpflichtung zugleich.

Mit unserer Europäischen und Internationalen Zusammenarbeit setzen wir uns dafür ein, dass Menschen selbstbestimmt in Freiheit und Würde leben können. Wir leisten einen werteorientierten Beitrag dazu, dass Deutschland seiner wachsenden Verantwortung in der Welt gerecht wird.

Wir wollen Menschen dazu bewegen, die Zukunft in diesem Sinne mitzugestalten. Durch weltweit mehr als 70 Büros und Projekte in über 120 Ländern leisten wir einen eigenständigen Beitrag zur Förderung von Demokratie, Rechtsstaatlichkeit und Sozialer Marktwirtschaft. Um Frieden und Freiheit zu sichern, unterstützen wir den kontinuierlichen außen- und sicherheitspolitischen Dialog sowie den Austausch zwischen Kulturen und Religionen.

Im Zentrum steht für uns der Mensch in seiner unverwechselbaren Würde, seinen Rechten und Pflichten. Er bildet für uns den Ausgangspunkt für soziale Gerechtigkeit, freiheitliche Demokratie und nachhaltiges Wirtschaften. Indem wir Menschen zusammenbringen, die ihre gesellschaftliche Verantwortung annehmen, entwickeln wir aktive Netzwerke in Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Unser politisches Wissensmanagement verbessert die Chancen, die Globalisierung sozial gerecht, ökologisch nachhaltig und wirtschaftlich effizient zu gestalten.

Partnerschaftlich arbeiten wir mit staatlichen Institutionen, Parteien, Organisationen der Bürgergesellschaft sowie ausgewählten Eliten zusammen. Durch unsere Ziele und Wertevorstellungen wollen wir insbesondere in der Entwicklungspolitik auch in Zukunft Politische Zusammenarbeit regional und global vertiefen. Zusammen mit unseren Partnern tragen wir zu einer internationalen Ordnung bei, die jedem Land eine Entwicklung in Freiheit und Eigenverantwortung ermöglicht.

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung unterhält seit 2002 ein Auslandsbüro in Afghanistan und strebt mit ihren Projekten in diesem Land an, den Friedensprozess und den Aufbau eines demokratischen Rechtsstaates zu unterstützen. Zu diesem Zweck fördern wir Konferenzen, Symposien, Seminare und Publikationen unserer Partner und führen eigene Veranstaltungen durch. Damit wollen wir:

  • zur politischen, wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Entwicklung in Afghanistan beitragen,
  • Wissen über die Funktionsweise politischer Institutionen und Prozesse vermitteln,
  • über relevante politische, wirtschaftliche und soziale Themen informieren und Foren für die Diskussion wichtiger gesellschaftlicher Probleme anbieten.

Politikanalyse und -beratung

Die Stiftung unterstützt den Aufbau eines nationalen Forschungsinstituts an der Universität Kabul (National Center for Policy Research), mit dem Programme zu folgenden Themenbereichen durchgeführt werden:

  • Staatsbildung, Entwicklung eines demokratischen Rechtsstaates
  • Soziale Marktwirtschaft
  • Gesellschaft, Friedensprozess
  • Regionale Integration und internationaler Dialog

Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit dem National Center for Policy Research fördert die Stiftung die Durchführung von Studien und Analysen sowie die Entwicklung eines Monitoring für die Umsetzung von Strategien in Schlüsselbereichen der Politik, um die Arbeit nationaler Entscheidungsträger zu unterstützen. Im Dialog mit Führungskräften aus Politik und Wissenschaft wird angestrebt, die Wiederherstellung funktionierender staatlicher Strukturen zu fördern und mit einer entwicklungsorientierten Politik den Wiederaufbau zu beschleunigen.

Beratende Unterstützung bei der Entwicklung einer neuen Verfassung war in den Jahren 2002 und 2003 einer der Schwerpunkte in der Arbeit der Stiftung. Es wurden verschiedene Expertengespräche, Workshops, Seminare und Symposien durchgeführt, die Diskussionen zu verfassungsrelevanten Rechtsfragen in politischen und wissenschaftlichen Kreisen anregten, an denen auch Mitglieder der Verfassungskommission teilnahmen.

Aktuelle Themen der Projektarbeit

Die Zusammenarbeit mit dem National Center for Policy Research umfasst gegenwärtig folgende Themen:

  • Staatsbildung, Entwicklung eines demokratischen Rechtsstaates
    • Herausforderungen bei der Schaffung von Staatlichkeit und nationaler Einheit
    • Akzeptanz und Entwicklung von Demokratie in Afghanistan
    • Entwicklung des Rechtsstaates
    • das "Problem der wirklich legitimen politischen Legitimation"
    • Wahlen und Wahlsysteme
  • Wirtschaft
    • Soziale Marktwirtschaft – ein Weg für den Wiederaufbau der Wirtschaft in Afghanistan
    • die Rolle kleiner und mittlerer Unternehmen im Rahmen der Planungen für Afghanistans wirtschaftlichen Wiederaufbau
    • Afghanistans künftige Fiskalpolitik
    • die Wiederbelebung des Handels
  • Gesellschaft, Friedensprozess
    • die Rolle der Frau in der internationalen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit in Afghanistan
    • Friedenschaffung ohne Polarisierung
    • Entwaffnung der Milizen als Voraussetzung für Frieden in Afghanistan

Zu diesen Themenbereichen werden Studien und Analysen erstellt, teilweise werden Bildungs- und Informationsprogramme angeboten.

Aktivitäten im Medienbereich

Ergänzend zu den oben genannten Maßnahmen wird die Produktion und Ausstrahlung eines gesellschaftspolitischen Fernsehmagazins durch die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung unterstützt.

Die Stiftung arbeitet mit der nationalen afghanischen Medienanstalt RTA zusammen, das monatlich eine Sendung des Magazins Nega ("Blick") ausstrahlt, in dem über aktuelle Entwicklungen berichtet und zur Diskussion in der Bevölkerung angeregt wird.

Verbunden mit dieser Medienförderung sind Fortbildungsprogramme für Fernseh- und Rundfunkjournalisten zur Stärkung des investigativen Journalismus. Gegenwärtig wird ein Projekt namens "Media Offspring" gestartet, bei dem gemeinsam mit dem Partner RTA versucht wird, Afghanistans Jugend für den Mediensektor zu begeistern.