Germany and the EU after the Election

KAS & Scottish Centre on European Relations

Also available in Deutsch

On October 25th, the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation teamed up with the Scottish Centre on European Relations to host a public panel discussion on German and European politics.

Image 1 of 2
Glasgow 2

On 25th October, the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation teamed up with the Scottish Centre on European Relations to host a public panel discussion titled “Germany and the EU after the Election” at Glasgow University.

This public event followed an expert roundtable workshop with participants from the United Kingdom, Germany and other EU-Member States about the EU’s current challenges and possible solutions.

Dr Stephan Hesselmann, senior economic adviser to the CDU/CSU parliamentary group at the German Bundestag, pointed out that the AfD which is the first populist radical-right party that entered the Bundestag after more than 60 years now has to prove that it can hold a debate under democratic rules and procedures. The Parliament is the best place for politicians to come to grips with the Afd, Dr Hesselmann underlined.

Prof Willie Paterson, Honorary Professor for German and European Politics at Aston University, suggested furthermore that expectations outside Germany of a clear victory of Angela Merkel were overoptimistic. On the AfD he stated that cultural backlash should be taken into consideration when one wants to explain the rise of populism in Germany during the last years.

Individual EU member states approach the EU differently, Mr Gehrold, senior adviser on Brexit for the CDU/CSU parliamentary group, stressed, but cooperation in key areas such as defence and energy politics should be deepened. However, subsidiarity should always be considered when talking about the EU’s future.

Dr Kristy Hughes finally pointed out that the chances of a no-Brexit scenario are going up. Furthermore, she emphasised that the newly revived Franco-German relationship helps the European Union to regain its confidence. Dr Hughes stressed, however, that there still are democracy issues going on in Europe and that both the financial and migration crisis need to be solved.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

United Kingdom, October 25, 2017

Deutschland und die EU nach der Wahl

Auch verfügbar in English

Am 25. Oktober organisierte die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung zusammen mit dem Scottish Centre on European Relations eine öffentliche Debatte über deutsche und europäische Politik nach der Bundestagswahl.

Bild 1 von 2
Glasgow 2

Am 25. Oktober organisierte die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung zusammen mit dem Scottish Centre on European Relations eine öffentliche Paneldiskussion unter dem Titel "Deutschland und die EU nach der Wahl" an der Universität von Glasgow.

Der öffentlichen Debatte ging ein Workshop voran, an dem Experten aus dem Vereinten Königreich, Deutschland und anderen EU-Mitgliedsstaaten teilnahmen und der sich mit aktuellen Problemen der Europäischen Union und möglichen Lösungsansätzen beschäftigte.

Dr. Stephan Hesselmann, wirtschaftspolitischer Berater der CDU/CSU-Fraktion im deutschen Bundestag, hob hervor, dass die AfD, die erste rechtspopulistische Partei, die seit mehr als 60 Jahren ins Parlament einziehen konnte, jetzt zeigen müsse, dass sie politischen Debatten unter demokratischen Regeln bestehen könne. Der Bundestag sei der beste Ort für die anderen Parteien, die AfD politisch stellen zu können.

Prof. Willie Paterson, Professor für deutsche und europäische Politik an der Aston Universität, stellte darüber hinaus fest, dass die Erwartungen außerhalb Deutschlands an einen deutlichen Wahlsieg Angela Merkels zu optimistisch gewesen seien. Über die AfD sagte er, dass man vielmehr kulturelle Entwicklungen in Betracht ziehen müsse, um den Erfolg der Rechtspopulisten über die letzten Jahre hinweg in Deutschland erklären zu können.

Individuelle EU-Mitgliedsländer haben andere Auffassungen von dem, was die EU sein sollte, so Sebastian Gehrold, Brexit-Berater der CDU/CSU-Fraktion im Bundestag. Die Kooperation sei jedoch in bestimmten Kernthemen wie Verteidigung und Energiepolitik zu vertiefen, jedoch sollte man immer auch den Subsidiaritätsgedanken verfolgen, wenn man von der Zukunft der EU redet.

Dr. Kristy Hughes stellte schlussendlich fest, dass die Wahrscheinlichkeit eines Verbleibes Großbritanniens in der EU stiege. Sie wies darauf hin, dass die wiederbelebte Deutsch-Französische Beziehung der EU geholfen habe, an Selbstbewusstsein zurückzugewinnen. Trotz allem blieben jedoch noch einige Kriesen, wie beispielsweise die Migrations- und Finanzkrise zu lösen, so Dr. Hughes.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Großbritannien, 25. Oktober 2017