State Crisis Instead of Final Sprint

In the next 100 days, 10 issues shall decide whether the Olympics shall become a success or not in crisis-struck Brazil

Also available in Deutsch, Português

100 Days prior to their Opening Ceremony, Brazil has practically forgotten this summer’s Olympics and Paralympics. Instead the country is involved in a deep economic and political crisis. The latter is no longer limited only to the impeachment of Pres. Dilma Rousseff, but also casts doubts on the problem-solving skills of the Brazilian Administration as a whole. Whether the Olympics are going to be a success notwithstanding, shall essentially depend on 10 issues.

In recent years Brazil held the stage regarding grand events in the sporting area: Subsequent to the Confederations Cup-2013 and the Men’s Word Soccer Championship Games-2014, the 2016 Summer Olympics and Paralympics are going to take place on the South-American continent for the first time. Furthermore, in 2009 Brazil was acknowledged as a booming economy - spared, as it was - from the global economic and financial crisis and whose President at the time, Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva (PT) self-confidently demanded a place on the international stage for his country. Through its hosting of the foremost global sporting event and apart from international gains in prestige, Brazil had set its sights on long-lasting effects in the areas of urban development, infrastructure, the economy and tourism.

1. Is Rio de Janeiro’s infrastructure ready for the Olympics?

The Games are scheduled to take place within 32 sporting grounds in four districts of the Seven-Million-Inhabitant Metropolis, of which 14 are being constructed specifically for the Olympics. To the surprise of domestic and international observers, most of the competition venues are practically almost fully completed (excepting only the velodrome). Different, however, is the situation regarding a commuter Megaproject: A new metro-line is sup-posed to convey, on a daily basis, 300,000 passengers from the Ipanema and Copacabana tourism centres to the sporting venue Barra - heretofore barely reachable with the public transportation network - thus clearly cutting back traffic volume on the sole connecting thorough-fare. The Organizing Committee is clearly concerned whether this project can actually become operational prior to the Olympics Opening Ceremony– and is already drawing up contingency plans. The collapse of a newly built bike lane, whereby two users died, has further weakened the public trust in the development of infrastructure.

In addition, a run-down area of the city’s center right next to the Guanabara Bay - previously a military-complex not accessible to the public - was converted into an attractive common ground for the city’s inhabitants. The city center, up to now deserted except for working hours and consequently unsafe, shall be up- valued by means of the prestige-project “Museum of the Future”, green areas, bicycle lanes and tramways. In addition, the marina of the city-district Gloria, the venue for sailing competition, was modernized as well, and opened to the public. Should all construction projects be completed prior to the games’ opening, the city shall meet the building requirements stipulated for the Olympics.

2. Do the Olympics construction projects facilitate further corruption possibilities?

For more than two years, Brazil is witnessing the disclosure of the greatest corruption network of its history encompassing the semi-public oil giant Petrobras (pursuant to the public prosecution a money-laundering locality, also code-named Operation “Lava Jato” i.e., Carwash). The until-recently CEO of the construction company Odebrecht, in charge of the Metro expansion, has already been sentenced due to corruption. Other construction companies are also being accused of corruption in connection with the Olympics projects, so that in the meantime even construction works had to be interrupted. Pursuant to “Panama-Paper” leaks, more than 100 P.O. Box Companies are suspected of being connected with the “Lava Jato” investigations, in addition to numerous Brazilian politicians, construction companies and sporting authorities. It is now eagerly expected whether the investigations under way shall confirm a connection between the Olympics construction projects and mailbox companies. The issue is, after all, to what extent the judiciary shall be capable of handling the corruption disclosure process in a non-partisan manner – allowing critics to identify signs for possibly instrumentalizing the process against former President Lula da Silva.

3. Shall Dilma Rousseff be impeached?

On April 17th, shortly before midnight, a Sunday session of Brazil’s House of Representatives - wherein heated controversies for the last word through vocal choirs, polemic posters, and confetti instead of the democratic exchange of arguments - came to a close. With 367 yeas vs. 137 nays, the House decided to forward the process for the impeachment of President Dilma Rousseff (PT – Workers Party) to the Senate for further procedural steps. Now, the process rests with Brazil’s second parliamentary House, the Senate. Therein, a committee for the evaluation of the impeachment process has already been set up. Said committee is expected to pronounce itself by mid-May on whether the Senate should deal with the process. The committee’s recommendation shall be decided upon forthwith by a simple majority of the plenum, wherein approval is deemed certain. As of this moment, President Rousseff’s mandate is interrupted and Vice President Michel Temer (PMDB) takes over the affairs of state. Subsequently the members of the Senate shall have 180 days analyze the accusations against President Rousseff. To definitely deprive the President of her office, a plenary vote by a two-thirds majority is needed. According to recent surveys, this vote as well, would turn out to the detriment of the President.

