Industry 4.0 and new impetus for the Indo-German partnership

Second Indo-German Economic Dialogue at the Indian Embassy in Berlin

Also available in Deutsch

On 28th June 2017, 2nd Indo-German economic dialogue took place at the Indian Embassy in Berlin. It was jointly organized by the office of the German Member of Parliament, Mr. Mark Hauptmann, Indian Embassy and the Konrad Adenauer Foundation.

Image 1 of 8
2nd Indo-German economic dialogue

Lakshmi Lalita Mohan, Head & Representative Germany, Confederation of Indian Industry (CII)

The event brought together the German and Indian representatives from the fields of politics, business and civil society and facilitated the exchange of opportunities for closer Indo-German cooperation in various economic sectors. With Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi (BJP) took office in 2014, the Indo-German relationship has improved, said Abhishek Singh, BJP Member of the Indian Parliament. During the fourth Indo-German governmental consultations in May 2017 in Berlin, Chancellor Angela Merkel and Prime Minister Modi agreed on a multi-billion budget allocation for development projects. The investments include in sectors such as sustainable urban development, renewable energies, digital technologies, infrastructure projects and educational opportunities in the Indian labour market. "In the meantime one can register his business in India within a day," said Mr. Singh. The administrative process which used to last for much longer few years ago. Reforms have been launched not only in the administrative sector, but also in taxes. From 1st July 2017, the introduction of VAT on goods and services ("Goods and Services Tax" / GST) is intended to remove the trade barriers. Singh and German company representatives have placed a great hope on the new tax reform, which has been one of the largest tax projects in India since independence 70 years ago. "India offers a growing market with democratic values," stressed Mr. Singh.

1st Indo-German economic dialogue 2016

Volker Kauder, chairman of the CDU / CSU Parliamentary Group, sees a great potential in India, which has long been ceased on the basis of a developing nation. "India has become a political player," said Kauder, advocating a strategic Indo-German partnership that will benefit both sides. Especially in the area of ​​digitalization and software, Germany is targeting India in the IT city of Bangalore which is an outstanding example of the excellent potential of India. Moreover, in the area of ​​infrastructure development, especially in the modernization and expansion of the Indian rail network, Germany would like to work more closely with the subcontinent. He praised the willingness of both countries to push forward free trade and to deal with the future issues. This is more important in times when free trade and globalization being discussed. Kauder hopes that, despite all the difficulties, people will understand globalization as an opportunity to share economic success with the world. "But since the last presidential election in the United States, we have seen different opinions," said Kauder. He acknowledged that compliance with climate change was a challenge for economies but stressed that climate change and economic development are not mutually excluded.

Above all, the governmental consultations in May had shown that the close economic relations were much promising, said Mark Hauptmann, Member of the German Parliament and Member of the Committee on Economic Affairs and Energy, who welcomed the participants of the conference. "With a strong and productive exchange of both countries there can be more prosperity," said Hauptmann.

Also the Indian Ambassador Ms. Mukta Dutta Tomar valued the newly animated relationship of both countries as a strategic partnership. "But now it’s must to act," she said. India is promoted as a reliable trading partner based on the rule of law and democracy. The already existing preconditions of the country are democracy, demand, demography and political will. Rabea Brauer, Head of the Asian and Pacific Team at the Konrad Adenauer Foundation, also spoke out to take advantage of the technology and dynamism of the young generation.

In the following discussion with representatives of the leading business enterprises such as SAP and Mercedes-Benz, it was also clear that the factor of data security is important and safety agreements need to be decided. If industry 4.0 is discussed, it is not only about robot technology, but also about complex data technology. The speakers agreed that the population would have to be taken along during the rapid development. The fears of new things could be undertaken by investing in education and training.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Berlin, June 28, 2017

"Industrie 4.0 und neue Impulse für die deutsch-indische Partnerschaft"

2. Deutsch-Indischer Wirtschaftsdialog in der Indischen Botschaft Berlin

Auch verfügbar in English

Am 28. Juni fand der 2. Deutsch-Indische Wirtschaftsdialog in der Indischen Botschaft Berlin statt. Organisiert wurde dieser gemeinsam vom Büro des Abgeordneten Mark Hauptmann, der Indischen Botschaft und der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung.

Bild 1 von 8
Abhishek Singh, Mitglied des indischen Parlaments

Abhishek Singh, Mitglied des indischen Parlaments, erläuterte Sektoren, die großen Chancen bieten: smar City, erneuerbare Energien oder Eisenbahnprojekte.

Die Veranstaltung brachte deutsche und indische Vertreter aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft zusammen und ermöglichte einen Austausch über Möglichkeiten der engeren deutsch-indischen Zusammenarbeit in verschiedensten Wirtschaftsbereichen.

