EU Election Observers visit to the PTD Voter Education Activity

Voter Education

Also available in Deutsch

Voter education is an essential requirement with regard to fair, free and peaceful elections. Members of the EU Election Observer Mission (EU EOM) had a first-hand experience at how the Partnership for Transformational Devolution (PTD) project is empowering Kenyan citizens in readiness for the general elections in August 8th, 2017.

Image 1 of 6
Group image EU observers with team

It is 10:00 a.m. in Bangladesh – the biggest slum in Kenya’s second largest city of Mombasa. Kids are playing in the yard of their school, salesmen are selling their goods and the first participants of the community meeting of the Partnership for Transformational Devolution are taking their seats at the event hall next to the school yard. Such meetings which are part of the Devolution Program funded by the European Union as well as the German Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development are aiming to empower citizens and inform them on their rights with respect to the decisive elections on August 8. “Activities like this build the foundation for democracy and participation since many Kenyans are often not familiar with their constitutional rights”, explains Thomas Tödtling, Project Director of the KAS Devolution Program.

All eyes on Kenya

On this unique Tuesday, KAS together with the coastal region implementing partner namely the Catholic Justice and Peace Commission (CJPC) are in the business of creating awareness and sensitizing nearly 80 citizens in Bangladesh who will serve as multipliers in their communities. Although it is not the first gathering of this kind, this one is very special since two members of the EU Election Observation Mission (EU EOM) joins the event to see how voter education is done by representatives of Mombasa Citizen Oversight Forum. The EU EOM started its work with 30 long-term observers deployed in 13 locations all over the country at the end of June 2017. They monitor all aspects of the electoral process. “We are glad to have the opportunity to support the EU EOM in its work and to show the important role the project`s COF play in ensuring fair, free and peaceful polls”, adds Tödtling. The facilitators armed with solid information are descriptive about the six elective positions of; President, Governor, Senator, Member of Parliament, Woman Representative and Member of County Assembly. In addition, they engage participants in the discussions about the characteristics of a “good” leader and informing them of the regulations to abide by on the election day. After a while the EU observers leave the community meeting in Bangladesh still on going. Albeit of all the information they got, participants became aware of one fact today: All eyes of the international community are on Kenya and on them.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Kenya, July 21, 2017

Contact

Thomas Tödtling

Director Program on Devolution Kenya

Thomas Tödtling
Phone +254 20 2610021
Languages: English,‎ Français

EU-Wahlbeobachter besuchen KAS-Maßnahme zur Voter Education

Voter Education

Auch verfügbar in English

Wählerbildung ist unverzichtbar für faire, freie und friedliche Wahlen. Mitglieder der EU-Wahlbeobachter-Mission (EU EOM) warfen einen genaueren Blick, wie die Partnership for Transformational Devolution (PTD) unter Leitung der KAS Wähler über ihre Rechte und Partizipationsmöglichkeiten informiert.

Bild 1 von 6
Group Image EU observers

EU-Wahlbeobachter mit PTD-Team

Es ist 10:00 Uhr vormittags in Bangladesh, dem größten Slum in Kenias zweit-größter Stadt Mombasa. Kinder spielen im Hof ihrer Schule, die Händler verkaufen ihre Waren und die ersten Teilnehmer des Community-Treffens der PTD nehmen ihre Plätze im Veranstaltungssaal neben der Schule ein. Solche Treffen auf Gemeindeebene sind Teil des Dezentralisierungs-Programms der KAS, das von der Europäischen Union und dem Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung finanziert wird. Es zielt darauf ab, Bürger über ihre Rechte sowie Pflichten aufzuklären und sie zu unterstützen, eine fundierte Entscheidung im Hinblick auf die Wahlen am 8. August zu treffen. „Solche Maßnahmen bilden die Grundlage für Demokratie und Bürgerbeteiligung, da viele Kenianer oft nicht mit ihren verfassungsmäßigen Rechten vertraut sind“, erklärt Thomas Tödtling, Leiter des KAS-Dezentralisierungs-Programms.

Alle Augen auf Kenia

An diesem Dienstag informiert die KAS gemeinsam mit ihrem Projektpartner - der Catholic Justice and Peace Commission (CJPC) - mehr als 80 Bürger im Armenviertel Bangladesh, die dadurch selbst zu Mulitplikatoren in ihren Gemeinschaften werden. Obwohl es sich nicht um das erste Treffen dieser Art handelt, ist es dieses Mal etwas Besonderes, denn zwei Mitglieder der EU-Wahlbeobachter-Mission nehmen an der Veranstaltung teil, um zu sehen, wie die Mitglieder des Citizen Oversight Forum (COF) zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen und Wähler auf ihre Rolle vorbereiten. Diese Foren wurden im Rahmen des Programms etabliert und dienen als Plattform für die regionale Zivilgesellschaft. Die EU EOM hat ihre Arbeit Ende Juni aufgenommen und umfasst 30 Langzeit-Beobachter in 13 unterschiedlichen Orten im ganzen Land. Ihre Aufgabe besteht in der Beobachtung aller Aspekte des Wahlprozesses. „Wir sind froh, die Möglichkeit zu haben, die EU EOM bei ihrer Arbeit zu unterstützen und die Wichtigkeit unserer Citizen Oversight Foren für faire, freie und friedliche Wahlen zu zeigen“, so Tödtling. Die Trainer beschreiben die Positionen, die zur Wahl stehen (Governor, Senator, Member of County Assembly etc.), diskutieren mit den Teilnehmern die Eigenschaften eines „guten“ Volksvertreters und informieren, was am Wahltag getan und von was abgesehen werden sollte. Nach einer Zeit verlassen die Wahlbeobachter den Veranstaltungsort, das Treffen geht aber weiter. Abseits von dem Wissen, das sie erhalten haben, wurde den Teilnehmern heute eine Tatsache besonders bewusst: Alle Augen der internationalen Gemeinschaft sind auf Kenia und sie gerichtet.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Kenia, 21. Juli 2017

Kontakt

Thomas Tödtling

Leiter des Regionalprogramms Dezentralisierungsprogramm Kenia

Thomas Tödtling
Tel. +254 20 2610021
Sprachen: English,‎ Français