4. Who would, in lieu of Rousseff, open the Olympic Games?

As soon as the Senate votes for dealing with the impeachment process bringing President Rousseff’s mandate to a temporary halt, her Vice President Michel Temer (PMDB) shall become Interim President. Should the Senate decide for Impeachment, he shall take over the presidential mandate until its end in 2018. This would, in fact, put an end to the 13-year-in- power of President Rousseff’s Workers Party, however this could in no way be termed a new political beginning – given that the 75-year typifies the Brazilian political system like hardly any other: His Party PMDB, with only one exception, took part in all administrations since Brazil’s re-democratization in 1985, given that due to its heterogeneity and lagging program-planning-skills, it coalesced with parties of various genres (until March it was still an official part of President Rousseff’s government coalition). For the third time since Brazil’s re-democratization the PMDB would be able to take to take over the country’s presidency, and for the third time it would be the result of taking it over by the vice-presidency. Although, impeachment processes were filed against Temer as well, as a skilled tactician he relies on significantly wider range of support within the parliament, so that he shall most likely remain steadfast. In an (allegedly unintentionally disclosed) speech he already presented himself as the country’s president of national unity – however, the new political beginning of which the nation is in dire need and which the population called for during the mass protests in March - he would hardly be capable of embodying. In addition, the Panama Papers point to a strong involvement of his party in money laundering.

Furthermore; the supreme electoral court is examining the annulment of the 2014 presidential election due to suspicion of bribery financing. Should it come to an annulment, both Rousseff and Temer would have to resign from their offices. If still in 2016 it should come to a vacancy of both the offices of President and Vice-President, whether through the annulment of the presidential election or the impeachment of both, direct presidential elections would have to be held within 90 days, otherwise their successor in office would be elected in the parliament. During this period, the office of President would be held ad interim by Eduardo Cunha (PMDB), Presiding Officer of the House of Representatives. However, he is already subject to a corruption process at the Supreme Court - and should he be forced to leave, the President of the Senate Renan Calheiros (PMDB) would, in turn, become President ad interim, but is similarly being accused of corruption. As last in the presidential successoral line would be the Head of the country’s Supreme Court, Ricardo Lewandowski. Therefore, a possible successor of President Rousseff would, most likely, be a member of the PMDB Party, which also relies on a majority in Congress and, in this manner, is bound to play a leading role in the forthcoming Administration.

Thus, it becomes clear that the Brazilian political situation faces fundamental problems that a possible impeachment of President Rousseff - would hardly solve – particularly in view of possible successors. Some 30 years after the re-democratization of Brazil, important elements of a democratic political culture are weakly portrayed, including civic education of the population, stable programmatic parties and sense of responsibility of the elected state representatives towards the population. However, particularly worth mentioning is the lack of understanding the need for compromise and dialogue, given the Brazilian population’s extreme polarization. Consequently, it remains unclear how Brazilian Politics can achieve problem-solving skills. Regardless of the outcome of the Impeachment Process and annulment of the Presidential Elections, the population’s call for both new Presidential and Parliamentary elections is becoming louder, even if, currently, there is no legal basis for them. In fact, constitutional amendments or even more drastic measures within Brazil’s heated political environment should no longer be considered unthinkable. Predictions about who shall hold the office of the country’s President on occasion the Opening of the Olympic Games on August 5th and to what extent the Administration shall actually be capable of acting are, therefore, not possible.

5. Could the Olympics provide new impetus to the Brazilian economy?

The economic boom-years - in which Brazil won the competition for hosting the 2016 Olympic Games - have, in the meanwhile, given way to the worst economic crisis the country is undergoing since the 1930s. Joblessness is rising, inflation is high and the economy is shrinking – traumatic for a country that had become accustomed to significant growth rates over the years. In 2015 the Federal State of Rio de Janeiro, experienced a slump in revenues of nearly one third by its oil and gas sector, which is now threatened by sinking oil prices and the hesitant steps of a Brazilian energy turnaround. The remaining economic performance came mostly from the service sector, which is particularly beset by the economic crisis. Due to the correspondingly lower tax revenues (and their mismanagement, claim the government’s critics), as of the end of 2015, the state’s administration pays neither its public servants nor its pensioners their dues. Work-stoppage and forced savings in educational-institution, police-force and healthcare services are the result. Therefore, it remains unclear to what extent, public services, such as security and healthcare shall be available on occasion of the Olympics. Furthermore, in view of this scenario, the government’s critics question expenditures on the order of almost R$ 40 billion (approx. Euro 10 billion) within the Olympics’ framework.

