Changing Security Paradigm in West Asia

Regional and International Responses

September 5 Wednesday

Event fully booked

Date/time

September 5 - 6, 2018

Loc.

IDSA, New Delhi

Type

Congress

On September 5th and 6th, 2018, the Institute for Defence Studies and Analyses with the support of the India Office of KAS is organizing a conference on "Changing Security Paradigm in West Asia: Regional and International Responses” in New Delhi.

Also available in Deutsch

The states of West Asia and North Africa (WANA) continue to grapple with dramatic changes taking place in the domestic and regional environment. Security has emerged as a significant concern. The political upheavals, civil strife, sectarian violence and terrorism in the area have implications for the regional and global order. As the region grapples with myriad socio-economic problems, many extra-regional players and non-state actors, and a few regional ones, are attempting to carve out their own areas of influence. These developments require careful analyses to pave the way for a lasting regional and global security order.

The conference will address the following questions:

  1. What are the emergent security dynamics in the West Asia & North Africa region and what are their regional and global implications?
  2. What are the challenges emerging from major security threats, namely Islamist terrorism and its future, and the raging civil wars and conflicts and their possible resolution?
  3. What has been the role of militaries in regime security and how does this impact the regional and international responses? How have regional and international players and organisations responded to the changing regional security dynamics?
  4. What are India’s stakes, what has been its response, and what are the lessons to be learnt in formulating its policy towards the region?
KAS 50 years Logo

Contact person

Peter Rimmele

Resident Representative India

Peter Rimmele
Phone +91 11 26113520
Fax +91 11 45506836
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Bahasa Indonesia

Partners

Institute for Defence Studies and Analyses (IDSA)

Sicherheitsparadigmen im Nahen Osten im Wandel

Regionale und internationale Antworten

September 5 Mittwoch

Veranstaltung ausgebucht

Datum/Uhrzeit

5. – 6. September 2018

Ort

IDSA, Neu-Delhi

Typ

Fachkonferenz

Am 5 und 6 September 2018 veranstaltet das Institute for Defence Studies and Analyses und das Auslandsbüro Indien der KAS eine Konferenz zum Thema „Sicherheitsparadigmen im Nahen Osten im Wandel: Regionale und internationale Antworten“ in Neu-Delhi.

Auch verfügbar in English

Die Staaten des Nahen Ostens und Nordafrikas kämpfen weiterhin mit dramatischen Veränderungen im eigenen und weiteren regionalen Umfeld. Sicherheit ist zu einem Hauptanliegen der Staaten geworden. Die politischen Umwälzungen, Bürgerkriege, sektiererische Gewalt und der Terrorismus in der Region haben Auswirkungen auf die regionale und globale Ordnung. Während sich die Region mit unzähligen sozioökonomischen Problemen auseinandersetzt, versuchen viele außerregionale Akteure und nichtstaatliche Akteure sowie einige regionale Akteure, ihre eigenen Einflussbereiche auszudehnen. Diese Entwicklungen bedürfen einer sorgfältigen Analyse, um den Weg für eine dauerhafte regionale und globale Sicherheitsordnung zu ebnen.

Die Konferenz wird sich folgenden Fragen widmen:

  1. Was sind die Sicherheitsdynamiken in der Region Naher Osten und Nordafrika und welche regionalen und globalen Auswirkungen haben diese?
  2. Was sind die Herausforderungen, die sich aus den großen Sicherheitsbedrohungen, dem islamistischen Terror und seiner Zukunft sowie den Bürgerkriegen und möglichen zukünftigen Konfliktlösungen, ergeben?
  3. Welche Rolle spielt das Militär und wie wirkt sich dies auf die regionalen und internationalen Reaktionen aus? Wie haben regionale und internationale Akteure und Organisationen auf die sich verändernde regionale Sicherheitsdynamik reagiert?
  4. Was sind die Interessen Indiens? Welche Antworten und Lehren kann es für die Formulierung seiner Politik gegenüber der Region ziehen?
KAS 50 years Logo

Ansprechpartner

Peter Rimmele

Leiter des Auslandsbüros Indien

Peter Rimmele
Tel. +91 11 26113520
Fax +91 11 45506836
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Bahasa Indonesia

Partner

Institute for Defence Studies and Analyses (IDSA)