Mit dem Amtsantritt des indischen Premierministers Narendra Modi (BJP) im Jahr 2014 haben die deutsch-indische Beziehung einen Aufwind erhalten, erklärte Abhishek Singh, BJP-Abgeordneter des indischen Parlaments. Bei den vierten deutsch-indischen Regierungskonsultation im Mai 2017 vereinbarten Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel und Premierminister Modi einen milliardenschweren Entwicklungsetat. Die Investitionen betreffen unter anderem nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung, erneuerbare Energien, digitale Technologien, Infrastrukturprojekte und Bildungschancen auf dem indischen Arbeitsmarkt. „Mittlerweile kann man an nur einem Tag sein Gewerbe anmelden“, sagte Singh. Ein Behördenvorgang, der vor einigen Jahren noch wesentlich länger dauerte. Nicht nur im Verwaltungswesen seien Reformen angestoßen worden, sondern auch bei den Steuerabgaben. Ab 1. Juli sollen mit der landesweiten Einführung der Mehrwertsteuer auf Waren und Dienstleistungen(„Goods and Services Tax“ /GST) Handelshemmnisse abgebaut werden. Singh und deutsche Unternehmensvertreter setzen große Hoffnungen in die neue Steuerreform, die seit der Unabhängigkeit vor 70 Jahren eines der größten Steuerprojekte in Indien ist. „Indien bietet einen wachsenden Markt mit demokratischen Werten“, betonte Singh.

Impressionen des 1. Deutsch-Indischen Wirtschaftsdialog 2016

Volker Kauder, Vorsitzender der CDU/CSU-Bundestagsfraktion, sieht in Indien ein großes Potential, das sich längst nicht mehr auf der Basis eines Entwicklungslandes bewege. „Indien ist ein politischer Akteur geworden“, sagte Kauder und sprach sich für eine strategische deutsch-indische Partnerschaft aus, von der beide Seiten profitieren. Besonders im Bereich Digitalisierung und Software setze Deutschland auf Indien Die IT-Metropole Bangalore sei ein herausragendes Beispiel für das exzellente Potential Indiens. Zudem wolle Deutschland im Bereich der Infrastrukturentwicklung – besonders bei der Modernisierung und Erweiterung des indischen Eisenbahnnetzes – enger mit dem Subkontinent zusammenarbeiten. Er lobte die Bereitschaft beider Länder den freien Handel voranzutreiben und Zukunftsthemen anzupacken. Dies sei in Zeiten, in denen Freihandel und Globalisierung in Frage gestellt würden, umso wichtiger. Kauder hoffe, dass trotz aller Schwierigkeiten die Menschen die Globalisierung als Chance und Möglichkeit begreifen würden, um den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg mit der Welt zu teilen. „Aber wir erleben seit der letzten Präsidentenwahl in den Vereinigten Staaten, dass es auch andere Auffassungen gibt“, sagte Kauder. Er räumte ein, dass die Einhaltung des Klimaschutzes für die Volkswirtschaften eine Herausforderung darstelle, betonte aber, dass Klimaschutzmaßnahmen und wirtschaftliche Entwicklung sich nicht ausschließen.

Vor allem die Regierungskonsultationen im Mai hätten gezeigt, dass die engen wirtschaftlichen Beziehungen vielversprechend seien, so Mark Hauptmann, MdB und Mitglied im Ausschuss für Wirtschaft und Energie, der als Gastgeber die Teilnehmer der Konferenz begrüßte. „Mit einem starken und produktiven Austausch beider Länder kann es mehr Wohlstand geben“, sagte Hauptmann.

Auch die indische Botschafterin Mukta Dutta Tomar wertete die neu belebte Beziehung beider Länder als eine strategische Partnerschaft. „Aber jetzt muss gehandelt werden“, forderte sie. Sie warb für Indien als verlässlichen Handelspartner, der auf Rechtstaatlichkeit und Demokratie basiere. Die bereits bestehenden Voraussetzungen ihres Landes seien Demokratie, Nachfrage, Demografie und der politische Wille. Rabea Brauer, Leiterin des Teams Asien und Pazifik der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, sprach sich ebenfalls dafür aus, die Technologie und die Dynamik der jungen Generation jetzt zu nutzen.

In der anschließenden Diskussionsrunde mit Vertretern führender Wirtschaftsunternehmen wie SAP und Mercedes-Benz wurde zudem deutlich, dass der Faktor Datensicherheit wichtig ist und Sicherheitsabkommen beschlossen werden müssten. Wenn über Industrie 4.0 gesprochen werde, gehe es nicht nur um Robotertechnologie, sondern auch um komplexe Datentechnologie. Die Referenten waren sich einig, dass bei der rasanten Entwicklung die Bevölkerung mitgenommen werden müsse. Die Ängste vor Neuem könnten durch Investitionen in Bildung und Fortbildung genommen werden.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Berlin, 28. Juni 2017