Global and Regional Challenges for the EU: German strategies after its election

Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation & Scottish Centre on European Relations

Also available in Deutsch

On 28th November, the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation co-hosted a public panel discussion on the future of Germany and the European Union.

On 28th November, the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation teamed up with the Scottish Centre on European Relations and the Edinbrugh University’s Europainstitute to host a public panel discussion titled “Germany and the EU27 – where next?” at the University of Edinburgh. The public event followed an expert roundtable workshop with participants from the United Kingdom and Germany about the EU’s global and neighborhood challenges and Scottish and German cooperation after Brexit.

Quentin Peel, associate fellow with the Europe Programme at Chatham House and former Financial Times correspondent in Brussels, Moscow, Berlin, and Southern Africa, pointed out that 2016 was an annus horribilis for Germany because both pillars of German foreign politics have since been under pressure: Brexit is still questioning the European integration project and the election of U.S. president Donald J. Trump is challenging transatlantic cooperation. He suggested that German Chancellor Angela Merkel faces crucial challenges within Europe but might have been significantly weakened by the recent collapse of the coalition talks.

The United Kingdom should better not rely on Germany to sort all things out, Stefanie Bolzen who is the UK correspondent for the German daily Die Welt, reminded. Germany’s role in the Brexit negotiations is notably overestimated since it is the European Commission to negotiate the United Kingdom’s exit from the EU. The remaining EU27 have made clear that they are united and fully support Michel Barnier in his negotiations.

Dr Philipp Murmann, federal treasurer and board member of Angela Merkel’s CDU, underlined that Germany’s politics on Europe have always been carried by a substantial parliamentary majority across political parties. It is therefore unlikely that Germany’s EU approach is about to change with regard to the upcoming coalition talks, Dr Murmann reflected.

The European Union has a lot to do to adapt to the future but you should not write it off, Elmar Brok who is the longest serving Member of the European Parliament and Brexit expert in the EPP made clear. The European Union is a success considering economic growth and democratic stability. However, Mr Brok also pointed out that the strongest soft power is weak if it doesn’t have the strongest hard power as well. The EU must stick together in order to avoid being the forgotten region in twenty years’ time, he concluded.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

United Kingdom, December 11, 2017

Globale und regionale Herausforderungen für Deutschland und die Europäische Union

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung & Scottish Centre on European Relations

Auch verfügbar in English

Am 28. November organisierte die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung zusammen mit dem Scottish Centre on European Relations eine öffentliche Diskussionsrunde zur Zukunft Deutschlands und der Europäischen Union.

Am 28. November organisierte die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung zusammen mit dem Scottish Centre on European Relations und dem Europainstitut eine öffentliche Paneldiskussion unter dem Titel "Deutschland und die EU27 - wohin geht's?". Dem öffentlicher Teil gingen zwei Workshops zuvor, die sich mit globalen und regionalen Herausvorderungen Europas beschäftigten.

Quentin Peel, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Europe Programme von Chatham House und ehemaliger Financial Times Korrespondent in Brüssel, Moskau, Berlin und Südafrika stellte fest, dass 2016 ein schreckliches Jahr für Deutschland gewesen sei, denn beide Säulen deutscher Außenpolitik seien in Frage gestellt worden: Brexit untergräbt das Projekt der europäischen Integration und die Wahl des US-Präsidenten Donald J. Trump stellt die transatlantischen Beziehungen auf eine harte Probe. Herr Peel erläuterte, dass Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel ernste Herausforderungen in Europa gegenüberstehen und sie durch den kürzlichen Zusammenbruch der Koalitionsverhandlungen geschwächt worden sei.

Das Vereinigte Königreich sollte sich besser nicht allzu sehr auf Deutschland verlassen, um Brexit zu einem Erfolg werden zu machen, so Stefanie Bolzen, Großbritannien-Korrespondentin der Tageszeitung Die Welt. Deutschalands Rolle in den Brexit-Verhandlungen sei deutlich überschätzt, da nicht die Bundesregierung, sondern die Europäische Kommission stellvertretend für die EU27 verhandelt. Die Bundesregierung habe mehrfach klargestellt, dass sie den Chefunterhändlicher der EU-Kommission, Michel Barnier, vollkommen unterstützt.

Dr. Philipp Murmann, Schatzmeister und Vorstandsmitglied der CDU, unterstrich, dass deutsche Europapolitik seit jeher von großen überparteilichen Mehrheiten getragen worden sei. Deshalb sei es unwahrscheinlich, dass Deutschland seine Europapolitik signifikant änderte im Hinblick auf die bevorstehenden Koalitionsverhandlungen.

Die Europäische Union sollte einiges verbessern, jedoch solle man sich davor hüten, sie bereits abzuschreiben, so Elmar Brok, längst amtierendes Mitglied des Europäischen Parlaments und Brexit-Experte der EVP-Fraktion. Die EU sei hinsichtlich wirtschaftlicher Entwicklungen und demokratischer Stabilität ein voller Erfolg. Herr Brok stellte jedoch auch fest, dass die stärkste Soft Power ohne vergleichbare militärische Stärke schwach sei. Hier müsse die EU deutliche Fortschritte leisten, um in Zukunft nicht vergessen worden zu sein.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Großbritannien, 11. Dezember 2017