Media Literacy Practices: Changing the relation of the public to the media

Workshop on the relations between the public and the media in the light of the phenomenon of the spreading of fake news.

Also available in Deutsch, Ελληνικά

Event in Thessaloniki in cooperation with local actors on actual matters of journalism.

Image 1 of 6
Seminar Thessaloniki

KAS Seminar on "Media Literacy Practices: Changing the relation of the public to the media".

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, Greece Office in cooperation with the Journalists' Union of Macedonia and Thrace Daily Newspapers and the School of Journalism and Mass Communications of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, organized an all-day seminar with the title "Media Literacy Practices: Changing the relation of the Public to the Media". Its aim was the analysis of phenomena as that of the spreading of fake news and the presentation of means with which both professionals and the public can address them.

The event began with a roundtable, which served as introduction to the subject. Different aspects of the issue were discussed at first by Sissy Alonistiotou, journalist from the Media Literacy Institute and Thomas Siomos, experienced journalist. On the basis of official data and examples from the journalistic everyday life they showed how problematic the situation already is, which leads to the undermining of the credibility of the journalists on one hand and the distortion of the reality on social, political, economical etc. levels.

Sofia Aslanidou, professor at the School of Pedagogical & Technological Education (ASPETE) and Maria Tsoumari, teacher at the Intercultural Junior High school of Evosmos-Thessaloniki shed light on the role of teachers. They stressed out in their presentations how difficult the mission of all those that participate to the education field is, given among others their lack of knowledge and preparation towards these problems. According to both, important is the cooperation with other social actors and professionals, whereas they reaffirmed that it's crucial that special solutions are implemented in regard to the children.

The two workshops in the second half of the Seminar were attributed to more practical approach: The first one on the "Media Content Management: The aim of improving credibility towards the public" was held by Dimitra Dimitrakopoulou, assistant professor at the School of Journalism & Mass Communications of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki. After an initial presentation of data, Ms. Dimitrakopoulou discussed on different methods that can be implemented. The second workshop with the title "From the Newsroom to the Classroom" focused on the preparation of the younger generations. Sissy Alonistiotou and Nikos Panagiotou, assistant professor at the School of Journalism & Mass Communications of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki held this workshop.

Author

Eleftherios Petropoulos

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Athen, August 22, 2018

Aufbau von Medienkompetenzen: Ein neues Kapitel in der Beziehung zwischen Publikum und Medien

Workshop über die Beziehung zwischen den Medien und dem Publikum, im Lichte des Phänomens der Verbreitung von Fake News.

Auch verfügbar in English, Ελληνικά

Veranstaltung in Thessaloniki in Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Akteuren über aktuelle Fragen des Journalismus.

Bild 1 von 6
Seminar Thessaloniki

Seminar zum Thema "Aufbau von Medienkompetenzen: Ein neues Kapitel in der Beziehung zwischen Publikum und Medien".

Das Auslandsbüro der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Griechenland in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Journalistenverband der Tageszeitungen von Makedonien und Thrazien und die Fakultät von Journalismus und Massenmedien der Universität Thessaloniki, organisierte am 20. April einen Workshop zum Thema "Aufbau von Medienkompetenzen: Ein neues Kapitel in der Beziehung zwischen Publikum und Medien". Die Veranstaltung zielte darauf ab, das Verständnis des Publikums im Bereich der Auswahl von verlässlichen Informationen zu fördern. Im Kern der Veranstaltung stand das Phänomen der Verbreitung von Fake News und die Vorstellung von Praktiken, anhand von denen sich sowohl das Publikum als auch die Journalisten selber damit umgehen können.

Als Einstieg zum Thema diente eine Paneldiskussion, während derer unterschiedliche Aspekte präsentiert und Fragen gestellt worden sind. Die Journalisten Sissy Alonistiotou und Thomas Siomos haben auf der Basis von offiziellen Daten über die Verbreitung des Phänomens diskutiert. Es wurde betont, dass immer mehr solche Nachrichten das Publikum erreichen und dadurch wird sowohl die Rolle und die Arbeit der Journalisten selber unterminiert als auch wird die politische, wirtschaftliche und soziale Realität beeinflusst.

Sofia Aslanidou, Professorin an der School of Pedagogical & Technological Education (ASPETE) und Maria Tsoumari, Lehrerin beim Interkulturellen Gymnasium von Evosmos - Thessaloniki, fokussierten sich in ihren Vorträgen auf die Rolle der Lehrer, sowie auf die Schwierigkeiten auf die die Letzteren stoßen, aufgrund ihrer mangelnder Vorbereitung. Hervorgehhoben wurde die Bedeutung der Kooperation mit anderen sozialen Faktoren und das Bedürfnis nach konkreten Lösungen und Maßnahmen insbesondere für die jungen Menschen.

Der zweite Teil des Seminars bestand aus zwei praktische orientierten Workshops. Der Erste mit dem Titel "Media Content Management: Das Ziel der Verstärkung der Medienglaubwürdigkeit gegenüber das Publikum" wurde von Dimitra Dimitrakopoulou, Ass. Prof. an der Fakultät von Journalismus und Massenmedien der Universität Thessaloniki gehalten. Während dessen wurden im Rahmen einer Diskussion mit den Teilnehmern bestimmte Lösungsansätze entwickelt, die u.A. auch im Ausland umgesetzt worden sind. Der zweite Workshop "Vom Newsroom zu den Klassenraum" wurde dem schulischen Umfeld und der Ausbildung gewidmet. Nikos Panagiotou, Ass. Prof. an der Fakultät von Journalismus und Massenmedien der Universität Thessaloniki und Sissy Alonistiotou, Journalistin beim Media Literacy Institut waren die Referenten des zweiten Workshops.

Autor

Eleftherios Petropoulos

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Athen, 22. August 2018