Scholarship Programme

Also available in Deutsch

Our goal: To discover and promote young talents

Discovering and promoting talents – to us, this implies preparing young people from Germany and abroad for assuming responsibility in politics and the economy, in science and the media, in culture and in civil organisations. In our philosophy, promoting gifted and motivated students represents an investment in a country's future, and it is with this purpose in mind that we focus on promoting gifted young scientists.

What we are looking for is motivation as well as political or social commitment.

Ever since 1965, training future leaders and elite performers showing social or political commitment has been one of the most important tasks of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation.

Our support is not predicated on a candidate's ethnic or familial background or gender. We judge the qualification of scholars by their performance both before they submit their application as well as during the scholarship term afterwards. We expect their performance to indicate that the promotion results will be clearly above average.

However, good marks are not enough by themselves. We expect scholars to be able to look at matters from different angles, and we expect them to be tolerant, receptive, creative, and dialogue-oriented.

The Konrad Adenauer Foundation intends this value-based promotion of performance and personal qualifications to contribute towards the development of intellectual resources as well as towards peace, freedom, and international understanding.

Eligibility criteria

  • Are you a Chinese national currently engaged in postgraduate studies who would like to acquire a PhD degree in science or the arts at one of Germany's universities?
  • Has your performance at secondary school and at college been above average?
  • Are you interested in and/or committed to political and/or social concerns?
  • Having received a grant from the Konrad Adenauer Foundation, would you be prepared to occupy positions of responsibility in politics, the economy, the society, science, administration, publishing, or culture on the national and international plane?

If your answer to these questions is yes, you may attend the screening meeting that will be organised by the Konrad Adenauer Foundation in Beijing. The next meeting will be held in 2013. For more detailed information, please contact our Beijing Project Office at the following address:

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e.V.
Beijing Project Office
Office 813, Beijing Lufthansa Center
No. 50, Liangmaqiao Road
Chaoyang District, Beijing 100016
E-Mail: Beijing@kas.de
Phone: 0086 – 10-6462 2207/08
Fax: 0086 – 10-6462-2209

Further information is also available on the website of the Chinese Scholarship Council.

Who can apply?

To apply for a scholarship, postgraduate students need to document their qualification for and/or enrolment in a promotion course of studies in science or the arts at one of Germany's universities. Applications from candidates who have not yet completed their preliminary examinations, or whose studies abroad do not qualify them for graduate studies in this country, will not be considered.

Applicants must furnish documentary evidence of having completed a course of study and acquired a university degree enabling them to take up a profession. At the same time, they must furnish evidence of German language skills at the level of the German certificate issued by the Goethe Institute, and they must be prepared to return to their respective home country after having completed their study project in Germany.

Who cannot apply?

Foreign nationals who

  • have reached the age of 30 at the time of submitting their application,
  • intend to study at technical colleges located in Germany or at universities abroad,
  • intend to study music or the arts without an entrance examination certificate at a German college, or
  • intend to study medicine or dentistry

will not be eligible.

Applicants who have completed courses in medicine or dentistry in China will not be eligible for participation in the screening process.

Where and how should you apply?

For downloading our guidelines and preliminary questionnaires, please go to >>.

Please send your completed questionnaire to the address of our Beijing Project Office (see above).

We keep in touch with our 'old boys and girls'

We believe that keeping in touch with our former scholars is very important, and we actively maintain these contacts. In China alone, our former scholars include more than 160 people, most of whom have completed their graduate or postgraduate studies with top marks and have a high degree of scientific, political, and social competence.

Begabtenförderung

Auch verfügbar in English

Unser Ziel: Talente entdecken, Talente fördern

Talente entdecken, Talente fördern: Das heißt für uns, junge Menschen aus dem In- und Ausland auf die Übernahme von Verantwortung in Politik und Wirtschaft, in Wissenschaft und Medien, im Kultur- und Verbandsbereich vorzubereiten. Die Förderung begabter und leistungsbereiter Studierender verstehen wir als eine Investition in die Zukunft eines jeweiligen Landes. In diesem Sinne fördern wir besonders begabte Nachwuchswissenschaftler.

Gefragt sind Leistungsbereitschaft, politisches oder soziales Engagement

Die Heranbildung zukünftiger Führungskräfte und Leistungseliten, die sich sozial oder politisch engagieren, zählt seit 1965 zu den wichtigsten Aufgaben der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung.

