Afghanistan in Transition: Reshaping priorities for 2015 and beyond

Also available in Deutsch

In cooperation with the Royal United Services Institute (RUSI) and Transparency International UK (TI UK) the Konrad Adenauer Foundation held three expert workshops on “Afghanistan in Transition” in London from November 2010 to April 2011. The results of the meetings were publically presented at the Konrad Adenauer Foundation in Berlin on 13 May 2011.

In his West Point speech from December 2009, US President Barack Obama announced a new strategy for Afghanistan. He emphasised his wish to begin a transformation process with the aim to eventually pass all power to the Afghan government. A precondition for this aim is the tangible success of President Karzai’s government as well as the international community within the fields of security, governance, state building, improvement of economical development and the thereby interconnected improvement of living conditions of Afghan citizens. However, positive developments in these areas are only achievable if the issue of corruption can be satisfactory tackled in the meantime.

The workshops served as an exchange of thoughts and ideas of 70 experts on how these goals can be achieved. The aim of the organisers was to draw useful conclusions for Afghan and international political, civil as well as military decision makers.

The report on this website summarises the findings of the conference in 28 policy recommendations. They are not based on a consensus of all 28 experts. Rather, the recommendations are the most important suggestions that ought to be implemented in order to successfully influence the transformation process in Afghanistan from the perspective of KAS, RUSI and TI UK. An important aspect for the organisers was a realistic implementation on the ground until 2015 in order to achieve tangible progress in the short- and medium-term.

Author

Claudia Crawford

Publication series

Event Reports

published

United Kingdom, May 13, 2011

Contact

Hans-Hartwig Blomeier

Head of the KAS office Great Britain

Hans-Hartwig Blomeier
Phone +44 20 783441-19
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Español

Afghanistan in Transition: Reshaping priorities for 2015 and beyond

Auch verfügbar in English

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) führte gemeinsam mit dem Royal United Services Institute (RUSI) und Transparency International UK (TI UK) in der Zeit von November 2010 bis April 2011 in London drei Workshops durch, um gemeinsam mit Experten notwendige Schritte in der für Afghanistan wichtigen Transformationsphase zu diskutieren. Die Ergebnisse wurden am 13. Mai 2011 auf einer gemeinsamen Veranstaltung in den Räumen der KAS der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt.

Präsident Obama kündigte in seiner West Point Rede im Dezember 2009 eine neue Strategie für Afghanistan an. Er machte deutlich, dass er mit einem Transformationsprozess beginnen möchte, an dessen Ende die Afghanen die Führerschaft des Landes in ihren eigenen Händen halten. Vorbedingung dafür aber ist, dass die Regierung des Präsidenten Karzai und die internationale Gemeinschaft Erfolge nachweisen können – nicht nur im Sicherheitsbereich, sondern auch in den Bereichen Regierungsführung und dem Aufbau staatlicher Strukturen, der Verbesserung der wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung und damit einhergehend der Verbesserung der Lebensbedingung für die Menschen in Afghanistan. Allerdings werden Erfolge nur dann möglich sein, wenn man ebenso dem Problem der wachsenden Korruption beikommt.

Die drei Workshops dienten dem Austausch mit über 70 Experten über die Frage, wie diese Ziele erreicht werden können. Anliegen der Organisatoren war es, im Ergebnis zu den Diskussionen konkrete Empfehlungen zusammenzufassen - sowohl für die afghanischen als auch die internationalen politischen, zivilen und militärischen Akteure.

Der auf dieser Web-Seite veröffentlichte Bericht fasst die Ergebnisse in 28 Empfehlungen zusammen. Sie stellen kein Konsenspapier aller anwesenden Experten dar. Sie sind die aus der Sicht der drei Organisatoren, KAS, RUSI und TI UK, wichtigsten Vorschläge, die Umsetzung finden sollten, um den Transformationsprozess in Afghanistan erfolgreich zu machen. Wichtig war den Organisatoren, dass die Vorschläge in der Zeit bis 2015 umsetzbar und somit kurz- und mittelfristig spürbare Fortschritte erreichbar sind.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Großbritannien, 13. Mai 2011

Kontakt

Felix Dane

Leiter des Auslandsbüros Großbritannien

Felix Dane
Tel. +44 20 7834 4119
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ Português,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Español