"Europe is - its critics notwithstanding - a success story"

Prof. Lammert opens Konrad Adenauer Lecture Series

Also available in Deutsch

On November 28, 2017 KAS' Regional Programme Asia and the Pacific had the honour of welcoming Prof. Norbert Lammert as the keynote speaker on the topic "Germany and Europe in a New Era of Global Challenges". The following quotation by Konrad Adenauer constituted the core message of his lecture: "European unity used to be the dream of a few. It became the hope of many. Today it is a prerequisite for all."

The Project of a United Europe as a Guarantor for Peace

According to Prof. Norbert Lammert, European integration "is the greatest achievement in the history of Europe in the 20th century" since it serves as a guarantor for European peace. Making reference to Brexit, the immediate past President of the German Parliament admonished that only a European community can meet the challenges Europe is currently faced with - populism, separatism, nationalism, cyber threats and terrorism. Whilst the number of EU-member states makes it at times difficult to align economic pursuits with the demands of the necessary political frameworks and functional structures, the foundations of Western democracy can nevertheless be upheld only through a unified approach.

A New Annual Event: The Konrad Adenauer Lecture Series

Prof. Lammert's lecture kicked off the Konrad Adenauer Lecture Series, which was devised by KAS' Australian office as an annual event in cooperation with the Centre for European Studies at the Australian National University. 200 guests from the diplomatic corps, academia, politics, media and the economic sector attended the event at the National Gallery of Australia in Canberra. Prof. Lammert's inaugural lecture constituted the grand finale of a political dialogue programme that took him to Wellington, Sydney, Brisbane and Canberra. This was also flanked by stimulating exchanges in the Australian capital, which included meetings with the Australian foreign minister, the Hon. Julie Bishop, finance Minister the Hon. Mathias Cormann and the presidents of the Senate as well as the House of Representatives.

Author

Katja Theodorakis

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Berlin, December 1, 2017

„Europa ist – entgegen aller Kritiker – eine Erfolgsgeschichte”

Lammert eröffnet Konrad Adenauer Lecture Series in Canberra

Auch verfügbar in English

Am 28. November 2017 hatte das Regionalprogramm der KAS Australien und Pazifik die Ehre, Prof. Dr. Norbert Lammert als Keynote Speaker zum Thema „Germany and Europe in a New Era of Global Challenges” begrüßen zu dürfen. Folgendes Zitat Konrad Adenauers entwickelte sich zum Leitmotiv seines Vortrags: „Die Einheit Europas war ein Traum von wenigen. Sie wurde die Hoffnung für viele. Sie ist heute die Notwendigkeit für alle.“

Bild 1 von 5
Norbert Lammert

Inauguration der Konrad Adenauer Lecture Series mit Prof. Dr. Norbert Lammert in Canberra

Europa als Frieden sicherndes Projekt

Für Norbert Lammert ist die europäische Integration „die größte Errungenschaft des 20. Jahrhunderts in der Geschichte Europas”, da sie der europäischen Friedenssicherung dient. Nur eine europäische Gemeinschaft - und dies gab der ehemalige Bundestagspräsident mit Verweis auf den Brexit zu bedenken - kann signifikante Erfolge erzielen, was die Herausforderungen Europas betrifft: Populismus, Separatismus, Nationalismus, Cyberinterventionen und Terrorismus. Zwar ist es angesichts der vielen EU-Mitgliedstaaten nicht immer einfach, wirtschaftliche Bestrebungen mit politischen Rahmenbedingungen und Funktionalität zu vereinbaren, doch können die Grundzüge der westlichen Demokratie nur mit vereinten Kräften aufrechterhalten werden.

Neue jährliche Reihe: Konrad Adenauer Lecture Series

Der Vortrag von Prof. Dr. Norbert Lammert war gleichzeitig der Auftakt der Konrad Adenauer Lecture Series, welche das Australien-Büro der KAS in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Centre for European Studies der Australian National University ins Leben gerufen hat und welche jährlich fortgesetzt werden soll: 200 Gäste aus den Bereichen Diplomatie, Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Medien wohnten der Veranstaltung in der National Gallery of Australia in Canberra bei. Die Inauguration der Konrad Adenauer Lecture Series durch Prof. Dr. Norbert Lammert bildete den krönenden Abschluss eines politischen Dialogprogramms in Neuseeland und Australien mit den Stationen Wellington, Sydney, Brisbane und Canberra. In der australischen Hauptstadt fand zudem ein intensiver Austausch mit der australischen Außenministerin Julie Bishop, Finanzminister Mathias Cormann sowie den Präsidenten des Senats und des Abgeordnetenhauses statt.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Berlin, 1. Dezember 2017