On the other hand, the city, the state and the federal government hope that the Olympics might provide a renewed boost to the country’s shrinking economy. Admittance-ticket and advertising revenues and tourism income as well, are expected to convey immediate results. In the long term, infrastructure and urban-development projects - which to a large extent are financed as public-private partnerships - are expected to strengthen the economy. Similarly to Barcelona as the prime example for post-event sustainable transformation and economic development through the hosting of the Olympics, Rio as well, might be strengthened as a business center and tourism location.

6. What impact do the Olympics have on the environment of Rio de Janeiro?

It seems to be a dubious success, when Rio de Janeiro’s Mayor Eduardo Paes (PMDB) proudly announces, that within the frame of the Olympics Preparatory Works, the proportion of urban waste water that is channeled into the sea fully untreated, has been lowered from 80% (!) to 40%. In addition, the waste-water treatment companies are being accused of corruption and of doctoring the processing values. Nevertheless, the International Sailing Federation is confident that a floating barrier within the Guanabara Bay shall be capable of warding off sewage from the venue of the sailing competitions. In addition, a matter of dispute is a golf course, situated in a nature-preservation area. On the one hand, Rio de Janeiro’s environmental pollution poses a threat to athletes, whereas on the other hand, an increased awareness of this condition though the Olympics has given rise to the execution of urgently-needed improvements.

7. How does the Brazilian population view the Games?

Even if their opening is due to take place in less than four months, Rio de Janeiro’s inhabitants have practically forgotten the Olympic Games, given that the country’s political crisis has overshadowed all other issues in news coverage and public opinion. At the same time, as a symbol of sporting values, the Olympics could provide a momentous stimulus to the country’s extremely polarized population. In view of the mass protests against the building of huge stadiums without further subsequent use, Rio’s mayor emphasizes that the newly built stadiums may be put to use even after the Olympics: In this manner, building components of sport halls would serve for building schools and the Olympic Villa would be turned into a residential area. Earlier on, however, it was precisely from this location that the population of a shantytown was re-located, giving rise to protests.

8. Shall the Olympics become a public-health risk due to the Zika Virus?

In February 2016, the World Health Organization declared a state of international public health emergency, on account of the Zika Virus. Since it can give rise to the Guillain-Barré syndrome, leading to paralysis phenomena; and on occasion of infection of pregnant women to birth malformations in their babies (microcephaly); and furthermore, its long-term effects are still largely unknown. Infection though the Zika virus can occur sexually or, in most cases, through mosquitoes. Thereupon, the Brazilian government declared “War” on the mosquito: Media campaigns are clarifying the population and exhorting it towards prevention; while the military is spraying whole city districts and sporting venues with insecticides. However, the vector lays its eggs even in the smallest quantities of stagnant water and, therefore, in view of Rio’s tropically-humid climate the battle’s outcome does not seem very promising. Nevertheless, the World Health Organization is not advising against travelling to Brazil, excepting pregnant women, whereas Brazil is setting its hopes on the dry season during the Olympic Games – still, it remains unclear to what extent, the Olympics might become a “springboard” to the global dissemination of the virus.

9. Is Rio de Janeiro safe?

With 25 homicides per 100,000 inhabitants (2012) Brazil ranks among the countries with the highest murder-rates globally, surpassing the German rate 32 times. However, Rio de Janeiro ranks relatively well among the positive exceptions registering a decrease in its murder-rates of more than 70% during the past 20 years. A reason for the high crime rates are the huge socio-economic differences – one in each five inhabitants lives in a shantytown – and infiltration of organized crime in both the police and the military. So-called pacifying units were able to achieve success against organized crime through their presence in the shantytowns by providing socializing and professionalizing projects in exchange for disarmament.

Nevertheless, subsequent to withdrawal, most of their successes came to nil, and in many locations, their actions only led to a relocation of criminality. To render the city attractive to tourists, the presence of the military and of the police shall be visibly increased prior to and during the Games. Presumably the security situation - during the Games – shall be stabilized in this manner. However, as in any mega-event there shall be a residual risk of terrorist attacks. In order to deprive both organized crime and minor criminality of their existence bases in a sustainable manner, it becomes necessary to draw-up integrated-policy projects capable of creating alternative livelihoods and of cutting short the country’s striking social inequalities.

