Russia in 2018. Challenges and Responses

The fourth Russian Conference of the BALTDEFCOL in Tartu

Also available in Deutsch, eesti keel

This year's presidential election, the Zapat-2017 maneuver and allegations of deliberate influence on the political discourse and parties abroad were just some of the topics discussed in Tartu, on 8 and 9 March, at the fourth Russian Conference of the Baltic Defense College (BALTDEFCOL).

After the welcoming by the conference leaders who thanked their partners, including the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, for their assistance in the realization of the conference, Prof. Mark Galeotti from the Prague Institute of International Relations introduced the subject of the conference. He gave an overview of the domestic political situation and foreign policy ambitions shortly before the Russian presidential election in 2018. A total of about 300 participants - mainly from the Baltic States and the EU, but also from NATO partner countries - attended the two-day conference in Tartu, which has been held annually since 2014, and is now referred to by the Baltic Defense College as a "flagship project".

In total, during the conference, 32 experts in 11 discussion forums presented their experiences and research on various aspects of Russian foreign policy and answered the questions of the audience. Topics covered both military strategies and the question of Russia's capacity for the targeted distribution and manipulation of controlled information abroad. The conference also focused on the experiences of Georgia and Ukraine in terms of their conflicts with Russia. Representatives of the two countries participated in various panel discussions, and the Georgian Embassy in Tallinn participated in the dinner of the first day of the conference at the AHHAA Science Center, which was also attended by Urmas Klaas, Mayor of Tartu. One of the highlights of the first day of the conference was the “Night Owl session" following the dinner, during which the Russian Zapad 2017 maneuver from last year was thoroughly analysed.

On the second day of the conference, the main focus of the discussions was on the possibilities of action of the NATO countries and their allies, the concrete challenges that arise for individual groups of countries and the concept of modern deterrence policy in the 21st century. The conference ended with a concluding panel discussion, revisiting the questions from the previous panels and exploring how and why deterrence policies can work against Russia. The panel speakers and audience members agreed that not only military defence capabilities will be important in the future, but that cyber, and information warfare will also be more significant, and that effective civil deterrence policy will need to involve all participants in civil society. Given this principle, the composition of the panels and the audience was once again praised this year, since the conference is aimed equally at academics, representatives of the military and politics, and offered them, in addition to the individual program units, enough time for networking and further discussion.

Authors

Elisabeth Bauer, Milena Vanini

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Estonia, March 23, 2018

Major General Andis Dilāns, the Commandant of Baltic Defense College, welcoming the guests of the conference.

Major General Andis Dilāns, the Commandant of Baltic Defense College, welcoming the guests of the conference.

Russia in 2018: Challenges and Responses

Vierte Russlandkonferenz des BALTDEFCOL in Tartu

Auch verfügbar in English, eesti keel

Die diesjährige Präsidentschaftswahl, das Zapat-2017-Manöver und die Vorwürfe der gezielten Einflussnahme auf den politischen Diskurs und Parteien im Ausland – das waren nur einige der Themen, die am 8. und 9. März auf der vierten Russlandkonferenz des Baltic Defense College (BALTDEFCOL) in Tartu diskutiert wurden.

Bild 1 von 4
Major General Andis Dilāns, Kommandant des Baltic Defense College, begrüßte die Konferenzteilnehmer.

Major General Andis Dilāns, Kommandant des Baltic Defense College, begrüßte die Konferenzteilnehmer.

Nach der Begrüßung durch die Konferenzleiter, die ihren Partnern, darunter auch der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, für ihre Mithilfe bei der Verwirklichung der Konferenz dankten, leitete Prof. Mark Galeotti vom Prager Institute of International Relations in die Thematik der Konferenz ein. Er gab einen Überblick über die innenpolitische Lage und außenpolitischen Ambitionen kurz vor der russischen Präsidentschaftswahl 2018. Insgesamt waren etwa 300 Teilnehmer – vor allem aus den baltischen Staaten und der EU, aber auch darüber hinaus aus NATO-Partnerländern – zur zweitägigen Konferenz in Tartu erschienen, die seit 2014 jährlich durchgeführt und vom Baltic Defense College inzwischen als „Flaggschiffprojekt“ bezeichnet wird.

Insgesamt präsentierten im Laufe der Konferenz 32 Experten in 11 Diskussionsforen ihre Erfahrungen und Forschungsergebnisse zu verschiedenen Aspekten russischer Außenpolitik und stellten sich den Fragen der Zuhörer. Die Themengebiete reichten deckten dabei sowohl militärische Strategien als auch die Frage nach Russlands Kapazitäten für die gezielte Verbreitung und Manipulation von gesteuerten Informationen im Ausland ab. Besonderer Fokus der Konferenz lag auch auf den Erfahrungen Georgiens und der Ukraine in ihren Auseinandersetzungen mit Russland. Vertreter der beiden Länder nahmen an verschiedenen Paneldiskussionen teil, die Georgische Botschaft in Tallinn beteiligte sich zudem am Abendessen des ersten Konferenztages im Wissenschaftszentrum AHHAA, an dem auch Urmas Klaas, Bürgermeister der Stadt Tartu, teilnahm. Zu den Highlights des ersten Konferenztages gehörte auch die sich an das Abendessen anschließende „Night-Owl-session“, während derer das russische Zapad-2017-Manöver aus dem letzten Jahr eingehend analysiert wurde.

Am zweiten Konferenztag lag der Themenschwerpunkt der Diskussionen auf den Handlungsmöglichkeiten der NATO-Staaten und ihrer Verbündeten, den konkreten Herausforderungen, die sich für einzelne Ländergruppen ergeben, und dem Konzept moderner Abschreckungspolitik im 21. Jahrhundert. Die Konferenz endete mit einer zusammenfassenden Abschlussdiskussion, welche die Fragen der vorhergegangenen Panels noch einmal aufgriff und sich mit der Frage befasste, wie und warum Abschreckungspolitik gegen Russland funktionieren kann. Die Panelsprecher und Zuhörer waren dabei darin einig, dass dabei auch zukünftig nicht nur militärische Verteidigungsmöglichkeiten wichtig sein werden, sondern dass auch Cyber- und Information warfare verstärkt in den Mittelpunkt rücken, und dass in eine effektive Abschreckungspolitik sämtliche Teilnehmer der Zivilgesellschaft einbezogen werden müssen. Vor dem Hintergrund dieses Grundsatzes wurde auch in diesem Jahr die Zusammensetzung der Panels und des Publikums gelobt, da sich die Konferenz gleichermaßen an Akademiker, Vertreter des Militärs und der Politik richtet, und diesen neben den einzelnen Einheiten genügend Raum zum Vernetzen und weiteren Diskutieren bot.

Autoren

Elisabeth Bauer, Milena Vanini

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Estland, 23. März 2018