Country Reports

Government reshuffling in Belarus

Background and outlook

On August 18, 2018 the Belarusian President Alexander Lukashenko performed a quick and massive transformation of his government. The country got a new head of the government, four new vice prime ministers and also four new ministers with substantial areas of responsibility. This was triggered, quite commonly for Belarus, by the dissatisfaction of the head of the state with the execution of his instructions by the government regarding the economic development – especially in the Orsha district in the East of Belarus. However there are more reasons for this move. more…

Dr. Wolfgang Sender | August 27, 2018

The European Games in Minsk 2019

About relationship between sports and politics

Following the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia 2018, the German Bundestag on June 14, 2018 among other things intensively debated the political framework conditions in Russia and the connection between sports and politics. In 2019 the union sister state of Russia, the Republic of Belarus, is expected to host the European Games. Which framework conditions must be expected and considered here? more…

Dr. Wolfgang Sender | August 3, 2018

The NATO Exercise Saber Strike

Belarus Being a Factor

In the beginning of June NATO was conducting a defense exercise Saber Strike in Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania and Poland with 18,000 soldiers. The exercise sought to strengthen defense in a geographically significant region: a narrow strip of land between NATO members Lithuania and Poland, which is restricted by Russia's Kaliningrad to the west and Belarus to the east. It was announced against the backdrop of many Russian exercises, contrary to Russian practice, the real number of participants did not exceed the announced figures, and it was much smaller than usual maneuvers on the Russian side. more…

Dr. Wolfgang Sender | June 21, 2018

Think Tanks in Belarus

An overview of history and current situation

All over the world think tanks play an important role in the development, implementation and support of states' foreign and security policy. Germany and the EU, but also, for example, Russia, has seen a wave of new foundations and professionalization in the field of think tanks in recent years. This analytical publication takes the stock of the current and historical situation of think tanks in the Republic of Belarus. more…

Dr. Wolfgang Sender | June 19, 2018

Intellectual Belarus 2040

Ideas about future economic growth in Belarus

During the Congress of Scientists in Minsk on December 12 and 13, 2017 the academic elite of the country adopted the draft strategy “Science and Technology: 2018 - 2040”. The Congress was attended by more than 2.000 delegates from Belarus and about 500 international guests from the leading foreign academies of sciences and scientific and research centres. more…

Dr. Wolfgang Sender | January 29, 2018


About this Serial

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung is a political foundation. Our offices abroad are in charge of over 200 projects in more than 120 countries. The country reports offer current analyses, exclusive evaluations, background information and forecasts - provided by our international staff.

Länderberichte

Regierungsumstellung in Belarus

Hintergründe und Ausblicke

Am 18. August 2018 schloss der belarussische Präsident Alexander Lukaschenko eine kurzfristige und massive Umgestaltung seiner Regierung ab. Das Land bekam einen neuen Regierungschef, vier neue Vizepremierminister sowie vier neue Minister mit einflussreichem Geschäftsbereich. Auslöser dieses für Belarus durchaus bemerkenswerten Wechsels war vordergründig die Unzufriedenheit des Staatschefs mit der Erfüllung seiner Anweisungen durch die Regierung bezüglich der wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung – insbesondere des Kreises Orscha im Osten von Belarus. Dahinter verbirgt sich jedoch durchaus mehr. mehr…

Dr. Wolfgang Sender | 27. August 2018

Die European Games in Minsk 2019

Über die Beziehung zwischen Sport und Politik

Im Umfeld der Fußball-Weltmeisterschaft in Russland 2018 kam es unter anderem im Deutschen Bundestag am 14. Juni 2018 zu einer intensiven Debatte um die politischen Rahmenbedingungen in Russland und zur Beziehung zwischen Sport und Politik. 2019 sind im Unionsbruderstaat von Russland, der Republik Belarus, die European Games geplant. Welche Rahmenbedingungen sind hier zu erwarten und zu beachten? mehr…

Dr. Wolfgang Sender | 3. August 2018

Die NATO-Übung Saber Strike

Der Faktor Belarus

Anfang Juni fand in Estland, Lettland, Litauen und Polen die NATO-Verteidigungsübung Saber Strike mit 18.000 Soldaten statt. Die Übung zielte auf die Stärkung der Verteidigung in einer geographisch bedeutsamen Region: einem schmalen Landübergang zwischen den NATO-Mitgliedern Litauen und Polen, der westlich vom russischen Kaliningrad und östlich von der Republik Belarus begrenzt wird. Sie wurde entgegen vieler russischer Übungen angekündigt, überschritt entgegen russischer Praxis nicht die avisierte und reale Teilnehmerzahl und war vor allem kleiner als übliche Manöver der russischen Seite. mehr…

Dr. Wolfgang Sender | 21. Juni 2018

Think Tanks in Belarus

Ein Überblick über Geschichte und gegenwärtige Situation

In der Vorbereitung, Durchführung und Unterstützung der Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik von Staaten spielen Think Tanks weltweit eine wichtige Rolle. In Deutschland und der EU, aber auch beispielsweise in Russland, kam es gerade in den vergangenen Jahren zu einer Welle von Neugründungen und Professionalisierungen im Bereich der Denkfabriken. In dieser Analyse wird dargelegt, wie sich die gegenwärtige und historische Situation der Think Tanks in der Republik Belarus gestaltet. mehr…

Dr. Wolfgang Sender | 19. Juni 2018

Intellektuelles Belarus 2040

Zukunftsvorstellungen über das künftige wirtschaftliche Wachstum in Belarus

Auf einem Wissenschaftlerkongress in Minsk verabschiedete die wissenschaftliche Elite des Landes am 12. und 13. Dezember 2017 den Entwurf einer Strategie „Wissenschaft und Technologie: 2018 - 2040“. An dem Kongress nahmen über 2.000 Delegierte aus Belarus und rund 500 internationale Gäste aus führenden ausländischen Wissenschaftsakademien und Wissenschafts- und Forschungszentren teil. mehr…

Dr. Wolfgang Sender | 29. Januar 2018


Über diese Reihe

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung ist in rund 80 Ländern auf fünf Kontinenten mit einem eigenen Büro vertreten. Die Auslandsmitarbeiter vor Ort können aus erster Hand über aktuelle Ereignisse und langfristige Entwicklungen in ihrem Einsatzland berichten. In den „Länderberichten“ bieten sie den Nutzern der Webseite der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung exklusiv Analysen, Hintergrundinformationen und Einschätzungen.