10. Shall the Olympics draw a large audience to Brazil?

Whether the performance of the Games shall actually confer Brazil the economic and prestige benefits hoped for, shall also depend on the number of international visitors. More than 500,000 are expected from around the world, in addition to 45,000 volunteers and 28,000 journalists. Even if these numbers have already been corrected sharply downwards, the hosting of the games during the northern Hemisphere’s summer pause ensures the country of international attention. To date, only about half of the 7.5 million tickets were sold, but this is not unusual. It remains to be seen whether Brazil, in the midst of a state crisis, shortly before the opening of the Olympic Summer Games, shall muster the concentration and the energy for the final sprint, in order to host the games and to bring them to a successful end.

Special thanks for her support in the research for this paper to Anisha Schwille, Student of Media Culture Sciences at the Albert-Ludwig-University of Freiburg and currently an intern at the Konrad Adenauer Foundation’s Brazil Office

Authors

Dr. Jan Woischnik, Alexandra Steinmeyer

Publication series

Country Reports

published

Brazil, April 27, 2016

Contact

Dr. Jan Woischnik

Head of KAS office Brazil

Dr. Jan Woischnik
Phone +55 21 2220 5441
Fax +55 21 2220 5448
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Español,‎ Français,‎ Italiano,‎ Bahasa Indonesia,‎ Português

provided by

Logo: Konrad-Adenauer-StiftungBrazil Office

Staatskrise statt Endspurt

10 Faktoren entscheiden in den nächsten 100 Tagen, ob Olympia im Krisenland Brasilien zum Erfolg wird oder nicht

Auch verfügbar in English, Português

100 Tage vor der Eröffnungsfeier hat Brasilien die Olympischen und Paralympischen Sommerspiele fast vergessen. Stattdessen befindet sich das Land in einer tiefen wirtschaftlichen und politischen Krise. Letztere ist längst nicht mehr nur auf die Amtsenthebung von Dilma Rousseff beschränkt, sondern stellt die Problemlösungsfähigkeit des brasilianischen Staats insgesamt in Frage. Ob Olympia trotzdem zum Erfolg wird, hängt im Wesentlichen von 10 Faktoren ab.

In den letzten Jahren stand Brasilien ganz im Zeichen sportlicher Groβereignisse: Nach dem Confederations Cup 2013 und der Fußball-Weltmeisterschaft der Herren 2014 werden 2016 die Olympischen und Paralympischen Sommerspiele zum ersten Mal auf dem südamerikanischen Kontinent ausgetragen. 2009 erhielt Brasilien den Zuschlag als Boomland, das von der Wirtschafts- und Finanzkrise verschont blieb und dessen damaliger Präsident Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva (PT) für sein Land selbstbewusst einen Platz auf der internationalen Bühne forderte. Durch die Ausrichtung des größten internationalen Sportwettkampfs erhoffte sich Brasilien neben internationalem Prestigegewinn positive Langfristwirkungen in den Bereichen nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung, Infrastruktur, Wirtschaft und Tourismus.

1. Ist die Infrastruktur von Rio de Janeiro bereit für Olympia?

Die Spiele werden in vier Stadtteilen der Sieben-Millionen-Einwohner-Metropole in 32 Sportstätten ausgetragen, von denen 14 extra für Olympia errichtet werden. Zur Überraschung nationaler wie internationaler Beobachter wurden die Austragungsorte bereits fast vollständig fertig gestellt (mit Ausnahme des Velodroms). Anders das größte Vorhaben des öffentlichen Nahverkehrs: Eine neue Metrolinie soll täglich 300.000 Passagiere von den Tourismuszentren Ipanema und Copacabana zum bisher kaum mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln erreichbaren Austragungsort Barra bringen und das Verkehrsaufkommen auf der einzigen Verbindungsstraβe deutlich reduzieren. Das Organisations-Komitee bangt nun, ob dieses Bauprojekt tatsächlich wie angekündigt kurz vor der Eröffnung von Olympia eingeweiht werden kann – und entwirft bereits Ausweichpläne. Der Einsturz eines erst kürzlich erbauten Fahrradweges, bei dem zwei Menschen ums Leben kamen, hat das Vertrauen der Bevölkerung in den Infrastrukturausbau weiter geschwächt.

Zudem wurde ein heruntergekommener Teil des Stadtzentrums direkt an der Guanabara-Bucht, zuvor als Militärgelände nicht für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich, zum attraktiven öffentlichen Raum für die Bevölkerung umgestaltet. Das Stadtzentrum, bisher außerhalb der Arbeitszeiten menschenleer und dementsprechend unsicher, soll durch das Prestigeprojekt eines „Zukunftsmuseums“, Grünanlagen, Fahrradwege und Trams aufgewertet werden. Außerdem wurde die Marina des Stadtteils Glória, Austragungsort der Segelwettbewerbe, ebenfalls modernisiert und für die Öffentlichkeit geöffnet. Wenn der Abschluss aller Bauprojekte vor der Eröffnung gelingt, sind in der Stadt die baulichen Voraussetzungen für Olympia geschaffen.

