Indo-Pacific Security and India

In an era of uncertainty and change

Also available in Deutsch

The KAS India office, the Forum for Strategic Initiatives (FSI) and the Centre for Land Warfare Studies (CLAWS) organized a seminar on Indo-Pacific Security and the linked policy options of India in an era of uncertainty and change in New Delhi on December 11th/12th 2017. Participants of the conference, which was conducted under the Chatham House Rule, were among others Peter Rimmele, Resident Representative of the KAS in India, as well as the German ambassador to India, Dr. Martin Ney.

From left: The German Ambassador to India Dr. Martin Ney, Peter Rimmele, Resident Representative of KAS in Indian and Pankaj Madan, Head Programmes, KAS India

From left: The German Ambassador to India, Dr. Martin Ney, Peter Rimmele, Resident Representative of KAS in India, and Pankaj Madan, Head Programmes, KAS India

The world is currently undergoing major geopolitical shifts that will significantly change the current world order, and the Indo-Pacific region is at the center of this dynamic. Not only is the region the focus of global economic development, it is also a potential source of conflict. An assertive China, a rising India, and a gradual decline in US engagement will lead to a shift of power in the region if it has not already. As one of the leading global powers, India today is not only at the geographical center of these dynamics, but as an emerging global actor, it is also responsible for providing security in the Indo-Pacific region and beyond to ensure peace and stability. For this reason, the two-day seminar addressed current and future trends in the region to highlight India's policy options during this transitional period.

Concrete challenges in the region are currently North Korea's nuclear missile program, piracy, the territorial dispute in the South China Sea; an increasing arms race in the region, illegal and unregulated fishing, China's “Belt and Road Initiative” whose geopolitical and economic consequences are not yet foreseeable, and climate change; which will result in drastic ecological and social consequences.

With regard to the strategic and security challenges in the Indo-Pacific region, it became clear that the United States would not withdraw from the region as some expected. For example, they reaffirmed their alliance obligations to their strategic partners and called for a free and open Indo-Pacific. However, the termination of negotiations on the free trade agreement Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) shows that economic and security policy are not in sync with each other. From the perspective of the European Union, the Indo-Pacific region is becoming increasingly important. The EU is at present involved in anti-piracy measures in the eastern Indian Ocean. In the EU, and especially in Germany, there is a growing awareness that Asia is more than just China, and with regard to China's Belt and Road Initiative, concerns in Europe are growing. While Germany prefers cooperation in multilateral forums, France is expanding its naval capacities and strengthening its cooperation with other powers in the indo-pacific region in a more security-oriented manner.

India's national interest in the Indo-Pacific is that it can use the region to pursue its own interests and that no other power uses the Indo-Pacific to India's disadvantage. Above all, it is important for India to maintain the sea lines of communication. India should therefore continue to expand its involvement in multilateral fora, otherwise India has to act alone especially in the Indian Ocean. In addition, the cooperation within the so-called "Quad", the cooperation in the maritime security policy area between India, the United States, Australia and Japan, has to be expanded. This could be a cornerstone in creating a security architecture in the region. Accordingly, India should also strive for developing this association further so that other states such as South Korea, Vietnam, the Philippines and Indonesia become part of this security framework. In addition, India must also pursue the strengthening of its own capabilities, which would be very costly. Politically, India should, under no circumstances, pursue a policy of appeasement towards China because this is not promising due to China's hegemonic and dominant efforts. However, China must be included in multilateral forums, as a sustainable security architecture cannot be created without China in the Indo-Pacific. In view of the economic interdependencies, it became clear how strongly China and the USA as well as India and the USA depend on each other.

Author

Philipp Huchel

Publication series

Event Reports

published

India, December 13, 2017

Contact

Peter Rimmele

Resident Representative India

Peter Rimmele
Phone +91 11 26113520
Fax +91 11 45506836
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Bahasa Indonesia

Indo-pazifische Sicherheit und Indien

In einer Ära von Unsicherheit und Wandel

Auch verfügbar in English

Das KAS Auslandsbüro Indien, das Forum for Strategic Initiatives (FSI) und das Centre for Land Warfare Studies (CLAWS) veranstalteten am 11. und 12. Dezember 2017 in Neu-Delhi ein Seminar zum Thema indopazifische Sicherheit und den damit verbundenen politischen Optionen Indiens. An der unter Chatham House Rule stattfindenden Konferenz nahmen neben Peter Rimmele, Leiter des Auslandsbüros Indien, auch der Botschafter Deutschlands in Indien, Dr. Martin Ney, teil.

