NDCs: What is there for Latin America big cities?

Third Workshop

September 26 Tuesday

Date/time

September 26, 2017, 8:30 - 12:00

Loc.

Buenos Aires - Closed Event

Type

Workshop

The objective of this workshop series is to help both national governments as well as selected city governments in Latin America to strengthen a dialogue process to align their NDC with existing city government initiatives on climate change.

Also available in Deutsch, Español, Português

The landmark success of the Paris Agreement must be credited to the Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs) of countries responsible for more than 95% of global emissions. The NDCs were a major effort by National Governments projecting their expected increases of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions in the coming decades, and pledging reductions of such emissions in order to limit global temperature rise up to 2oC.

Different countries have proposed different strategies and approaches to reduce emissions. In the overwhelming majority of cases, the NDCs were determined by National Governments “only”. Some level of consultation existed in many, or most countries, but engagement of sub-national entities was essentially nil. This may be understood given the pressing time that the NDCs were constructed and also, more relevant, the fact that most decisions affecting future carbon emissions of a country are responsibility of national governments: the energy mix, the percentage of renewable, emission standards, fuel standards, phase out of technologies, and many others.

Many other decisions, however, are responsibility of sub-national and local-level governments – including transportation policies, city design, waste management, building efficiency codes, consumer behavior and practices, and many others. Cities, in particular, have a crucial contribution in helping countries to arrive at a climate agreement of a global scale. To begin with, half of the world’s population lives in cities, a share that reaches 80 percent in Latin America. Cities house most built assets, generate more than 80 percent of the world GDP, are responsible for some 70-80 percent of energy consumed, and generate three quarters of energy related GHG emissions. Such concentration of people, built assets and economic activity makes cities particularly vulnerable to the impacts of climate change. This same concentration makes it attractive and more cost-effective to focus both mitigation (and adaptation) action on cities.

The objective of this workshop series is to help both national governments as well as selected city governments in Latin America to strengthen a dialogue process to align the national NDC with existing city government plans and initiatives on climate change, which may have synergies with each other.

It appears appropriate to begin the exercise with a selected number of countries and (Mega) cities in Latin America. The Region has two Megacities with particularly strong climate plans – Mexico City and Rio de Janeiro. Other two large cities to be included are Buenos Aires and Lima. Lima hosted the first workshop of the series, which was held in March 2017, and Mexico City hosted the second workshop, which was held in May 2017.

This project is the result of the collaboration between the Regional Programme Energy Security and Climate Change in Latin America of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation (EKLA-KAS) and the International Institute for Sustainability (IIS).

Programme (in Spanish)

  • Registro
    • 8h30 – 9h - Recogida de firmas de los participantes previamente registrados.
  • Palabras de bienvenida
    • 9h – 9h10 - Christian Hübner (EKLA-KAS)
  • Presentación IIS: Las NDCs y las Ciudades Latinoamericanas: El Caso de Buenos Aires
    • 9h15 – 10h - Sergio Margulis (IIS)
  • Pause
    • 10h – 10h15 - Coffee Break
  • Debate entre participantes: ¿Cómo armonizar las metas de la NDC con los Planes Climáticos de las ciudades y viceversa?
    • 10h15 – 11h50 - Moderación: Karina Marzano (EKLA-KAS). Alentamos la participación activa de todos los expertos en el debate.
  • Cierre
    • 11h50 – 12h - Christian Hübner (EKLA-KAS) y Sergio Margulis (IIS)
Logo Programa Regional EKLA KAS inglés

Contact person

Karina Marzano Franco

Project Manager

Karina Marzano Franco
Phone +55 21 2220 5441
Fax +55 21 2220 5448
Languages: Português,‎ Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Español,‎ Français

Partners

Instituto Internacional para Sustentabilidade (IIS)

NDCs: Was bedeutet dies für lateinamerikanische Großstädte?

Dritter Workshop

September 26 Dienstag

Datum/Uhrzeit

26. September 2017, 8:30 - 12:00

Ort

Buenos Aires - geschlossener Workshop

Typ

Workshop

Das Ziel dieser Workshop-Reihe ist es, sowohl den nationalen Regierungen als auch ausgewählten Stadtregierungen in Lateinamerika zu helfen, einen Dialogprozess über die Klimawandel Initiativen zu stärken.