2. Eröffnen die Bauprojekte für Olympia weitere Möglichkeiten für Korruption?

Seit mehr als zwei Jahren erlebt Brasilien die Aufdeckung des größten Korruptionsnetzwerks der Geschichte des Landes rund um den halbstaatlichen Ölkonzern Petrobras (von der Staatsanwaltschaft nach einem Geldwäsche-Lokal auch Operation „Lava Jato“, dt. Autowäsche, genannt). Der bis dato Geschäftsführer der Baufirma Odebrecht, die den Ausbau der Metro durchführt, wurde bereits wegen Korruption verurteilt. Auch weiteren Baufirmen wird Korruption im Zusammenhang mit den Olympia-Projekten vorgeworfen, sodass zwischenzeitlich sogar die Bauarbeiten unterbrochen werden mussten. Aus den geleakten „Panama Papers“ gehen zudem mehr als 100 Briefkastenfirmen hervor, die im Zusammenhang mit Ermittlungen des „Lava Jato“ stehen, aber auch mehrere Politiker sowie Baufirmen und Sportfunktionäre aus Brasilien. Spannend wird nun, ob die Untersuchungen einen Zusammenhang zwischen den Bauvorhaben für Olympia und Briefkastenfirmen offen legen werden. Schließlich ist die Frage, inwiefern es der Justiz gelingt, sich gemäß ihres Auftrags überparteilich der Korruptionsaufklärung zu widmen – so sehen Kritiker etwa in den Ermittlungen gegen den ehemaligen Präsidenten Lula da Silva Anzeichen für eine politische Instrumentalisierung des Prozesses.

3. Wird Dilma Rousseff ihres Amtes enthoben werden?

Am 17. April kurz vor Mitternacht endete eine Sonntagssitzung des brasilianischen Abgeordnetenhauses, in der das gegenseitige Übertönen durch Sprechchöre, polemische Plakate und Konfetti an die Stelle des demokratischen Austauschs von Argumenten getreten waren. Mit 367 zu 137 Stimmen entschied die Kammer, das Verfahren zur Amtsenthebung (engl. Impeachment) von Staatspräsidentin Dilma Rousseff (Partido dos Trabalhadores, dt. Arbeiterpartei) zur Weiterverfolgung an den Senat zu übergeben. Nun liegt das Verfahren bei der zweiten Kammer des brasilianischen Parlaments, dem Senat. Dort wurde bereits ein Ausschuss zur Prüfung des Amtsenthebungsverfahrens gebildet. Dieser wird voraussichtlich Mitte Mai eine Empfehlung aussprechen, ob sich die Kammer mit dem Verfahren befassen sollte. Darüber wird anschließend mit einfacher Mehrheit im Plenum entschieden, wobei die Zustimmung als sicher gilt. Von diesem Moment an ruht Rousseffs Mandat, und Vizepräsident Michel Temer (PMDB) übernimmt die Regierungsgeschäfte. Anschließend haben die Senatorinnen und Senatoren 180 Tage Zeit, die Vorwürfe gegen Rousseff zu prüfen. Um die Präsidentin definitiv ihres Amtes zu entheben, ist eine Plenumsabstimmung mit Zwei-Drittel-Mehrheit nötig. Nach aktuellen Umfragen würde auch diese Abstimmung zu Ungunsten der Präsidentin ausfallen.

