6th Thessaloniki International Symporium in World Affairs

"The world in 2018: Between the promise of change and the despair of new conflicts"

Also available in Deutsch, Ελληνικά

Thessaloniki International Symposium on the global challenges for the upcoming year

Image 1 of 9
6. Thessaloniki Internationales Symposium

6th Thessaloniki International Symposium in World Affairs.

For 6th year in a row, the Navarino Network, the Cultural Association of Northern Greek Entrepreneurs, and the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, Office Greece organized the Thessaloniki International Symposium in World Affairs. The focus of the Symposium this year shifted to the situation in Greece and Cyprus, the threat of Islamism, the relations to Russia and Turkey, as well as the further deepening of the project of the European integration. Prominent representatives from politics and the academia from around the world analyzed crucial questions in fields like economy, growth and security on regional, European and global level.

The event took place at Olympion, in the center of Thessaloniki. More than 400 guests, especially excellent young students and professionals from the region attended the conference and had the opportunity to exchange views with experts from Greece and abroad.

Welcome Remarks

Dimitris Keridis, Director of Navarino Network

Stavros Andreadis, Head of Cultural Association of Northern Greek Entrepreneurs

Yiannis Boutaris, Mayor of Thessaloniki

Norbert Beckmann-Dierkes, Acting Head of KAS Greece

The main part of the Symposium opened with the speech of Haris Georgiades, Minister of Finance of the Republic of Cyprus, who presented the lessons taught throughout the crisis in the island, as well as the measures taken by the authorities in response to the severe financial situation. The case of Greece in all its complexity was the topic of Joan Hoey, The Economist Intelligence Unit, who among others made the connection to the European and global challenges. The next issue on the table was the threat of Islamism, Alia Brahimi, Legatus Strategic Intelligence and Advisory, and James Renton, Edge Hill University analysed different aspects of it using practical and actual examples. Bhaskar Chakravorti, Tufts University shared his thoughts with the audience on how growth can be achieved through technological evolution, whereas Andreas Drymiotis, Kathimerini, elaborated on how Greece can find its way to growth in a new, digitalized era.

The next panel focused on security matters. Jamie Shea, North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), presented which role NATO can play nowadays, especially in relation to its cooperation with the EU, but also towards Russia. Whether the latter can indeed be a threat to Europe, was the main point of the presentation of Laza Kekic. Wolfango Piccolli focused on the role Turkey in Southeast Europe, whereas Denis MacShane, former Minister of State for Europe of the Labour Party showed in his speech how complicated the Brexit can be and which consequences it can have both on the EU and the UK. Dr. Heribert Dieter, Free University of Berlin, analysed the scenario of a continent of more speeds and the role of the IMF was the topic of Wolfango Piccolli's second presentation. The Symposium closed with Philipp McCann, Sheffield University, in regards to the regional crises in Europe and the problems that could arise for the EU.

Author

Eleftherios Petropoulos

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Athen, November 23, 2017

6. Thessaloniki International Symposium

"The world in 2018: Between the promise of change and the despair of new conflicts"

Auch verfügbar in English, Ελληνικά

Thessaloniki Internationales Symposium zu aktuellen globalen Herausforderungen.

Bild 1 von 9
6. Thessaloniki Internationales Symposium

6. Thessaloniki Internationales Symposium: "Between the promise of Change and the Despair of new Conflicts".

Bereits zum sechsten Mal fand im Oktober 2017 das Thessaloniki International Symposium in World Affairs statt. Im Zentrum standen dieses Jahr die Lage in Griechenland und Zypern, die Herausforderung des Islamismus, die Beziehungen zu Russland und der Türkei, sowie die Vertiefung der Europäischen Union. Prominente Politiker und Wissenschaftler haben entscheidende Fragen zu den Themen Wirtschaft, Wachstum und Sicherheit auf regionalem, Europäischem und globalem Niveau analysiert.

Die Veranstaltung hat im Olympion, Thessaloniki stattgefunden. Über 400 Gäste, insbesondere hervorragende Nachwuchswissenschaftler aus der ganzen Region nutzten die Gelegenheit zu Austausch und Diskussion mit den internationalen Experten.

Begrüßungen

Dimitris Keridis, Direktor, Navarino Network

Stavros Andreadis, Vorsitzender, Kulturvereinigung nordgriechischer Unternehmer

Yiannis Boutaris, Bürgermeister von Thessaloniki

Norbert Beckmann-Dierkes, Leiter des Auslandsbüros Griechenland der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung

Den Hauptteil des Symposiums hat Harris Georgiades, Finanzminister der Republik Zypern eröffnet, der den Lehren aus den Auswirkungen der Krise auf der Insel präsentiert hat. Besonders interessant waren seine Anmerkungen über die Maßnahmen, die die zyprische Regierung in diesem Kontext ergriffen hat. Der Fall Griechenlands in seiner Komplexität in Verbindung mit den paneuropäischen und globalen Herausforderungen wurde von Joan Hoey, The Economist Intelligence Unit gründlich präsentiert. Die nächsten Referenten beschäftigten sich mit dem Thema des Islamismus. Alia Brahimi, Legatus Strategic Intelligence and Advisory, und James Renton, Edge Hill University haben sich anhand von praktischen und aktuellen Beispielen mit entscheidenden Aspekten auseinandergesetzt. Bhaskar Chakravorti, Tufts University hat seine Gedanken zum Thema "Wachstum durch die technologische Entwicklung" geschildert, während Andreas Drymiotis, Kathimerini, hat sich mit der Frage befasst, wie Griechenland (wenn überhaupt) in einem digitalisierten Umfeld neue Entwicklungswege finden kann.

Im nächsten Panel ginge es um die Sicherheit. Jamie Shea, North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), erklärte welche Rolle die Allianz heutzutage spielen kann, insbesondere im Lichte der Beziehungen mit der EU und Russland. Ob Russland tatsächlich eine Drohung für Europa darstellt, war der Schwerpunkt der Analyse von Laza Kekic. Wolfango Piccoli präsentierte seine Ansicht über die Rolle der Türkei im Südosteuropa, während Denis McShane, ehem. Minister der Labour Partei im Vereinigten Königreich die unterschiedliche und vielfältige Aspekte des Brexits und seiner Konsequenzen dargestellt hat. Dr. Heribert Dieter, Freie Universität Berlin, hat das Szenario einer Europa von mehreren Geschwindigkeiten ins Bild gesetzt, und Wolfango Piccoli präsentierte die Rolle, die das IWF in der Welt spielen kann. Am Schluss, kam der Beitrag von Philipp McCann, Sheffield University, über die regionalen Krisen in Europa und die Probleme, die sich daraus für die EU ergeben.

Autor

Eleftherios Petropoulos

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Athen, 23. November 2017