(von links) Der deutsche Botschafter in Indien, Dr. Martin Ney, Peter Rimmele, Leiter des Auslandsbüros der KAS in Indien, und Pankaj Madan, Programmkoordinator KAS Indien

(von links) Der deutsche Botschafter in Indien, Dr. Martin Ney, Peter Rimmele, Leiter des Auslandsbüros der KAS in Indien, und Pankaj Madan, Programmkoordinator, KAS Indien

Die Welt durchläuft derzeit große geopolitische Veränderungen, die die derzeit bestehende Weltordnung deutlich umgestalten werden und die indopazifische Region steht dabei im Zentrum dieser Dynamik. Die Region ist dabei nicht nur der Schwerpunkt globaler wirtschaftlicher Entwicklungen, sondern stellt auch einen potenziellen Krisenherd dar. Ein herausfordernderes Auftreten Chinas, ein im Aufstieg befindliches Indien und ein allmählicher Rückgang des Engagements der USA werden in der Region eine veränderte Machtkonstellation zur Folge haben. Als eine der führenden globalen Mächte steht Indien heute nicht nur im geografischen Zentrum dieser Dynamiken, sondern trägt als aufstrebender globaler Akteur auch dafür Verantwortung, Sicherheit im Indopazifik und darüber hinaus anzubieten, um Frieden und Stabilität zu gewährleisten. Aus diesem Grund widmete sich das zweitägige Seminar aktuellen und zukünftigen Trends in der Region, um die politischen Optionen Indiens in dieser Übergangsphase herauszuarbeiten.

Konkrete Herausforderungen in der Region sind derzeit Nordkoreas Atomraketenprogramm, Piraterie, die Territorialstreitigkeiten im Südchinesischen Meer; ein zunehmendes Wettrüsten, illegale und nicht regulierte Fischerei, Chinas „Belt and Road Initiative“, dessen geopolitische und wirtschaftliche Konsequenzen noch nicht abzusehen sind, sowie der Klimawandel; welcher drastische ökologische und soziale Konsequenzen nach sich ziehen wird.

Mit Blick auf die strategischen und sicherheitspolitischen Herausforderungen im indopazifischen Raum wurde deutlich, dass die USA sich keineswegs wie angenommen aus der Region zurückziehen würden. So haben diese ihre Bündnisverpflichtungen gegenüber ihren Allianzpartnern bekräftigt und sich für einen freien und offenen Indopazifik ausgesprochen. Den Abbruch der Verhandlungen über das Freihandelsabkommen Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) zeigt jedoch, dass die Wirtschafts- und Sicherheitspolitik keineswegs miteinander synchron sind. Aus Perspektive der Europäischen Union wird der indopazifische Raum immer wichtiger. Die EU engagiert sich vor allem in Rahmen von Anti-Piraterie-Maßnahmen im östlichen Indischen Ozean. In der EU und vor allem in Deutschland würde die Erkenntnis reifen, dass Asien mehr als nur China ist und in Bezug auf die „Belt and Road Initiative“ Chinas würde die Bedenken in Europa wachsen. Deutschland setzt in seinem Engagement vor allem auf multilaterale Foren, während Frankreich zum einen seine Marinekapazitäten ausbaut, zum anderen stärker sicherheitspolitisch mit anderen Mächten im indopazifischen raum kooperiert.

Indiens nationales Interesse im indopazifischen Raum ist es, dass es die Region zur Verfolgung eigener Interesse nutzen kann und keine andere Macht den Indopazifik zu Indiens Nachteil nutzt. Vor allem sei es für Indien von Bedeutung, die maritimen Versorgungslinien aufrechtzuerhalten. Indien sollte daher sein Engagement in multilateralen Foren weiter ausbauen, da es sonst vor allem im Indischen Ozean weitgehend auf sich allein gestellt ist. Zusätzlich sollte die Kooperation innerhalb des sogenannten „Quad“, einer Kooperation im maritimen, sicherheitspolitischen Bereich zwischen Indien, den USA, Australien und Japan, ausgebaut werden. Diese soll eine Kernrolle bei der Schaffung einer Sicherheitsarchitektur in der Region spielen. Um den Ausbau dieses Zusammenschlusses sollte sich demnach auch Indien bemühen, damit weitere Staaten wie Südkorea, Vietnam, die Philippinen und Indonesien Teil dieser Sicherheitsarchitektur werden. Zusätzlich muss Indien auch die Stärkung der eigenen Fähigkeiten vorantreiben, was jedoch sehr kostenintensiv ist. Politisch sollte Indien gegenüber China keinesfalls eine Beschwichtigungspolitik betreiben, da diese aufgrund der hegemonialen Bestrebungen nicht erfolgversprechend ist. Dennoch muss China vor allem in multilaterale Foren miteinbezogen werden, da eine nachhaltige Sicherheitsarchitektur nicht ohne China geschaffen werden kann. Mit Blick auf die wirtschaftlichen Verflechtungen wurde deutlich, wie stark China und die USA, aber auch Indien und die USA aufeinander angewiesen sind.

Autor

Philipp Huchel

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Indien, 13. Dezember 2017

Kontakt

Peter Rimmele

Leiter des Auslandsbüros Indien

Peter Rimmele
Tel. +91 11 26113520
Fax +91 11 45506836
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Bahasa Indonesia