Structural Change and Energy Policy in the 13th Five-Year-Plan on the example of the Inner Mongolia

19th Annual Convention of the KAS Former Scholarship Holders in PR China

Also available in Deutsch, 中文

KAS former scholarship holders in the PR China met on the subject “Structural Change and Energy Policy in the 13th Five-Year-Plan on the example of the Inner Mongolia” in Baotou.

Image 1 of 6
Gruppenfoto mit den Teilnehmern des Altstipendiatentreffens in Baotou

Group photo with the participants of the former scholarship meeting in Baotou

“A good conversation never ends.” With these words Tim Wenniges and Thomas Awe, heads of the KAS offices in Shanghai and Beijing, opened the 19th meeting of the former KAS-scholarship holders. For more than 20 years this dialogue with the former scholarship holders, who are essentially contributing to the foundation's work with their diverse experiences, continues on. This year’s talks were held in the context of “Structural change and energy policy in the 13th Five-Year-Plan on the example of the Inner Mongolia” in Baotou. In his speech Frank Priess, deputy head of the Main Department European and International Cooperation, dealt with the challenges for the KAS engagement worldwide before moving on to a discussion with everyone present about the foundations work in China up to now as well as in the future.

The first lecture by Prof. Dr. Jakhadai Chimeddorji of the University of Inner Mongolia focused on the role of the autonomous region in Chinese energy and resource politics. Thanks to the rich occurrence of coal, steel and rare earth metals also in the Bayan-Obo-Mines near Baotou the region emerged to an important industrial center. Thus processes of change in the areas of migration, urbanization and pollution increasingly come into the attention of the central government. With active promotion of renewable energies Beijing aims to make use of the wind and sun capacities of the region to sustainably guarantee the countries energy security.

Dr. Peter Hefele, head of the KAS regional program for energy security and climate change in Asia-Pacific, identified Chinas way to a sustainable energy system in the increasing separation of energy consumption and economic growth. The requirements of restructuring also of the German energy system can serve as a foundation for deeper cooperation especially when it comes to the implication of small technological solutions in China that are closer to the energy demand and easier to manage than the large-scale projects of the central government so far. However more efficiency in energy consumption can only be reached with the help of the entrepreneurship and the civil societies.

A following visit to the steelwork of the Baogang group emphasized the company’s awareness of the need for industrial reforms in order to tackle local environment issues but also to ensure sustainable security of the energy supply nationwide.

The conference concluded with a lecture by Prof. Dr. Maximilian Mayer of the Tongji University in Shanghai on energy policy aspects in the “One Belt, One Road”-initiative: The distribution of resource dependencies among as many countries as possible was successfully realized in the Chinese energy strategy so far. Securing the transportation routes for these resources is one key component of the so called Silk Road project, which is to provide infrastructure investments for the establishment of a logistics and transportation channel from China to Europe. According to Prof. Dr. Mayer the Peoples Republic will increasingly have to face internal conflicts of the countries on the road, which would stand in contrast to the Chinese policy of nonintervention so far.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

China, September 22, 2016

Contact

Tim Wenniges

Head of the KAS office in China | Shanghai

Tim Wenniges
Phone +86 21 6249 8511
Fax +86 21 6249 4549
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English

Strukturwandel und Energiepolitik im 13. Fünfjahresplan am Beispiel der Inneren Mongolei

19. Jahrestreffen 2016 der KAS-AltstipendiatInnen in der VR China

Auch verfügbar in English, 中文

KAS-Altstipendiatinnen und Altstipendiaten in der VR China tagten zum Thema "Strukturwandel und Energiepolitik im 13. Fünfjahresplan am Beispiel der Inneren Mongolei" in Baotou.

