Attitudes, Anxieties and Aspirations of India´s Youth: Changing Patterns

Presentation of the 3rd Youth Study by CSDS and KAS India

Also available in Deutsch

On April 3rd, 2017, the Centre for the Study of Developing Societies (CSDS) and the Liaison Office India of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung released the third Youth Study in New Delhi. The presentation was attended by over 120 guests from politics, civil society, and media. This CSDS-KAS report presents the findings of a sample survey-based study on India’s young population (15-34-year-olds) conducted in April and May, 2016 and follows up on the previous Youth Studies from 2007 and 2013.

Image 1 of 8
The presentation of the 3rd CSDS-KAS Youth Study.

On April 3rd, 2017, CSDS and KAS India presented their latest Youth Study, following up on earlier studies from 2007 and 2013.

The presentation of the study was opened by Professor Sanjay Kumar, Director of CSDS and Principal Investigator of the study, who gave welcoming remarks and thanked the teams of CSDS and KAS in conducting the study in 19 Indian states. Pankaj Madan, Teamleader Program Coordination at KAS India, outlined the history of cooperation between KAS and CSDS. He illustrated the different demographic developments of India and many other parts of the world and how crucial understanding India´s youth was in order to turn this development into a demographic dividend. Remembering the late Resident Representative to India, he dedicated the study to the memory of Dr Lars Peter Schmidt.

The Welcoming remarks were followed by an overview of the study by Shreyas Sardesai, CSDS. He outlined the priorities of the project and its key findings. After the official release of the study, three leading experts of issues related to Indian youth were invited to discuss the findings. Looking at the discrepancy between modern style consciousness and conservative values among large parts of the Indian youth, Neha Buch, CEO of Pravah, raised the question, as to how far the thinking process of the youth is self-driven or driven by outside pressures. She argued that it is a major challenge for the educational system to prepare the youth for the changes society is facing today and is going to face in the future.

Surinder Jodhka, Professor at the Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU), pointed out that compared to many western countries, there is a lack of data on Indian society. This is why, in his view, the Youth Study was an important contribution and "should go on forever." He pointed out that many of the findings suggest that the Indian youth is very conservative but when looking at the numbers, on the opposite side, the numbers were already a sign of progressive change. This, according to him, showed that looking at Indian society solely through the lens of "development" is not reflecting the situation comprehensively. Neha Dixit, Independent Journalist, discussed the interaction between modern aspects of society such as mass media and online shopping with traditional values. She pointed out that it was sometimes "the market" that was repackaging traditional values and making them attractive to the youth.

The study can be requested for as a hard-copy by E-Mail

Authors

Pankaj Madan, Mark Alexander Friedrich

Publication series

Event Reports

published

India, April 4, 2017

Contact

Dr. Thomas Kunze

Regional Representative for Central Asia

Dr. Thomas Kunze
Phone +998 71 215 52 01
Fax +998 71 255 30 94
Languages: Deutsch,‎ русский,‎ Romana,‎ English

Einstellungen, Sorgen und Ambitionen von Indiens Jugend: Sich verändernde Muster

Vorstellung der 3. CSDS-KAS Jugendstudie

Auch verfügbar in English

Am 3. April 2017 stellten das Centre for the Study of Developing Societies (CSDS) und das Auslandsbüro Indien der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung die dritte Auflage der gemeinsamen Jugendstudie vor. Über 120 Gäste aus Politik, Zivilgesellschaft und Medien waren während der Vorstellung anwesend. Der CSDS-KAS-Report präsentiert die Ergebnisse einer im April und May 2016 durchgeführten repräsentativen Umfrage unter jungen Indern (15-34 Jahre) und baut auf 2007 und 2013 veröffentlichten Studien auf.

Bild 1 von 8
Die Vorstellung der dritten CSDS-KAS Jugendstudie.

Am 3. April stellten CSDS und KAS die dritte Auflage der gemeinsamen, zuvor 2007 und 2013 veröffentlichten, Jugendstudie vor.

Eröffnet wurde die Vorstellung durch Grußworte von Professor Sanjay Kumar, Direktor des CSDS und Studienleiter, der den Teams von CSDS und KAS für die Arbeit an der Studie in 19 indischen Bundesstaaten dankte. Pankaj Madan, Programmkoordinator der KAS Indien, betonte die lange Geschichte der Zusammenarbeit von KAS und CSDS. Er veranschaulichte die unterschiedlichen demographischen Entwicklungen in Indien und weiten Teilen der Welt und wie wichtig ein Verständnis der eigenen Jugend sei, um diese Entwicklung in eine demographische Dividende für Indien zu verwandeln. In Erinnerung an den zu Jahresbeginn verstorbenen Leiter des Auslandsbüros Indien, widmete er die Jugendstudie Dr. Lars Peter Schmidt.

Im Anschluss an die Grußworte gab Shreyas Sardesai, CSDS, einen Überblick der Studie. Dabei zeigte er deren Prioritäten und wichtigste Erkenntnisse auf. Im Anschluss an die offizielle Veröffentlichung der Studie waren drei führende Experten für Angelegenheiten der indischen Jugend aufgefordert, die Studienergebnisse zu diskutiert. Mit Blick auf die Diskrepanz zwischen modernem Stilbewusstsein und konservativen Werten großer Teile der indischen Jugend stellte Neha Buch, CEO von Pravah, die Frage, inwiefern der Denkprozess der Jugend selbstgesteuert oder durch externem Druck geprägt sei. Sie argumentierte, dass es eine der wichtigsten Aufgaben für das indische Bildungssystem sei, die Jugend auf jene Veränderungen vorzubereiten, denen sich die Gesellschaft bereits jetzt ausgesetzt sieht und auch in Zukunft ausgesetzt sehen wird.

Surinder Jodhka, Professor an der Jawaharlal Nehru Universität (JNU), merkte an, dass die wissenschaftliche Datenlage zur indischen Gesellschaft, gemessen am Westen, schwach sei. Aus diesem Grund sei die Jugendstudie ein bedeutender Beitrag, welcher am besten "für Immer fortgesetzt werden" solle. Er wies darauf hin, dass die Studie an vielen Punkten zu zeigen scheine, dass die indische Jugend zutiefst konservativ sei, bei näherer Betrachtung der Zahlen aber eine Vielzahl an gesellschaftlichen Veränderungen beobachtbar seien. Aus seiner Sicht sei dies ein Beleg dafür, dass eine Betrachtung der indischen Gesellschaft alleine auf Grundlage eines linearen Narrativs des Fortschritts der Situation nicht ausreichend gerecht werde. Die Journalistin Neha Dixit diskutierte den Zusammenhang zwischen modernen Gesellschaftsphänomenen wie Massenmedien und Online-Shopping mit traditionellen Werten. Sie verwies darauf, dass es of "der Markt" sei, der traditionelle Werte neu verpacke und damit attraktiv für die Jugend mache.

Die Studie kann per E-Mail in Buchform angefragt werden.

Autoren

Pankaj Madan, Mark Alexander Friedrich

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Indien, 4. April 2017

Kontakt

Dr. Thomas Kunze

Regionalbeauftragter der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung für Zentralasien

Dr. Thomas Kunze
Tel. +998 71 215 52 01
Fax +998 71 255 30 94
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ русский,‎ Romana,‎ English