4. Wer würde an Rousseffs Stelle die Spiele eröffnen?

Sobald sich der Senat für eine Befassung mit dem Impeachmentverfahren ausspricht und Rousseffs Amt vorübergehend ruht, wird ihr Vize Michel Temer (PMDB) Interimspräsident. Beschließt der Senat Rousseffs Amtsenthebung, übernimmt er das Präsidentenamt bis Ende des Mandats (2018). Dies würde zwar die 13-jährige Regierungszeit von Rousseffs Arbeiterpartei beenden, doch von einem politischen Neuanfang könnte trotzdem keine Rede sein – verkörpert der 75-jährige doch das politische Establishment Brasiliens wie kaum ein anderer: Seine Partei PMDB war, mit einer Ausnahme, an allen Regierungen seit der Redemokratisierung Brasiliens 1985 beteiligt, da sie wegen ihrer Heterogenität und mangelnden Programmatik mit Parteien verschiedener Couleur koalierte (noch bis März war sie offiziell Teil von Rousseffs Regierungskoalition). Zum dritten Mal seit der Redemokratisierung könnte die PMDB nun den Staatspräsidenten stellen, und zum dritten Mal wäre es das Ergebnis der Übernahme durch den Vizepräsidenten. Zwar wurde auch gegen Temer bereits ein Amtsenthebungsverfahren eingeleitet, doch als geschickter Taktiker verfügt er über eine deutlich größere Zustimmung im Parlament, sodass er sich wahrscheinlich im Amt halten wird. In einer (angeblich unabsichtlich an die Öffentlichkeit gelangten) Rede präsentierte er sich bereits als Staatspräsident der nationalen Einheit – doch den politischen Neuanfang, den das Land so dringend braucht und den die Bevölkerung im März in Massendemonstrationen forderte, würde er schwerlich verkörpern. Noch dazu deuten die Panama Papers auf starke Verwicklungen seiner Partei in Geldwäsche hin.

Zudem prüft das Oberste Wahlgericht die Annullierung der Präsidentschaftswahlen 2014 wegen des Verdachts der Schmiergeldfinanzierung. Käme es zur Annullierung, müssten Rousseff und Temer ihr Amt aufgeben. Wenn es noch 2016 zu einer Vakanz der Ämter von Staatspräsident und Vizepräsident käme, sei es durch Annullierung der Präsidentschaftswahl oder durch die Amtsenthebung beider, würden innerhalb von 90 Tagen direkte Präsidentschaftswahlen abgehalten, ansonsten würde der Amtsnachfolger oder die Amtsnachfolgerin innerhalb von 30 Tagen im Parlament gewählt. Während dieser Zeit würde das Amt des Staatspräsidenten ad interim von Eduardo Cunha (PMDB), Präsident des Abgeordnetenhauses, bekleidet. Allerdings läuft gegen ihn bereits am Obersten Bundesgerichtshof ein Verfahren wegen Korruption – sollte er sein Amt verlieren, würde Senatspräsident Renan Calheiros (PMDB) Interimspräsident, gegen den jedoch ebenfalls Korruptionsvorwürfe vorliegen. Als letzter in der Präsidentennachfolge käme der Präsident des Obersten Bundesgerichtshofs in Frage, Ricardo Lewandowski. Ein möglicher Nachfolger Rousseffs wird also wahrscheinlich der Partei PMDB angehören, die auch die meisten Parlamentsabgeordneten stellt und somit vermutlich in einer zukünftigen Regierung eine Schlüsselrolle einnehmen wird.

Es wird somit deutlich, dass die brasilianische Politik vor grundlegenden Problemen steht, die eine mögliche Amtsenthebung Rousseffs – besonders mit Blick auf mögliche Nachfolger – kaum lösen würde. Gut 30 Jahre nach der Redemokratisierung Brasiliens sind wichtige Elemente einer demokratischen politischen Kultur nur schwach ausgeprägt, darunter politische Bildung der Bevölkerung, stabile programmatische Parteien und Verantwortungsgefühl der gewählten Volksvertreterinnen und –vertreter gegenüber der Bevölkerung. Besonders aber fehlt das Verständnis für die Notwendigkeit von Kompromiss und Dialog, stattdessen ist die brasilianische Gesellschaft extrem polarisiert. Es bleibt daher unklar, wie die brasilianische Politik Problemlösungsfähigkeit erlangen kann. Unabhängig vom Ausgang der Verfahren der Amtsenthebung und Annullierung der Präsidentschaftswahlen wird in der Bevölkerung der Ruf nach Präsidentschafts- und Parlamentsneuwahlen lauter, auch wenn es dafür bisher keine rechtliche Grundlage gibt. Allerdings erscheinen auch eine Verfassungsänderung oder gar noch drastischere Schritte im extrem aufgeheizten politischen Klima Brasiliens nicht mehr undenkbar. Prognosen darüber, wer zur Eröffnung der Olympischen Spiele am 5. August das Amt des brasilianischen Staatsoberhaupts bekleiden und inwiefern die Regierung überhaupt handlungsfähig sein wird, sind daher momentan nicht möglich.

