Political Academy of KAS in Cyprus

Also available in Deutsch, Ελληνικά

The first seminar for young politicians and active citizens took place in Nicosia of Cyprus between 17 and 19 February with the support of the Glafkos Clerides Institute.

Image 1 of 8
Politische Akademie Zypern

The participants of the KAS Political Academy in Cyprus

The 30 participants of the first Political Academy of KAS in Cyprus were young active citizens between the ages of 19 to 35 years old. The majority of the participants were young individuals, active in the political scene of the country and the civil society. Among them one could distinguish really active members of youth organizations, candidates in local and national elections as well as members of governmental and non-governmental organizations.

A series of active politicians and specialists, participated a spekekers in Political Academy in Nicosia and discussed with the participants. Averof Neofytou, President of the governing Democratic Rally (DISY) and Member of the Parliament, shared his experiences as a young politician and discussed current political issues with the participants. Harris Georgiades, Minister of Finance, and Professor Dr. Ulrich Blum from the University of Martin-Luther of Halle Wittenberg discussed about the social and economic aspects of a reunification in Cyprus and the lessons that one could deduct fron the reunification of Germany. The Minister of Foreign Affairs, Ioannis Kasoulidis, discussed analytically the current conditions of the negotiations for the re-unification of Cyprus. Michalis Sophocleous, Director of the Glafkos Clerides Institute and Dr. Arnold Kammel, Secretary General of the Institute for European and Security Policy of the Austrian People's Party, discussed the challenges for the center right parties in Cyprus and E.U.

The technical and strategic skills a modern politicians needs were an important part of the Academy. Panos Tsiridis, General Manager of V+O Communication Cyprus, and Vivian Efthimiopoulou, Communications Specialist and Founder of the blog factnews.gr, provided the participants with the theoretical and practical background of how to design and implement a political campaign. At the end of the workshop the participants used their newly acquired skills and knowledge in order to present their own political campaign.

In the framework of the Political Academy of KAS a visit was organized in the Centre of Visual Arts & Research (CVAR)of the Severis Foundation. There lies the personal collection of the 4th President of Cyprus, Glafkos Clerides Institute. The participants had the chance to receive a guided tour by the Excecutive Director of the Center, Dr. Rita Severis.

The Political Academy of the Konrad Adenauer Stiftung in Nicosia of Cyprus took place with the support of the Glafkos Clerides Institute.

Authors

Susanna Vogt, Jeroen Kohls, Martha Kontodaimon

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Athen, March 7, 2017

political academy cyprus

Contact

Jeroen Kohls

Project Manager - Research Associate

Jeroen Kohls
Phone +30 210 7247 126
Fax +30 210 7247 153
Languages: Deutsch,‎ Ελληνικά,‎ English,‎ Français

Politische Akademie der KAS auf Zypern

Auch verfügbar in English, Ελληνικά

Erstes KAS-Seminar für Nachwuchspolitiker und politisch Engagierte auf Zypern

Bild 1 von 8
Politische Akademie Zypern

Die Teilnehmer der ersten Politischen Akademie der KAS auf Zypern

Die Teilnehmer der ersten Politischen Akademie der KAS auf Zypern waren 30 Nachwuchskräfte im Alter zwischen 19 und 35 Jahren. Die meisten von ihnen sind bereits in der Politik oder zivilgesellschaftlichen Initiativen aktiv. Unter ihnen waren hochmotivierte Mitglieder von Jugendorganisationen und Kandidaten aus kommunalen oder nationalen Wahlen sowie Mitglieder von staatlichen und nichtstaatlichen Organisationen.

Als Referenten waren am Akademie-Wochenende der KAS in Nicosia zahlreiche aktive Politiker und wissenschaftliche Experten beteiligt. Averof Neofytou, Vorsitzender der Democratic Rally (DISY) und Mitglied des Parlaments, teilte seine Erfahrungen als Jungpolitiker und diskutierte aktuelle Themen der Politik mit den Teilnehmern. Finanzminister Harris Georgiadis und Professor Dr. Ulrich Blum von der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg diskutierten die sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Aspekte der Wiedervereinigung Zyperns und die Lehren aus der Wiedervereinigung Deutschlands. Außenminister Ioannis Kasoulides nahm eine tiefgehende Analyse der aktuellen Lage der Verhandlungen zur Wiedervereinigung Zyperns vor. Michalis Sofokleous, Generaldirektor des Klerides-Instituts, und Dr. Arnold Kammel, Direktor für Internationale Beziehungen der Politischen Akademie der Österreichischen Volkspartei, diskutierten die Herausforderungen für Mitte-Rechts-Parteien auf Zypern und in der EU.

Technische und strategischen Kompetenzen waren ein wichtiger Teil des Akademie-Wochenendes: Panos Tsirides, Generaldirektor von V+O Communication Cyprus, und Vivian Efthimiopoulou, Kommunikationsspezialistin und Gründungsredakteurin des Blogs factnews.gr, boten den Teilnehmern den theoretischen und praktischen Rahmen, wie eine politische Kampagne zu planen und umzusetzen ist. Im anschließenden praktischen Workshop haben die Teilnehmer ihre neuerworbenen Fähigkeiten und Kenntnisse genutzt um ihre eigene politische Kampagne zu präsentieren.

Im Rahmen der Politischen Akademie der KAS wurde auch ein Besuch im Zentrum für Bildende Kunst und Forschung der Severis-Stiftung organisiert: Dort befindet sich die persönliche Sammlung des ehemaligen Staatspräsidenten von Zypern, Glafkos Klerides. Die Teinehmer wurden von der Gründungsdirektorin, Rita Severis, durch das Zentrum geführt.

Autoren

Jeroen Kohls, Martha Kontodaimon

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Athen, 7. März 2017

political academy cyprus

Kontakt

Jeroen Kohls

Projektmanager - Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Jeroen Kohls
Tel. +30 210 7247 126
Fax +30 210 7247 153
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ Ελληνικά,‎ English,‎ Français