Stories of Hope and Death

Refugees and the Rise of Emotional Politics in Europe

Also available in Deutsch, 中文

Lecture at Shanghai’s Hopkins China Forum

Image 1 of 3
Dr. Mayer trug im Rahmen des Hopkins China Forum vor

Dr. Mayer spoke at the Hopkins China Forum, a lecture Series organized in cooperation with the Hopkins Alumni Club. He introduced reactions in Europe on the refugee crisis, where he recognizes an increasingly dichotomous public discourse: nationalism vs. normative discourse

In his speech, Dr. Maximilian Mayer , Research Professor at Tongji-University Shanghai emphasized the link between the destiny of refugees and the strong dichotomy in the political discourse of European countries. The influx of millions of refugees to Europe, who seek hope and the right to live, would face reactions from the host societies that range from a high level of civil society courage to extreme anger, hatred and anxiety. Especially new right-wing populist parties have gained high support rates as result of the refugee influx and have been on the rise almost all over Europe.

But how can it be explained? Dr. Mayer impressively illustrated the reactions in Europe which he analyzed against the backdrop of an increasingly dichotomous public discourse: nationalism vs. normative discourse; whereas humanistic compassion would face tendencies in parts of the societies to construct and emphasize peculiar national characteristics. The fact that particularly political elites tend to populist politics in order to give noisy voices in the public the feeling of state action, has evolved into the global phenomena of securing borders by building up walls and fences. But exactly this approach has been contributing to the severe humanitarian crisis that is following the dangerous crossing of the Mediterranean Sea which already caused more than 2900 fatal victims in the year 2016.

The question remains under what circumstances emotionally-driven politics can find its way back to rational acting. The broad commitment of civil society, creative artists and responsible media coverage has been important conveyers of the message that a systematic denying of governmental responsibility that is driven by populism and the attempt to stir up hatred and fear is definitely the wrong way. Therefore, it is from utmost importance to co-create the public discourse by explaining complicated causalities — including the causes of refugees and questions regarding the legal pre-conditions to acquire refugee status. In his presentation, Dr. Mayer pointed out important perspectives that can help to tackle the issues.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

China, July 28, 2016

Contact

Tim Wenniges

Head of the KAS office in China | Shanghai

Tim Wenniges
Phone +86 21 6249 8511
Fax +86 21 6249 4549
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English

Geschichten von Hoffnung und Tod

Refugees and the Rise of Emotional Politics in Europe

Auch verfügbar in English, 中文

Vortragsveranstaltung im Rahmen des Hopkins China Forums

Bild 1 von 3
Dr. Mayer trug im Rahmen des Hopkins China Forum vor

Dr. Mayer trug im Rahmen des Hopkins China Forum vor. Dabei stellte er die Reaktionen in Europa auf die Flüchtlingskrise dar, bei der er eine allgemeine Tendenz zur Zweiteilung im öffentlichen Diskurs erkennt: Nationalistischem Denken stehe eine normative Diskurskultur gegenüber.

Dr.Maximilian Mayer , Research Professor an der Tongji-Universität Shanghai, stellte in seinem Vortrag eine Verknüpfung her zwischen dem Schicksal der Flüchtlinge und dem starken Zwiespalt im politischen Diskurs in den Ländern Europas. Der Zustrom von Millionen von Flüchtlingen nach Europa auf der Suche nach Hoffnung und Leben, trifft dabei auf Reaktionen in den Gastgebergesellschaften, die von ausgeprägter zivilgesellschaftlicher Courage bis hin zu extremen Ressentiments, Hass und Ängsten reicht. Insbesondere rechtspopulistische Parteien haben im Zuge der Flüchtlingsströme deutlich an Zustimmung gewonnen und sich fast flächen-deckend in Europa etablieren können.

Doch wie ist dies zu erklären? Dr. Mayer stellte eindrücklich die Reaktionen in Europa dar, die er vor dem Hintergrund einer allgemeinen Tendenz zur Zweiteilung im öffentlichen Diskurs wertete: Nationalistischem Denken stehe eine normative Diskurskultur gegenüber; einem humanistischen Liberalismus dagegen die bewusste Orientierung und Konstruktion nationaler Eigenheiten. Dass dabei gerade auf Seiten politischer Eliten populistische Kampagnen gestartet werden, die den unruhigen Stimmen im Volk das Gefühl der staatlichen Handlungsfähigkeit geben sollen, habe dazu geführt, dass weltweit Grenzen durch den Bau von Mauern und Zäunen geschützt und gesichert werden. Dagegen sind aber gerade diese Ausdruck der massiven humanitären Krise, die sich auf den gefährlichen Überfahrten über das Mittelmeer zeigen und im Jahr 2016 bereits über 2900 Todesopfer zur Folge gehabt haben.

Bleibt die Frage unter welchen Bedingungen von Emotionen geleitete Politik (emotional politcs) zurück zu rationalem Handeln finden kann. Das vielfältige Engagement auf Seiten der Zivilgesellschaft, der Kulturschaffenden und eine verantwortungsvolle Medienberichterstattung sind wichtige Mittler der Botschaft, dass ein systematisches Negieren von staatlicher Verantwortung, getrieben von Populismus und dem Schüren von Ängsten, eindeutig der falsche Weg ist. Vielmehr gilt es, den öffentlichen Diskurs dahingehend mitzugestalten, dass kausale Zusammenhänge — angefangen von der Fluchtursache bis hin zur Frage der rechtlichen Voraussetzung zum Erhalt einer Asylberechtigung — erklärt und transparent vermittelt werden. Dafür zeigte der Vortrag von Dr. Mayer wichtige Perspektiven auf.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

China, 28. Juli 2016

Kontakt

Tim Wenniges

Leiter des Auslandsbüros in China | Shanghai

Tim Wenniges
Tel. +86 21 6249 8511
Fax +86 21 6249 4549
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English