5. Kann Olympia der brasilianischen Wirtschaft neuen Schwung geben?

An die Stelle des wirtschaftlichen Booms, aus dem heraus sich Brasilien auf Olympia beworben hatte, ist inzwischen die stärkste Wirtschaftskrise seit den 1930er Jahren getreten. Die Arbeitslosigkeit steigt, die Inflation bleibt hoch und die Wirtschaft schrumpft – traumatisch für ein Land, das sich über Jahre an signifikante Wachstumsraten gewöhnt hatte. Im Bundesstaat Rio de Janeiro entfiel 2015 rund ein Drittel der Wertschöpfung auf den Öl- und Gassektor, der nun von sinkenden Ölpreisen und den zaghaften Schritte einer brasilianischen Energiewende bedroht wird. Die restliche Wirtschaftsleistung entstammte größtenteils dem Dienstleistungssektor, der unter der Wirtschaftskrise besonders stark leidet. Wegen des entsprechend geringeren Steueraufkommens (und Missmanagement, behaupten Kritiker der Regierung) zahlt die Regierung des Bundesstaats seit Ende 2015 weder Staatsangestellten noch Rentnern ihre Bezüge aus. Arbeitsniederlegungen und Einsparungen in Bildungseinrichtungen, Polizei und Gesundheitsversorgung sind die Folge. Es bleibt also offen, inwiefern während Olympia öffentliche Güter wie Sicherheit und Gesundheitsversorgung bereitgestellt werden können. Regierungskritiker hinterfragen vor diesem Hintergrund außerdem die Ausgaben im Rahmen von Olympia in Höhe von fast 40 Mrd. Reais (etwa 10 Mrd. Euro).

Stadt, Bundesstaat und Bundesregierung hoffen hingegen, Olympia könnte der schrumpfenden brasilianischen Wirtschaft neuen Schwung geben: Ticket- und Werbeerlöse, aber auch Tourismuseinnahmen sollen unmittelbar Einnahmen generieren. Langfristig sollen die Infrastruktur- und Städtebauprojekte, die größtenteils in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Privatsektor finanziert werden, die Wirtschaft stärken. Ähnlich wie Barcelona als Paradebeispiel für nachhaltige Transformation und Wirtschaftsentwicklung durch die Ausrichtung von Olympia soll auch Rio als Wirtschafts- und Tourismusstandort gestärkt werden.

6. Welche Auswirkungen hat Olympia auf die Umwelt Rio de Janeiros?

Es erscheint ein zweifelhafter Erfolg, wenn Rios Bürgermeister Eduardo Paes (PMDB) stolz verkündet, dass im Rahmen der Olympia-Vorbereitungen der Anteil der städtischen Abwasser, der vollkommen unaufbereitet ins Meer geleitet wird, von 80% (!) auf 40% gesenkt wurde. Zudem werden den Abwasserunternehmen Korruption und Manipulation der Aufbereitungswerte vorgeworfen. Trotzdem ist der Internationale Segelverband zuversichtlich, dass eine schwimmende Barriere in der Guanabara-Bucht Abfälle vom Austragungsort der Segelwettbewerbe fernhalten wird. Umstritten bleibt außerdem ein Golfplatz, der in einem Naturschutzgebiet liegt. Einerseits bedroht die Umweltverschmutzung in Rio de Janeiro also die Gesundheit der Sportlerinnen und Sportler, andererseits hat ein gesteigertes Problembewusstsein durch Olympia zu dringend nötigen Verbesserungen geführt.

7. Wie sieht die brasilianische Bevölkerung die Spiele?

Auch wenn die Eröffnung bereits in weniger als vier Monaten bevorsteht, haben die Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner von Rio de Janeiro die Olympischen Spiele fast vergessen, da die politische Krise alle anderen Themen in Berichterstattung und öffentlicher Meinung überlagert. Dabei könnte Olympia als Symbol für sportliche Werte in der extrem polarisierten brasilianischen Gesellschaft einen wichtigen Impuls setzen. Mit Blick auf die Massenproteste gegen den Bau großer Stadien ohne Anschlussverwendung für die vorherigen Groβereignisse betont Rios Bürgermeister, dass die neu gebauten Stadien auch nach Olympia genutzt werden können: So sollen Bauelemente von Sporthallen später zu Schulen umgebaut und das Olympische Dorf als Wohnraum genutzt werden. Allerdings wurde genau an diesem Standort die Bevölkerung einer Favela umgesiedelt, was zu Protesten führte.