Auch verfügbar in English, Español, Português

Der bedeutende Erfolg des Pariser Abkommens muss den national festgelegte Klimaschutzbeiträgen (nationally determined contributions, NDCs) der Länder zugerechnet werden, die für mehr als 95% der weltweiten Emissionen verantwortlich sind. Die nationalen Regierungen hatten mit einer Zunahme der Treibhausgasemissionen in den kommenden Jahrzehnten gerechnet und die Verringerung der Emissionen zur Begrenzung des globalen Temperaturanstiegs auf bis zu 2 ° C begrenzt.

Verschiedene Länder haben verschiedene Strategien und Ansätze zur Emissionsminderung vorgeschlagen. In der überwiegenden Mehrheit der Fälle wurden die NDC „nur“ von den nationalen Regierungen bestimmt. Ein gewisses Maß an Konsultation gab es in vielen oder in den meisten Ländern, aber das Engagement der subnationalen Einheiten war im Wesentlichen gleich null. Die Ursache könnte darin liegen, dass Entscheidungen, die die künftigen CO“-Emission eines Landes betreffen auf nationaler Ebene geregelt werden müssen. Wie zum Beispiel Entscheidungen über den Anteil erneuerbarer Energiequellen, Emissionsnormen und Kraftstoff Standards.

Viele andere Entscheidungen sind jedoch Aufgabe der Regierungen auf subnationaler und lokaler Ebene wie zum Beispiel: die Verkehrspolitik, der Stadtentwurf, die Abfallbewirtschaftung und das Verbraucherverhalten.Vor allem Städte können einen entscheidenden Beitrag dazu leisten, dass Länder ein globales Klimaabkommen erreichen können. Welches können Ursachen dafür sein? Zunächst lebt die Hälfte der Weltbevölkerung in Städten. In Lateinamerika sind es sogar 80%. Städte bauen die meisten Gebäude, erzeugen mehr als 80 Prozent des Welt-BIP, sind für rund 70-80 Prozent des Energieverbrauchs verantwortlich und erzeugen drei Viertel der Energie-bezogenen Treibhausgasemissionen. Diese Konzentration von Menschen, von gebaut Vermögenswerte und wirtschaftliche Aktivität macht Städte besonders anfällig für die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels. Auf der anderen Seite macht es genau diese Konzentration attraktiv und kostengünstiger in Städten mit Maßnahmen zur Minderung von Emission zu beginnen.

Das Ziel dieser Workshop- Reihe ist es, sowohl den nationalen Regierungen als auch ausgewählten Stadtregierungen in Lateinamerika zu helfen, einen Dialogprozess zu stärken, um den nationalen NDC mit bestehenden Plänen der Stadtverwaltung und Initiativen zum Klimawandel in Einklang zu bringen.

Um dies zu erreichen, beginnen wir mit Workshops in verschiedenen Ländern und Großstädten in Lateinamerika. Lateinamerika verfügt über zwei Megacities mit besonders bedeutsamen Klimaplänen- Mexiko-Stadt und Rio de Janeiro. Zwei weitere bedeutsame Städte sind Buenos Aires und Lima.

Dieses Projekt ist in der Kooperation vom Regionalprogramm Energiesicherheit und Klimawandel in Lateinamerika (EKLA) der Konrad Adenauer Stiftung (KAS) und dem International Institute for Sustainability (IIS) entstanden.

Programm (auf Spanisch)

  • Registro
    • 8h30 – 9h - Recogida de firmas de los participantes previamente registrados.
  • Palabras de bienvenida
    • 9h – 9h10 - Christian Hübner (EKLA-KAS)
  • Presentación IIS: Las NDCs y las Ciudades Latinoamericanas: El Caso de Buenos Aires
    • 9h15 – 10h - Sergio Margulis (IIS)
  • Pause
    • 10h – 10h15 - Coffee Break
  • Debate entre participantes: ¿Cómo armonizar las metas de la NDC con los Planes Climáticos de las ciudades y viceversa?
    • 10h15 – 11h50 - Moderación: Karina Marzano (EKLA-KAS). Alentamos la participación activa de todos los expertos en el debate.
  • Cierre
    • 11h50 – 12h - Christian Hübner (EKLA-KAS) y Sergio Margulis (IIS)
Logo Programa Regional EKLA KAS alemán

Ansprechpartner

Karina Marzano Franco

Projektkoordinatorin

Karina Marzano Franco
Tel. +55 21 2220 5441
Fax +55 21 2220 5448
Sprachen: Português,‎ Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Español,‎ Français

Partner

Instituto Internacional para Sustentabilidade (IIS)