NDCs: What is there for Latin America big cities?

Final Workshop

Also available in Deutsch, Español, Português

During the fourth (and last) workshop of the series NDCs: What Is There for American Big Cities? experts from Mexico, Peru, Argentina and Brazil debated the results of the comparative study for the implementation of The Paris Agreement on Climate Change goals (Nationally Determined Contributions or NDCs).

Image 1 of 7
NDC Rio de Janeiro

The meeting hosted jointly by the Regional Program Energy Security and Climate Change in Latin America of the Konrad Adenauer Foundation (EKLA-KAS) and the Institute for Sustainability (IIS) was opened by the Head of EKLA-KAS Christian Hübner.

Sergio Margulis of IIS stated that the implementation of The Paris Agreement Goals will not succeed unless big cities play an active role. Almost 50% of global population lives in cities and account for almost 85% of current greenhouse gas emissions. Estimates show that at the present urbanization rate, urban population will account for 70% of total global population by 2050. An essential first step in improved city coordination both in the planning and implementation of climate goals is a coordinated effort between urban climate goals and nationally determined contributions for climate protection. The IIS coordinated comparative study ‘‘NDCs: What Is There for American Big Cities?’’ is a major step in that direction.

Margulis presented the implementation of climate plans with three examples from Brazilian cities: Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo and Belo Horizonte. During the presentation of the comparative study, the audience was surprised at the fact that Rio de Janeiro’s GHG emissions were higher than those of São Paulo, in spite of the fact that Rio’s number of inhabitants and GDP is half the figures in São Paulo. This unusual situation is accounted for by the fact that there are more high GHG emissions industries in Rio de Janeiro. According to Margulis, this example shows how important it is to spot outliers in comparative studies and include appropriate explanations.

In his second presentation, Margulis presented Paris climate goals implementation results of the comparative study. All countries studied (Brazil, Mexico, Argentina and Peru) and big cities (Rio de Janeiro, Mexico City, Buenos Aires and Lima) created their climate goals and action plans, although according to Margulis, more often than not, cities play a major role. Nevertheless, he mentioned it was difficult to compare city and national climate goals since processes in place and assessment methods at national level are different from those at city level. It is important to bear in mind that a city/country comparison will only make sense if areas are divided by sectors as in energy, industry and transport. Within these sectors, it is necessary to improve cooperation, standardize concepts and create a shared vision for the future. Shared indicators and methods would not only make comparisons among city and county climate goals easier, but would also assess the enforcement of climate goals, Margulis explained. According to him, this fact alone is a major step since most climate goals are set at policy levels, with no goal enforcement mechanisms or legal options in case of noncompliance. Margulis closed his remarks on a positive note and stated that civil society organizations are willing to support national governments and city administrations in the implementation of climate goals.

More in depth county and city presentations included in the comparative study followed. Everton Lucero, with the Environment Ministry from Brazil presented the first national level experience of NDCs. He mentioned the Ministry of Cities is responsible for the coordination among national, state and city administrations but climate change in beyond the Ministry’s jurisdiction and hinders cooperation among different administration levels. Nevertheless, there are successful coordinated initiatives in the struggle against climate change, Lucero mentioned, as is the case of network CB27, that fosters information exchange on climate administration among Brazilian capitals. Conrado Laigle from the Popular Studies Civil Association followed and introduced the situation of Argentina as far as the implementation of NDCs are concerned. He explained that after an initial reluctant position during the Climate Summit, Argentina became an important partner after the new government took office at the end of 2015 and agreed to cut GHG emissions by 30% till 2030 compared to the business as usual reference scenario. Isabel Calle, with the Peruvian Environmental Law Society presented the state of NDC’s implementation in Peru. According to Ms. Calle, Peru faces great challenges, especially for trying to introduce environmental improvements in the transport area. During preparatory COP 20 sessions held in Lima in 2014, many initiatives against emissions were debated but most came to nothing after the conference. She stated closer cooperation among city administrations – especially Lima – and national government is necessary and that intersectorial working groups can support the effort and work at different admin levels. The last speaker was José Alfredo Vargas Gómez, with the Environment and Natural Resources Secretariat from México. México committed to a 22% cut on GHG by 2030 in Paris, compared to the business as usual reference scenario. Even though the national legal framework for all climate issues is the Climate Change Act since 2012, regional governments play an essential role in climate protection in México, Gómez pointed out.

