





MARKING TWENTY YEARS OF ISRAELI-EU SCIENTIFIC COOPERATION

KONRAD-ADENAUER-STIFTUNG AND THE CENTRE FOR THE STUDY OF EUROPEAN POLITICS AND SOCIETY, BEN-GURION UNIVERSITY OF THE NEGEV

November 28, 2016, Mishkenot Sha'ananim Conference center, Jerusalem

9:30 a.m. Gathering and Registration

10:00 a.m. Greetings

Dr. Michael Borchard, Director, Konrad Adenauer-Stiftung, Israel

Prof. Sharon Pardo, Chair, The Centre for the Study of European Politics and Society, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

Mr. Lars Faaborg-Andersen, Ambassador, Head of the Delegation of the European Union to the State of Israel

10:30 a.m. Looking Back: Exploring 20 Years of Scientific

Cooperation between Israel and the EU

Chair: Dr. Michael Borchard, Director, Konrad

Adenauer-Stiftung, Israel

Opening Lecture – Germany's Role in the Initiative for Scientific

Cooperation between Israel and the EU

Keynote Speaker: Prof. Jürgen Rüttgers, Former Federal Minister of Education, Science, Research, and Technology and former Minister-President of North Rhine-

Westphalia

Prof. Ute Deichmann, Director of the Jacques Loeb Centre for the History and Philosophy of the Life Sciences, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

11:30 a.m. Coffee Break







11:45 a.m. Keynote Lecture

Prof. Bernhard Vogel – Honorary Chairman of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung and former Minister-President of Thuringia and of Rhineland-Palatinate

12:15 p.m. Researchers' Perspective

Chair: Mr. Moshe Amir, Director, Bologna Training Center, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

Prof. Michael Hoch, Rector of the University of Bonn

Prof. Ruth Arnon, Paul Ehrlich Professor of immunology, Weizmann Institute of Science, and the former President of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities

Prof. Sharon Pardo, Chair, The Centre for the Study of European Politics and Society, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

Dr. Jennifer Oser, Department of Politics and Government, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

1:45 p.m. Lunch

3:15 p.m. Science and Politics – Challenges and Opportunities

Chair: Prof. Sharon Pardo, Chair, The Centre for the Study of European Politics and Society, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

MK Ksenia Svetlova, Member of Knesset, Zionist Union List

Mr. Christian Jörgens, Science and Technology Counsellor, Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany in Tel Aviv

Mrs. Alexandra Meir, Scientific Officer, Delegation of the European Union to Israel

Mrs. Avivit Bar-Ilan, Director, Multilateral European Organizations at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Israel

4:45 p.m. Coffee Break







5:00 p.m. Informative Session

Dr. Aviv Zeevi Balasiano, Director of ICT-Security-FET,

Israel Europe R&D Directorate

6:00 p.m. Closing Discussion - Prof. Sharon Pardo, Chair, The

Centre for the Study of European Politics and Society,

Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

^{*}Simultaneous Translation of German-English-German will be provided