KAS-SCHOLARSHIP

Also available in Deutsch

KAS SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM

With its scholarship program the KAS country office in Kabul supports especially talented and dedicated young Afghans. Momentarily the program is concentrating on two sectors, economics and media.

"Development Management" –Cooperation with the Ruhr-University Bochum

The KAF is cooperating closely with the Institute of Development Research and Development Policy (IEE) of the Ruhr-University Bochum. The institute which is headed by Professor Löwenstein has revived its cooperation with the University of Kabul in the year 2002. The IEE is offering an 18 month, international and English speaking course of studies, "MA in Development Management". For 2006 the KAF has granted three scholarships for this Master course. Applications had come from all 13 Afghan Universities. After a written pre-selection the KAF together with Dr. Sami Noor from the Ruhr-University Bochum appointed three scholarship holders during an assessment center in Kabul on March 12th, 2006. The successful scholarship holders, Mr. Modaser from Kabul, Mr. Sarwary from Nangahar und Mr. Hossaini from Herat will start their courses in September 2006 to acquire the graduation of "MA in Development Management" in 2008. Thus they follow the footsteps of Mr. Halimi and Mr. Sayyar, the two first Afghan KAF scholarship holders, who have already gained their graduation at the Ruhr-University Bochum in 2006.

Young talents in the media sector: 12 trainee scholarships

The KAS is supporting its partner Radio and Television Afghanistan (RTA) with twelve trainee scholarships. This trainee program is the first of its kind in Afghanistan since 28 years. Coaches of the Deutsche Welle (DW) are teaching the trainees who build the core of the RTA news office. The RTA news office and its trainees are going to deliver the foreign news in Kabul when the Deutsche Welle will give up its regularly broadcasting from Berlin to Kabul in September 2006.

Alumni-Network

The KAF office stays in contact with its former scholarship holders, as well. Therefore in October 2005 it organized the first Alumni-meeting in Kabul. Thereafter, on May 5th, 2006, the second meeting of all former KAS scholarship holders staying in Afghanistan took place. The topic of discussion was “Afghan repatriates from the Federal Republic of Germany – key player in the reconstruction process?”. Numerous participants from the German embassy, the Goethe-Institute, the Kabul University, the German ISAF contingent, and the Afghan ministry of education met with the Resident Representative to Afghanistan, Dr. Babak Khalatbari, who himself is a former KAS scholarship holder.

German support of Talents

Discovering talents, supporting talents. For us, this means to prepare young people from home and abroad to take responsibility in politics and economics, in science and in the media, in the cultural sector and in unions. We understand the patronage of gifted and dedicated students as an investment into the future of our country and of those countries where our foreign scholarship holders come from. In this sense we offer assistance along the guidelines which apply to all our networks of support to

German students

German graduates

Young journalists

Foreigners

Artists (here special guidelines apply)

We ask for the will to make a good showing, political and social commitment. Since 1965 the forming of future leaders and elites, who engage socially or politically and who are guided by Christian-democratic ideas, is one of the central tasks of the Konrad-Adenauer Foundation. For further information we ask you to follow this link: Begabtenförderung

KAS-STIPENDIEN

Auch verfügbar in English

KAS-Stipendienprogramm in Afghanistan

Das Länderbüro der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) in Kabul fördert mit seinem Stipendienprogramm besonders begabte und engagierte junge Afghanen. Dabei konzentriert sich das Stipendienprogramm derzeit auf die beiden Sektoren Wirtschaft und Medien.

"Development Management" – Zusammenarbeit mit der Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Die KAS arbeitet eng mit dem Institute of Development Research and Development Policy (IEE) der Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB) zusammen. Das von Professor Dr. Löwenstein geführte Institut hat seine Kooperation mit der Universität Kabul im Jahre 2002 wiederbelebt. Das IEE bietet ein 18 monatiges, internationales und englischsprachiges Aufbaustudium "MA in Development Management" an. Im Jahr 2006 hat die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Afghanistan drei Stipendien für diesen Masterstudiengang vergeben. Aus allen 13 afghanischen Hochschulen gingen Bewerbungen für die Stipendien ein. Nach einer schriftlichen Vorauswahl wurden auf einer Auswahltagung in Kabul am 12.03.2006 gemeinsam mit Dr. Sami Noor von der RUB die drei Stipendiaten ermittelt. Die erfolgreichen Stipendiaten, Herr Modaser aus Kabul, Herr Sarwary aus Nangahar und Herr Hossaini aus Herat, werden nun ab September 2006 in Bochum ihr Aufbaustudium antreten, um im Jahr 2008 den Abschluss eines "MA in Development Management" erwerben zu können. Sie treten damit in die Fussstapfen von Herrn Halimi und Herrn Sayyar, den ersten zwei afghanischen KAS-Stipendiaten, die bereits 2006 ihren Abschluss an der Bochumer Ruhr-Universität erworben haben.

Mediennachwuchs: 12 Volontärsstipendien

Mit insgesamt 12 Volontärsstipendien unterstützt die KAS seit 2005 die Nachrichtenredaktion ihres Partners Radio and Television Afghanistan (RTA). Dieses Volontärsprogramm ist das erste seiner Art in Afghanistan seit 28 Jahren. Trainer der Deutschen Welle (DW) betreuen die Volontäre, die den Kern der RTA-Nachrichtenredaktion bilden werden. Diese wird ab September 2006, wenn die Deutsche Welle ihre Satellitenübertragung von Berlin nach Kabul einstellt, die Auslandsnachrichten übernehmen.

Altstipendiaten

Das KAS Büro in Kabul bleibt auch mit seinen Altstipendiaten in Kontakt. So veranstaltete die Stiftung im Oktober 2005 das erste Alumni-Treffen in Kabul. Am 27.05.2006 fand anschließend unter dem Diskussionsthema „Afghanische Rückkehrer aus der Bundesrepublik – Keyplayer im Wiederaufbauprozess?“das zweite Treffen ihrer in Afghanistan verweilenden Altstipendiaten statt. Zahlreiche Teilnehmer aus der deutschen Botschaft, dem Goethe-Institut, der Universität Kabul, dem deutschen ISAF-Kontingent sowie dem afghanischen Bildungsministerium trafen sich mit dem Landesrepräsentanten Dr. Babak Khalatbari, der selber auch Altstipendiat der Stiftung ist.

Deutsche Begabtenförderung

Talente entdecken, Talente fördern: Das heißt für uns, junge Menschen aus dem In-und Ausland auf die Übernahme von Verantwortung in Politik und Wirtschaft, in Wissenschaft und Medien, im Kultur- und Verbandsbereich vorzubereiten. Die Förderung begabter und leistungsbereiter Studierender verstehen wir als eine Investition in die Zukunft unseres Landes und der Länder, aus denen unsere ausländischen Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten stammen. In diesem Sinne fördern wir nach den Richtlinien, die für alle Begabtenförderungswerke gleichermaßen gelten

deutsche Studierende

deutsche Graduierte

Nachwuchs-Journalisten

Ausländer

Künstler (hier gelten gesonderte Richtlinien)

Gefragt sind Leistungsbereitschaft, politisches oder soziales Engagement Die Herausbildung zukünftiger Führungskräfte und Leistungseliten, die sich sozial oder politisch engagieren und sich in ihrem Handeln am christlich-demokratischen Menschenbild orientieren, zählt seit 1965 zu den wichtigsten Aufgaben der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung. Für weitere Informationen bitten wir Sie, folgenden Link zu folgen: Begabtenförderung