The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung mourns the loss of Helmut Kohl

On the death of former German Chancellor Helmut Kohl, Chairman of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung and former President of the European Parliament, Hans-Gert Pöttering, writes: more…

June 17, 2017

Unity Government in Kabul

Afghan handover undemocratic but peaceful

The Afghan constitution barred serving President Hamid Karzai from standing again in 2014. Thus, many Afghans hoped that the third presidential election since the fall of the Taliban in 2001 would bring the first democratic handover in the country’s history. But when a victor was finally announced almost six months after the first round of voting, there was little mention of democracy in Kabul. more…

Nils Wörmer | Country Reports | October 29, 2014

Democratic Handover in Afghanistan?

2014 Presidential elections are crucial

Successful presidential elections on 5 April 2014 would produce the first democratic handover in Afghanistan’s history. The vote also represents a milestone in the current transition phase. The organisation and conduct of the election process and the extent of proven manipulation will reveal a great deal about the progress of Afghan democratisation. Ensuring that the election can be held across the entire country will also represent the ultimate test for the Afghan security forces – shortly before the withdrawal of NATO combat forces. more…

Nils Wörmer | Country Reports | March 27, 2014

Women's groups co-operation / Fact Finding Mission

Workshop Report

As a follow-up initiative to the Federal Foreign Office funded conference "Shaping the future of Afghanistan and Pakistan" the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation's Kabul and Islamabad offices in autumn 2013 launched a comprehensive bilateral project. more…

Nils Wörmer | Event Reports | December 5, 2013

An unsatisfactory status quo


In view of recurring election shortcomings, Afghanistan faces the choice of either fixing evident flaws or risking the collapse of its political system. more…

Dr. Babak Khalatbari | December 10, 2010