Flávia Carloni from the Rio de Janeiro Planning and Management Under Secretariat reported that due to its singular geographic location between the sea and the mountains, Rio will be especially vulnerable to the consequences of climate change such as rising sea levels and landslides and consequently investment in protection and adaptation works were carried out. Nahuel Pugliese from the Environmental Protection Agency, APrA, said that it is important to bear in mind that when we talk about Buenos Aires we need to consider the three million people that commute to the city every day. This is the reason why the city launched its first initiative against climate change as early as 2003 and thanks to these initiatives there will be a 10% cut on GHG emissions by 2030 in relation to the business as usual reference scenario. Pugliese added that in Argentina there are some initiatives to coordinate action between Buenos Aires and the national government but that there is still a long way to go. Lima also has several action plans against climate change, said Anna Zucchetti, former manager at the Lima Parks Service.Still, she said, the challenge is to implement these initiatives since the lack of infrastructure and trained labor are a major drawback. Historically, boroughs in Lima held most of the responsibility. This situation is about to change and according to Zucchetti, it will improve coordination, especially in areas that cover several neighborhoods as is the case with transport and urban garbage collection. Oscar Vázquez, with the Mexico City Environmental Secretariat made the last presentation. He confirmed climate action plans are already part of the agenda in Mexico City where the first action plan was launched in 2000. Vasques presented some innovative programs such as Hoy No Circula program (no driving today), that since 1989 restricts the circulation of 20% of the cars (according to the license plate) one day a week, with 2,599,843 t savings in CO2 emissions.

Contributions by different countries and different cities showed that challenges faced by all governments differ a lot. But all four countries share the need to improve cooperation among different city administrations as well as among city and national government levels to fulfill Paris Climate Change goals and in doing so, make their contribution to the global fight against climate change.

Author

Ilona Gremminger

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Brazil, October 26, 2017

Logo Programa Regional EKLA KAS inglés

Contact

Karina Marzano Franco

Project Manager

Karina Marzano Franco
Phone +55 21 2220 5441
Fax +55 21 2220 5448
Languages: Português,‎ Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Español,‎ Français

NDCs: Was bedeutet dies für lateinamerikanische Großstädte?

Abschlussworkshop

Auch verfügbar in English, Español, Português

Beim vierten und abschließenden Workshop der Reihe „NDCs: What Is There for American Big Cities?“ diskutierten Experten aus Mexiko, Peru, Argentinien und Brasilien die Ergebnisse der Vergleichsstudie zu der Implementierung der Pariser Klimaziele (Nationally Determined Contributions, NDCs).

Bild 1 von 7
NDC Rio de Janeiro

Der von dem Regionalprogramm EKLA-KAS gemeinsam mit dem International Institute for Sustainability (IIS) organisierte Workshop wurde von Christian Hübner, Leiter des Regionalprogramms EKLA-KAS eröffnet.

Sergio Margulis vom IIS erklärte, weshalb die Implementierung der Pariser Klimaziele ohne das aktive Mitwirken von Großstädten nicht möglich ist: Rund 50% der Weltbevölkerung leben in Städten und verursachen zusammen ca. 85% der aktuellen Treibhausgasemissionen. Zudem wird geschätzt, dass die Stadtbevölkerung bei dem aktuellem Urbanisierungsrhythmus bis im Jahre 2050 ca. 70% der Weltbevölkerung ausmachen wird. Ein erster wichtiger Schritt, um Städte besser in die Planung und Implementierung der Klimaziele miteinzubeziehen, ist das Abstimmen der städtischen Klimaziele mit den nationalen Klimaschutzbeiträgen. Die vom IIS durchgeführte Vergleichsstudie „NDCs: What Is There for American Big Cities?“ soll aktiv zu diesem Schritt beitragen.

Margulis stellte die Implementierung der Klimapläne anhand dreier brasilianischer Städte vor: Rio de Janeiro, San Paulo und Belo Horizonte. Bei der Präsentation der Vergleichsstudie machte er die Zuhörer darauf aufmerksam, dass die Treibhausgasemissionen in Rio de Janeiro größer sind als in San Paulo, obwohl die Einwohnerzahl und das BIP der Stadt nur gerade halb so groß sind wie die von San Paulo. Diese außergewöhnliche Situation kann dadurch erklärt werden, dass in Rio de Janeiro mehr Industriekonzerne mit hohen Treibhausgasemissionen angesiedelt sind. Das Beispiel zeige, wie wichtig es ist, bei Vergleichsstudien ungewöhnliche Abweichungen aufzuspüren und Erklärungen in die Analyse mitaufzunehmen, betonte Margulis.