Wir fördern dabei unabhängig von Herkunft, Familie und Geschlecht. Maßstab für die fachliche Qualifikation eines Stipendiaten sind die bis zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung erbrachten und während der Förderung zu erbringenden Leistungen. Sie sollen einen klar überdurchschnittlichen Abschluss der Promotion erwarten lassen.

Mit guten Noten allein ist es allerdings nicht getan. Wir erwarten die Fähigkeit, Sachverhalte differenziert zu betrachten, Toleranz und Aufgeschlossenheit, Kreativität und Bereitschaft zum Dialog.

Mit dieser wertorientierten Förderung von Leistung und persönlicher Qualifikation möchte die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung zur Erschließung der geistigen Ressourcen beitragen. Wir leisten damit einen Beitrag zu Frieden, Freiheit und Völkerverständigung.

Förderungsrichtlinien

  • Sie sind Chinese/Chinesin und möchten an wissenschaftlichen oder künstlerischen Hochschulen Deutschlands ein Doktorat erwerben?
  • Ihre Leistungen in Sekundar- und Hochschule sind überdurchschnittlich?
  • Sie interessieren bzw. engagieren sich politisch bzw. sozial?
  • Sie sind nach der Förderung durch die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung bereit, auf nationaler wie internationaler Ebene verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft, in Wissenschaft und Verwaltung, Publizistik und Kultur zu übernehmen?

Dann besteht für Sie die Möglichkeit, sich bei der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung für ein Stipendium zu bewerben. Bitte kontaktieren Sie unser Projektbüro in Peking für nähere Auskünfte:

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung e.V.
Projektbüro Peking
Office 813, Beijing Lufthansa Center
No. 50, Liangmaqiao Road
Chaoyang District, Beijing 100016
E-Mail: Beijing@kas.de
Tel: 0086 – 10-6462 2207/08
Fax: 0086 – 10 6462-2209

Weitere Informationen hierzu erhalten Sie auch auf der Homepage des Chinese Scholarship Council.

Wer kann sich bewerben?

Voraussetzung für eine Bewerbung für Graduierte ist der Nachweis der Zulassung zum bzw. der Immatrikulation in einen Promotionsstudiengang an einer wissenschaftlichen oder künstlerischen Hochschule in Deutschland. Die Bewerbung von Kandidaten, deren Zwischen- oder Vordiplomprüfung noch bevorsteht oder deren im Ausland erbrachte Studienleistungen eine Einstufung in den Hauptstudiengang hierzulande nicht zulassen, kann nicht berücksichtigt werden.

Voraussetzungen für eine Bewerbung sind der Nachweis des Erwerbs eines berufsbefähigenden Hochschulabschlusses nach Beendigung eines Studiums. Gleichzeitig müssen deutsche Sprachkenntnisse auf dem Niveau des Zertifikats "Deutsch" (Goethe Institut) nachgewiesen werden und es muss die Bereitschaft bestehen, nach Abschluss des Studienvorhabens in Deutschland ins Heimatland zurückzukehren.

Wer kann sich nicht bewerben?

Nicht gefördert werden können Ausländer/innen, die:

    • zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung das 30. Lebensjahr vollendet haben
    • beabsichtigen, an hiesigen Fachhochschulen oder an Hochschulen außerhalb Deutschlands zu studieren
    • beabsichtigen, ohne Nachweis einer Aufnahmeprüfung an deutschen Musik- oder Kunsthochschulen ein Studium aufzunehmen
    • eine human- oder zahnmedizinische Facharztausbildung anstreben.

Bewerber, die in China ein human- oder zahnmedizinisches Studium absolviert haben, sind von der Teilnahme am Auswahlverfahren ausgeschlossen.

Wo und wie können Sie sich bewerben?

Unsere Förderrichtlinien können Sie der folgenden Seite entnehmen: >>

Wir halten Kontakt zu den "Ehemaligen"

Der Kontakt zu unseren ehemaligen Stipendiatinnen und Stipendiaten ist uns sehr wichtig und wird von uns aktiv gepflegt. Allein die Gruppe der chinesischen Altstipendiatengruppe umfasst über 160 Personen, die in der Regel das Studium oder die Promotion mit überdurchschnittlich guten Noten beendet haben und über eine hohe wissenschaftliche, politische und soziale Kompetenz verfügen.