8. Wird Olympia wegen des Zika-Virus zur Gefahr für die öffentliche Gesundheit?

Im Februar 2016 rief die Weltgesundheitsorganisation wegen des Zika-Virus den Gesundheitsnotstand aus. Gefährlich ist das Virus, da es zu Guillain-Barré-Syndrom, das Lähmungserscheinungen nach sich ziehen kann, und bei Infektion von Schwangeren zu Fehlbildungen bei ihren Babys (Mikrozephalie) führen kann; außerdem sind die Langzeitfolgen weitgehend unbekannt. Die Ansteckung mit dem Zika-Virus kann sexuell oder, in den meisten Fällen, durch Stechmücken erfolgen. Die brasilianische Regierung hat der Mücke daraufhin den „Krieg“ erklärt: Medienkampagnen sollen die Bevölkerung aufklären und zur Prävention auffordern, das Militär behandelt Stadtteile und Sportstätten mit Insektiziden. Allerdings legt die Überträgermücke ihre Eier in kleinsten stehenden Wassermengen ab – im tropisch-feuchten Klima Rios erscheint der Kampf daher wenig aussichtsreich. Trotzdem rät die Weltgesundheitsorganisation, mit der Ausnahme von Schwangeren, nicht von Reisen nach Brasilien ab. Brasilien hofft auf die Trockenzeit während der Olympiade – es bleibt trotzdem unklar, inwiefern Olympia zu einem „Sprungbrett“ für die weltweite Verbreitung des Virus werden könnte.

9. Ist Rio de Janeiro sicher?

Mit 25 Morden pro 100.000 Einwohner (2012) zählt Brasilien zu den Ländern mit den höchsten Mordraten weltweit und übertrifft Deutschland um das 32-fache. Davon hebt sich Rio de Janeiro mit einem Rückgang der Mordrate um mehr als 70 % in den letzten 20 Jahren relativ positiv ab. Ein Grund für die hohen Kriminalitätsraten sind enorme sozio-ökonomische Ungleichheiten – jeder fünfte Einwohner Rios lebt in einer Favela – und die Penetrierung von Polizei und Militär durch organisierte Kriminalität. Sogenannte Befriedungs-Einheiten der Polizei können Erfolge erzielen, indem sie durch Präsenz in den Favelas Sozial- und Beschäftigungsprojekte gegen Entwaffnung anbieten und gegen organisierte Kriminalität vorgehen. Allerdings werden die Erfolge nach Abzug der Einheiten größtenteils zunichte gemacht, und in Teilen kam es lediglich zu einer Verlagerung von Kriminalität. Um die Stadt für Touristinnen und Touristen attraktiv zu machen, soll die Präsenz von Militär und Polizei vor und während der Spiele deutlich erhöht werden. Es ist davon auszugehen, dass die Sicherheitslage während der Spiele auf diese Weise stabilisiert werden kann, allerdings bleibt wie bei jedem Großereignis ein Restrisiko terroristischer Anschläge. Um der organisierten und kleineren Kriminalität nachhaltig die Grundlage zu entziehen, sind integrierte Politikentwürfe gefordert, die alternative Existenzgrundlagen schaffen und die frappierenden Ungleichheiten im Land reduzieren.

10. Wird Olympia ein großes Publikum nach Brasilien bringen?

Ob die Ausrichtung der Spiele Brasilien schließlich die erhofften wirtschaftlichen und Prestige-Gewinne bringen wird, wird auch von der Anzahl der internationalen Besucherinnen und Besucher abhängen. Mehr als 500.000 Besucherinnen und Besucher aus der ganzen Welt werden erwartet, außerdem 45.000 Freiwillige und 28.000 Journalistinnen und Journalisten. Auch wenn diese Zahlen bereits stark nach unten korrigiert wurden, ist Brasilien durch die Ausrichtung der Spiele während der Sommerpause in der nördlichen Hemisphäre internationale Aufmerksamkeit sicher. Bisher wurde erst etwa die Hälfte der 7,5 Millionen Tickets verkauft, was allerdings nicht ungewöhnlich ist. Es bleibt also abzuwarten, ob Brasilien mitten in einer Staatskrise kurz vor der Eröffnung der Olympischen Sommerspiele 2016 Konzentration und Energie für den Endspurt haben wird, um die Spiele zum Erfolg zu führen.

Besonderer Dank für ihre Unterstützung bei der Recherche zu diesem Bericht gilt Anisha Schwille, Studentin der Medienkulturwissenschaft an der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg und aktuell Praktikantin im Auslandsbüro Brasilien der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung.

Autoren

Dr. Jan Woischnik, Alexandra Steinmeyer

Serie

Länderberichte

erschienen

Brasilien, 27. April 2016

Kontakt

Dr. Jan Woischnik

Leiter des Auslandsbüros Brasilien

Dr. Jan Woischnik
Tel. +55 21 2220 5441
Fax +55 21 2220 5448
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Español,‎ Français,‎ Italiano,‎ Bahasa Indonesia,‎ Português

Bereitgestellt von

Logo: Konrad-Adenauer-StiftungAuslandsbüro in Brasilien