In einer zweiten Präsentation stellte Margulis die Ergebnisse der Vergleichsstudie zur Implementierung der Pariser Klimaziele vor. Alle untersuchten Länder (Brasilien, Mexiko, Argentinien und Peru) und Großstädte (Rio de Janeiro, Mexiko Stadt, Buenos Aires und Lima) haben Klimaziele und Aktionspläne ausgearbeitet, wobei, so erklärte Margulis, die Städte oft eine proaktive Rolle spielten. Städtische Klimaziele mit den national festgelegten Klimazielen zu vergleichen sei jedoch schwierig gewesen, fügte Margulis an, weil sich die angewandten Verfahren und Berechnungsmethoden auf nationaler Ebene von denen der Städte unterschieden. Grundsätzlich sei jedoch zu berücksichtigen, dass ein Stadt-Land-Vergleich nur in den Sektoren mit geteilten Kompetenzen, das heißt in den Energie-, Industrie- und Transportsektoren, sinnvoll sei. In diesen Sektoren seien verbesserte Kooperationen, das Vereinheitlichen von Konzepten und das Erarbeiten einer gemeinsamen Zukunftsvision besonders notwendig. Abgestimmte Indikatoren und Methoden würden nicht nur den Vergleich zwischen städtischen und nationalen Klimazielen vereinfachen, sondern vor allem auch eine Überprüfung des Einhaltens der Klimaziele zulassen. Dies sei von großer Wichtigkeit, betonte Margulis, denn bis jetzt sein ein großer Teil der Klimaziele nur auf politischer Ebene festgelegt worden und es gebe keine Mechanismen zur Überprüfung der Einhaltung der Ziele oder Rechtswege im Falle einer Nichteinhaltung. Margulis endete seine Präsentation mit der positiven Bemerkung, dass es viele Akteure aus der Zivilgesellschaft gäbe, die willig sein, sowohl nationale als auch städtische Regierungen bei der Implementierung der Klimaziele zu unterstützen.

Der Präsentation zur Vergleichsstudie folgten detaillierteren Ausführungen zu den partizipierenden Ländern und Städten. Auf nationaler Ebene berichtete zuerst Everton Lucero vom brasilianischen Umweltministerium (Ministério do Meio Ambiente) von der Implementierung der NDCs in Brasilien. Für die Zusammenarbeit von nationalen, regionalen und städtischen Regierungen sei das Ministério das Cidades zuständig. Klimathemen würden aber von dem Ministerium für Städte nicht koordiniert, was die ebenenübergreifende Zusammenarbeit in Brasilien in diesem Sektoren erschwere. Lucero betonte aber auch, dass es Initiativen zur verbesserten Koordination im Kampfe gegen den Klimawandel gebe, wie zum Beispiel das Netzwerk CB27, welches den Austausch rund um das Thema Umweltmanagement zwischen Brasiliens Landeshauptstädten fördert. Als zweites stellte Conrado Laigle von der Asociación Civil de Estudios Populares die argentinische Situation bezüglich NDC-Implementierung vor. Er erklärte, wie Argentinien seit den zögerlichen Anfängen an der Klimakonferenz in Paris Dank des Regierungswechsels Ende 2015 zu einem ambitionierten Vertragspartner geworden sei, der sich verpflichtet die Treibhausgasemissionen bis 2030 um 30% im Vergleich zu einem „business as usual“ Szenario zu senken. Isabel Calle von der Peruanischen Gesellschaft für Umweltrecht (Sociedad Peruana de Derecho Ambiental) berichtete von der NDC-Implementierung in Peru. Das Land stehe vor großen Herausforderungen, vor allem in der Ökologisierug des Transportsektors. In der Vorbereitungsphase für die UN-Klimakonferenz (COP 20) in Lima 2014 seien viele Klimainitiativen angerissen worden. Leider sein diese nach der Konferenz oft nicht weitergeführt worden. Um die Klimaaktionen in Peru besser zu steuern, sei eine verstärkte Kooperation zwischen den Städten – insbesondere Lima – und der nationalen Regierung notwendig. Diese könne durch intersektorale und ebenenübergreifende Arbeitsgruppen unterstützt werden. Als letztes berichtete José Alfredo Vargas Gómez vom Sekretariat für Umwelt und Rohstoffe (Secretaría de Medio Ambiente y Recursos Naturales, SEMANART) aus Mexiko. In Paris verpflichtete sich Mexiko zu einer 22% Reduktion der Treibhausgase im Vergleich zu einem „business as usual“ Szenario bis im Jahre 2030. Obwohl alle Klimafragen seit 2012 von einem nationalen Gesetz, Ley de Cambio Climático, geregelt werden, spielten die Regionalbehörden eine bedeutende Rolle für den Klimaschutz in Mexiko, betonte Gómez.