Bild 1 von 6
Gruppenfoto mit den Teilnehmern des Altstipendiatentreffens in Baotou

Gruppenfoto mit den Teilnehmern des Altstipendiatentreffens in Baotou

„Ein gutes Gespräch ist eines, das nie endet.“ Mit diesen Worten eröffneten Tim Wenniges und Thomas Awe, Leiter der KAS-Büros in Shanghai und Peking, das 19. KAS-Altstipendiatentreffen in der VR China. Seit mehr als 20 Jahren währt dieser Dialog mit den chinesischen KAS-Altstipendiatinnen und Altstipendiaten fort, die mit ihren vielfältigen Erfahrungen einen unentbehrlichen Beitrag zur Stiftungsarbeit in Peking und Shanghai leisten. Die diesjährigen Gespräche fanden vor dem Hintergrund „Strukturwandel und Energiepolitik im 13. Fünfjahresplan am Beispiel der Inneren Mongolei“ in Baotou statt.

Frank Priess, Stellvertretender Leiter der Hauptabteilung Europäische und Internationale Zusammenarbeit, ging in seiner Ansprache zunächst auf die Herausforderungen an das weltweite Engagement der KAS ein und diskutierte mit den Teilnehmern über die bisherige und zukünftige Arbeit der Stiftung in China.

Im Mittelpunkt des ersten Fachvortrags von Prof. Dr. Jakhadai Chimeddorji von der Universität der Inneren Mongolei stand die Rolle des Autonomen Gebiets in der chinesischen Energie- und Ressourcenpolitik. Dank des reichhaltigen Vorkommens an Kohle, Stahl und Seltenerdmetallen auch in den Bayan-Obo-Minen nahe Baotou konnte sich die Region zu einem bedeutenden Industriezentrum entwickeln. Damit einhergehende Wandlungsprozesse in den Bereichen der Migration, Urbanisierung und der Umweltverschmutzung geraten zunehmend in den Fokus der zentralen Regierung. Mit einer aktiven Förderung erneuerbarer Energien sollen die Wind- und Sonnenkapazitäten der Region genutzt werden, um zunächst die Energiesicherheit des Landes nachhaltig zu gewährleisten.

Dr. Peter Hefele, Leiter des KAS-Regionalprogramms für Energiesicherheit und Klimawandel in Asien-Pazifik, identifizierte Chinas Weg zu einem nachhaltigen Energiesystem in der zunehmenden Trennung von Energieverbrauch und Wirtschaftswachstum. Der Umbaubedarf auch des deutschen Energiesystems diene dabei als Grundlage für eine tiefergehende Zusammenarbeit insbesondere bei der zukünftigen Implikation kleintechnologischer Lösungen in China, die näher am Energiebedarf und leichter steuerbar sind als die bisherigen Großprojekte der zentralen Regierung. Mehr Effizienz im Energieverbrauch könne jedoch nicht ohne Hilfe der Unternehmen und Zivilgesellschaften gewährleistet werden.

Eine anschließende Exkursion im Stahlwerk der Baogang-Gruppe verdeutlichte das Bewusstsein des Unternehmens über den Reformbedarf der Industrie zur Inangriffnahme der Umweltprobleme vor Ort, aber auch zur nachhaltigen Sicherung der Energieversorgung landesweit.

Die Tagung schloss mit einem Fachvortrag von Prof. Dr. Maximilian Mayer von der Tongji-Universität Shanghai über energiepolitische Aspekte der „One Belt, One Road“-Initiative: Die Verteilung der Ressourcenabhängigkeit auf möglichst viele Förderländer konnte in der chinesischen Energiestrategie bislang erfolgreich umgesetzt werden. Die Sicherung der Transportrouten für diese Ressourcen ist zentraler Bestandteil des sogenannten Seidenstraßenprojekts, das Infrastrukturinvestitionen für die Errichtung eines Logistik- und Transportkanals von China bis nach Europa vorsieht. Laut Prof. Dr. Meyer müsse sich die Volksrepublik jedoch zunehmend innenpolitischen Konflikten anderer Länder annehmen, was im Gegensatz zur bisherigen chinesischen Nichteinmischungspolitik stehe.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

China, 22. September 2016

Kontakt

Tim Wenniges

Leiter des Auslandsbüros in China | Shanghai

Tim Wenniges
Tel. +86 21 6249 8511
Fax +86 21 6249 4549
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English