Outlook on the elections in Germany - Crucial dimensions and possible consequences

Also available in Deutsch, Ελληνικά

__

Image 1 of 5
Bundestagswahl Athen 1

Professor Karl-Rudolf Korte, MEP Georgios Kyrtsos and Susanna Vogt, Head of KAS Greece.

The Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation, Greece Office, and the Konstantinos Karamanlis Institute for Democracy organized in the beginning of July an informational discussion on the upcoming German federal elections. Susanna Vogt, Head of KAS Greece, underlined in her welcome speech the importance of these elections and the international interest for them. Rodi Kratsa, President of the Karamanlis Institute highlighted the fact that this event is able to promote the understanding of the Greeks on the way the political system of Germany functions, as well as the mentality of the German voters.

In his speech Professor Karl-Rudolf Korte touched upon important, unknown for the large majority of the Greeks, aspects of the German elections. The internal party mechanisms, the structure and logic of the electorate and the role of programs in choosing a specific party were some of them. Additionally, Professor Korte introduced to the audience the possible coalitions after the elections, whereas he stressed out the importance of the elections to the reaffirmation and further enhancement of the democratic dialog in Germany.

Georgios Kyrtsos, member of the European Parliament, focused in his speech on the axiom of the improvement of the Greek-German relations, despite the political and financial differences between the two countries. The rise of populism, he continued, is a danger for both countries that has to be addressed. On European level, the next German federal government should take important initiatives in sensitive fields, such as the common European defense, in order to promote the project of the European integration.

Nikos Dendias, Parliamentary Spokesperson of Nea Dimokratia and former Minister, analysed the historically close relations between Greece and Germany and concentrated on issues of the European fiscal policy and the Eurozone. He approached the upcoming elections in Germany in the light of election of E. Macron in France and the hopes for reinforcement of the pro-European voices in all parts of Europe.

All three speakers agreed upon the fact that the result of the elections is still open, whereas issues of Greek interest, such as a possible debt relief do not constitute a decisive factor for the German voters.

Yiannis Palaiologos, journalist of Kathimerini moderated the following discussion with the more than 150 guests that attended the event.

Authors

Eleftherios Petropoulos, Susanna Vogt

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Athen, July 10, 2017

Ausblick auf die Wahlen in Deutschland - Wichtige Dimensionen und mögliche Konsequenzen

Auch verfügbar in English, Ελληνικά

__

Bild 1 von 5
Bundestagswahl Athen 1

Prof. Dr. Karl-Rudolf Korte, Europaabgeordnete Georgios Kyrtsos und die Leiterin der KAS Griechenland, Susanna Vogt

Die KAS Griechenland und das Konstantinos Karamanlis Institut für Demokratie organisierten Anfang Juli eine Diskussionsveranstaltung zur Information über die bevorstehenden Bundestagswahlen. Susanna Vogt, Leiterin der KAS Athen, unterstrich in ihrer Begrüßung die Bedeutung der kommenden Wahl und das Interesse daran jenseits der Grenzen Deutschlands. Die Tatsache, dass diese Veranstaltung das Verständnis der Griechen für das Funktionieren des deutschen politischen Systems und die Denkweise der deutschen Wähler verstärken wird, wurde von Rodi Kratsa, Präsidentin des Karamanlis Instituts, in ihrem Grußwort hervorgehoben.

Prof. Dr. Karl-Rudolf Korte sprach in seinem Beitrag wichtige, bisher für die große Mehrheit der Griechen unbekannte Aspekte der deutschen Wahl an. Die internen Parteimechanismen, die Struktur und Logik des Wählermarktes sowie die Rolle der Programme für die Auswahl einer Partei gehörten dazu. Zudem hat Professor Korte die möglichen Koalitionskonstellationen vorgestellt, während er die Rolle betonte, die diese Wahl für die Bestätigung sowie weitere Entwicklung der demokratischen Debatte in Deutschland spielen kann.

Der Europaabgeordnete Georgios Kyrtsos konzentrierte sich in seinem Vortrag auf das Gebot der Verbesserung der deutsch-griechischen Verhältnisse, trotz der politischen und wirtschaftlichen Unterschiede zwischen den zwei Staaten. Das Aufkommen des Populismus sei in beiden Ländern eine Gefahr, womit man sich auseinandersetzen müsse. Auf europäischem Niveau sollte, so Kyrtsos, die nächste deutsche Bundesregierung wichtige Initiativen in sensiblen Fragen – etwa die gemeinsame europäische Verteidigung – in Angriff nehmen, um das Projekt der Europäischen Integration voranzutreiben.

Nikos Dendias, Parlamentarischer Geschäftsführer der Nea Dimokratia und ehem. Minister, analysierte die historisch engen Beziehungen zwischen Griechenland und Deutschland und beschäftigte sich vor allem mit Fragen der europäischen Wirtschaftspolitik und der Eurozone. Zudem sah er die bevorstehende Wahl in Berlin im Lichte der Amtsübernahme von E. Macron in Frankreich und die Hoffnungen auf eine Verstärkung der pro-europäischen Kräfte überall in Europa.

Alle drei Redner gingen davon aus, dass das Ergebnis der Wahlen noch offen ist. Fragen von besonderem griechischen Interesse, wie eine eventuelle Schulderleichterung, stehen nicht im Rampenlicht des deutschen Wahlkampfs.

Yiannis Palaiologos, Journalist bei Kathimerini, moderierte die anschließende Diskussion mit den über 150 interessierten Gästen der Veranstaltung, die die erste zu diesem Thema in Athen war.

Autoren

Eleftherios Petropoulos, Susanna Vogt

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Athen, 10. Juli 2017