“If you always do what you have always done…”

BEST PRACTICE

Also available in Deutsch

The exchange on best practices and lessons learnt should be part of every program. It offers the opportunity to improve implementation and to share successful methods and tools with partners and stakeholders. Therefore, KAS and the Partnership for Transformational Devolution (PTD) invited stakeholders to Nakuru.

Image 1 of 7
participants BPC

Opening remarks by Project Director Thomas Tödtling

Henry Ford, the founder and CEO of the Ford Motor Company, once said:” If you always do what you've always done, you'll always get what you've always got." This is not only true for business but also for the work of civil society organisations. The on-going efforts to learn, to develop and to improve are key to successful project implementation. For this purpose nearly 100 stakeholders from different areas and regions gathered in Nakuru for the second PTD Annual Best Practice Conference. Among them were representatives from national and county governments, media, civil society organisations, religious groups, partner organisations as well as the Citizen Oversight Forums (COF). “This diversity of different sectors and regions is a good foundation for a fruitful, productive and constructive exchange of experiences and best practices since each of you has committed in his or her individual role to the success of devolution”, emphasized Thomas Tödtling, Director of the KAS Devolution Program. He also used the opportunity to thank the EU as well as the German Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development for the continued support of the program.

Investigative journalism & theatre

During the first session of the one-day conference speakers shared on the media’s oversight role on devolution and the application of new tools for integrating communities into county decision making processes. In his talk a renowned journalist, Wellingtone Nyongesa gave an insight into the daily work of an investigative journalist at county level. He also stressed the important role of the media for a democratic society and the success of the devolution process in Kenya. After his remarks two theatre groups from Nakuru and Machakos counties which have been trained by KAS and its partners on devolution, the political system and certain aspects of public participation of citizens, demonstrated how complex issues can be communicated in a simple and creative way.

Achievements, challenges & lessons learnt

Afterwards, the implementing partners of the PTD project shared achievements, challenges as well as lessons learnt from their daily work, e.g. the community scorecard, the Citizen Oversight Forum and the preparation of citizen manifesto ahead of the elections in Mombasa county. Partners pointed out that after two years after the start of the program the initial skepticism of some county governments had vanished. However, they called for improved working relations and cooperation with the officials and presented recommendations for instance the need for better legislations and policies for public participation, more civic education and the intensified use of tools such as community scorecard to hold county governments accountable. With regard to their own work, the PTD partners as well as the participants saw the need for close cooperation between CSOs and the media, the creation of synergies and better coordination when approaching county governments, the use of creative approaches to communicate complex topics and the contextualization of civic education based on cross cutting issues such as HIV/AIDS. At the end, all participants had the feeling that they had something positive to contribute. 

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Kenya, August 1, 2017

“If you always do what you have always done…”

BEST PRACTICE

Auch verfügbar in English

Der Austausch zu Best Practice Modellen sollte Teil eines jeden Programms sein. Dadurch bietet sich die Gelegenheit die Umsetzung zu verbessern und sich über erfolgreiche Methoden und Herangehensweisen auszutauschen. Deshalb lud die KAS und die Partnership for Transformational Devolution (PTD) Stakeholder zum gemeinsamen Austausch nach Nakuru ein.

Bild 1 von 7
Director opening remarks

Leiter des Dezentralisierungs-Programms Thomas Tödtling eröffnet die Konferenz

“If you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you have always got”, stellte Henry Ford, Gründer und CEO der Ford Motor Company, zu Recht fest. Das trifft nicht nur auf die Wirtschaft zu, sondern auch auf die Arbeit im Bereich der Zivilgesellschaft. Die fortlaufenden Bemühungen zu lernen, sich weiterzuentwickeln und sich zu verbessern sind der Schlüssel zu einer erfolgreichen Projektimplementierung. Zu diesem Zweck kamen rund 100 Stakeholder aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen nach Nakuru im Rift Valley zur 2. Jährlichen Best Practice Konferenz. Unter ihnen waren Vertreter der nationalen Regierung, der regionalen County-Regierungen, der Medien, der Zivilgesellschaft, der Religionsgruppen sowie der Partnerorganisationen und der Citizen Oversight Foren (COF). „Diese Vielfalt von unterschiedlichen Bereichen und Regionen ist eine gute Basis für einen fruchtbaren, produktiven und konstruktiven Austausch von Erfahrungen und Best Practice Beispielen, da jeder von Ihnen sich in seiner oder ihrer jeweiligen Rolle dem Erfolg des Dezentralisierungsprozesses verschrieben hat“, betont Thomas Tödtling, Leiter des KAS-Dezentralisierungsprogramms. Er nutzte auch die Gelegenheit, um sich bei der Europäischen Union und dem Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung für deren kontinuierliche Unterstützung zu bedanken.

Investigativ-Journalismus & Theater

Während des ersten Teils der eintägigen Konferenz sprachen die Redner über die Rolle von Medien als „Watchdog“ für den Dezentralisierungsprozess und die Anwendung neuer Methoden um die einzelnen Gesellschaftsgruppen in die Entscheidungsprozesse auf County-Ebene einzubinden. Der bekannte Journalist Wellingtone Nyongesa gab etwa Einblicke in die tägliche Arbeit eines regionalen Investigativ-Journalisten. Er betonte die wichtige Rolle der Medien für eine demokratische Gesellschaft und den Erfolg der Dezentralisierung in Kenia. Nach seinen Ausführungen zeigten zwei Theatergruppen aus den Counties Nakuru und Machakos, die von der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung und ihren Partnern in Workshops zu den Themen Dezentralisierung, politisches System und Bürgerbeteiligung weitergebildet wurden, wie man komplexe Themen auf einfache und kreative Weise kommunizieren kann.

Erfolge, Herausforderungen & Lessons Learnt

Die drei Partner der KAS - CEDGG, CJPC and MAPACA - präsentierten wiederum konkrete Beispiele für die erfolgreiche Umsetzung ihrer Aktivitäten, wie etwa die Community Scorecard, die COFs oder das Bürger-Manifesto, das im Vorfeld der Wahlen zum Regionalparlament von Mombasa durch die dortigen Bürgern verfasst und an die wahlwerbenden Parteien übergeben wurde. Daneben sprachen sie aber auch über Herausforderungen und Lehren aus der ihrer Arbeit. Die Organisationen hoben hervor, dass zwei Jahre nach dem Programmstart die anfängliche Skepsis der County-Regierungen verschwunden ist. Trotzdem forderten sie eine verbesserte Zusammenarbeit mit deren Vertretern und stellten Empfehlungen vor, wie zum Beispiel mehr politische Bildung oder die intensivere Nutzung von Instrumenten, wie der Community Scorecard. Im Hinblick auf ihre eigene Arbeit sahen die Partner die Notwendigkeit für eine engere Kooperation mit anderen Organisationen und Medien, die Schaffung von Synergien sowie eine bessere Koordinierung bei der Ansprache von County-Regierungen. Außerdem sollten verstärkt Mittel der kreativen Wissensvermittlung genutzt und die politische Bildung von Bürgern in den Kontext von Querschnittsthemen wie HIV/AIDS gestellt werden.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Kenia, 1. August 2017