Von der brasilianischen Großstadt Rio de Janeiro berichtete Flávia Carloni vom Unterstaatssekretariat für Stadtplanung und Management (Subsecretaria de Planejamento e Gestão). Rio de Janeiro wird mit seiner Lage in den Hügeln direkt am Meer besonders von den Folgen des Klimawandels, wie Anstieg der Meeresspiegel und Erdrutschen betroffen sein und hat deshalb bereits viel in Klimaschutz und -anpassung investiert. Wenn man über Buenos Aires spreche, so Nahuel Pugliese von der Umweltschutzbehörde der Stadt Buenos Aires (Agencia de Protección Ambiental, APrA), müsse man beachten, dass die drei Millionen Einwohner Stadt jeden Tag das Ziel von über drei Millionen Pendlern sei. Bereits 2003 habe die Stadt die erste Initiative im Kampf gegen den Klimawandel lanciert. Bis 2020 könnten dank den verschiedenen seit 2003 aufgegleisten Initiativen ca. 10% der Treibhausgasemissionen im Vergleich zu einem „business as usual“ Szenario eingespart werden. Pugliese erzählte, dass es in Argentinien auch einige Initiativen zur Koordination zwischen Buenos Aires und der nationalen Regierung gäbe; diese hätten aber noch viel Verbesserungspotential. Auch in Lima gebe es bereits verschiedene Aktionspläne im Kampf gegen den Klimawandel, berichtete Anna Zucchetti, ehemalige Aufsichtsratsvorsitzende von Service für öffentliche Parks in Lima (Servicio del Parques de Lima, SERPAR) aus ihrer Heimatstadt. Die Herausforderung sie aber die Implementierung dieser Initiativen: ein Mangel an Infrastruktur und Fachkräften erschwere die Umsetzungsarbeit. Historisch gesehen sei in Lim auch viel Verantwortung bei den einzelnen Quartierverwaltungen gelegen. Dies solle sich nun aber ändern, was, so Zucchetti, wichtig für eine verbesserte Koordination, vor allem in quartierübergreifenden Sektoren wie Transport und Abfallmanagement, sei. Die letzte Präsentation hielt Oscar Vázquez vom Umweltsekretariats Mexiko Stadt. Er bestätigte, dass Klimaaktionspläne auch für Mexiko-Stadt nichts Neues sein; der erste Aktionsplan wurde im Jahre 2000 lanciert. Vázquez stellte auch einige innovative Programme, wie Hoy No Circula, welches seit 1989 das Fahren von 20% der Autos (nach Nummernschild) an einem Wochentag verbietet. Es wurde berechnet, dass dank diesem Programm bereits 2,599,843 t CO2eq eingespart werden konnten.

Die Beiträge aus den verschiedenen Länder und Städten verdeutlichten vor welch unterschiedlichen Herausforderungen die einzelnen Regierungen stehen. Gemeinsam haben aber alle vier Länder, dass sie ihre Kooperation sowohl zwischen den verschiedenen Stadtregierungen als auch zwischen städtischen und nationalen Regierungen weiter verbessern müssen, um ihre Pariser Klimaziele einzuhalten und so ihren Teil zum globalen Kampf gegen den Klimawandel beizutragen.

Autor

Ilona Gremminger

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Brasilien, 26. Oktober 2017

Logo Programa Regional EKLA KAS alemán

Kontakt

Karina Marzano Franco

Projektkoordinatorin

Karina Marzano Franco
Tel. +55 21 2220 5441
Fax +55 21 2220 5448
Sprachen: Português,‎ Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Español,‎ Français