Navigating Uncertainty: Security Challenges and Strategic Partnerships in the Indo-Pacific

A foreign policy roundtable

November 7 Tuesday

Date/time

November 7, 2017

Loc.

Sydney, Australia

With

Professor Brahma Chellaney, Professr Joachim Krause, presided by Dr. Ashley Townshend

Type

Experts' Meeting

invite-only roundtable discussion with Professor Brahma Chellaney and Professor Joachim Krause who will provide expert Indian and trans-Atlantic/ European perspectives on the issue of security challenges and strategic partnership in the Indo/Pacific.

Also available in Deutsch

As President Donald Trump approaches one year in the White House, countries across the Indo-Pacific remain uncertain about the direction of US policy in the region. Although the Trump administration has recommitted itself to Asian allies and partners, and has continued to pursue close ties with India, it has yet to articulate a comprehensive regional strategy. Uncertainty over the future of US policy comes as regional security challenges are on the rise. From the North Korean nuclear crisis and ongoing maritime tensions in East Asia, to the spectre of violent extremism and major power competition, the Indo-Pacific security landscape is becoming more volatile and difficult to manage.

In cooperation with the United States Studies Centre at the University of Sydney, KAS Australia and the Pacific will host an expert roundtable discussion to address these challenges and seek to identify new opportunities for strategic partnerships.

Contact person

Katja Theodorakis

Programme Manager Foreign/Security Policy and Counter-Terrorism

Katja Theodorakis
Phone +61 2 6154 9325
Languages: English,‎ Deutsch,‎ Nederlands,‎ Español

Partners

United States Studies Centre

Navigating Uncertainty: Security Challenges and Strategic Partnerships in the Indo-Pacific

Eine außenpolitische Roundtable Diskussion

November 7 Dienstag

Datum/Uhrzeit

7. November 2017

Ort

Sydndey, Australien

mit

Professor Dr. Joachim Krause, Professor Brahma Chellaney, Gesprächsleiter Dr. Ashley Townshend

Typ

Expertengespräch

Eine geschlossene Roundtable Diskussion mit Prof. Dr. Joachim Krause und Prof. Brahma Chellaney, die transatlantisch-europäische und indische Perspektiven zu den Themen Sicherheit und strategische Partnerschaften im Indo-Pazifik austauschen werden.

Auch verfügbar in English

Obgleich sich Donald Trumps Amtszeit im Weißen Haus schon einem ganzen Jahr nähert, bestehen für die Länder im indo-pazifischen Raum weiterhin bedeutende Unsicherheiten bezüglich der zukünftigen Ausrichtungen der amerikanischen Außenpolitik. Die Trump-Regierung hat sich zwar dazu verpflichtet, ein aktiver Partner und Verbündeter in Asien zu bleiben, und hat die Beziehungen zu Indien ausgebaut, doch muss sie sich noch deutlich dazu äußern, wie eine umfassende amerikanische Strategie für die Region aussehen soll. Solche Ungewissheiten bezüglich der Zukunft der US Außenpolitik überschneiden sich mit den wachsenden Herausforderungen der regionalen Sicherheitslage: Die nukleare Bedrohung seitens Nord Koreas, die andauernden maritimen Spannungen in Ostasien sowie das weite Spektrum des gewaltsamen Extremismus und der Rivalitäten zwischen Großmächten destabilisieren die Sicherheitslage des indo-pazifischen Raums, so dass man diese nur schwer steuern kann.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem United States Studies Centre an der Universität von Sydney organisiert KAS Australien und Pazifik daher eine Experten Roundtable-Diskussion, die es zum Ziel hat, diese Herausforderungen zu bearbeiten und Optionen für neue strategische Partnerschaften zu identifizieren.

Ansprechpartner

Katja Theodorakis

Programm-Managerin Außen/Sicherheitspolitik und Terrorismusbekämpfung

Katja Theodorakis
Tel. +61 2 6154 9325
Sprachen: English,‎ Deutsch,‎ Nederlands,‎ Español

Partner

United States Studies Centre