Professional Ethics for Judges - Seminar and exchange for Indonesian judges

Professional Ethics for Judges - Seminar and exchange against corruption

Also available in Deutsch, Bahasa Indonesia

Indonesia as the oldest democracy and the biggest Muslim country of the world faces great challenges in stabilization and consolidation of the democratic state. In the official “Corruption Perceptions Index 2016” Indonesia ranks at place 90 out of 176 counties and improved in comparison to 2014 where the island state reached place 107 in the overall ranking. The Konrad Adenauer Stiftung is supporting the path of democratic transition and development of the Indonesian democracy.

Image 1 of 2
Judges from all the districts of Bali came to the provincial capital for the workshop

Corruption within the judgeship has tremendous adverse consequences since judges are the incarnation of the constitutional state and one of the most important parts in a functioning democracy. In their position, judges should satisfy high ethical and moral requirements in order to trustworthy dispense justice. The expectations towards the judges of a democratic Indonesia are high and are not always met.

The KAS in cooperation with the Jimly School of Law and Government is hosting the seminar for judges in Indonesia since 2014. Hereby a platform for exchange is created. Problems of the everyday working life can be discussed by colleagues and experts in a safe environment. From the 15th to the 17th of March the seminar took place in Denpasar and 20 judges had the chance to discuss about legal requirements, expectations and barriers of ethically right behavior. The seminar raises awareness about the problem of negative effects of corruption and plays an important role in the progress of Indonesian democracy.

Supported is the project by Jimly Asshiddiqie who is the former and first president of the constitutional court. Due to his experience as the most prestigious constitutional judge he could provide professional competence and assistance for the participants and their discussions. More support for the project came from the chairman of the judicial commission, Aidul Fitriciada Azhari. He used his experience to enrich the discussions with content and professional advice.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Indonesia, March 20, 2017

Richterliche Berufsethik- Seminar und Austausch für indonesische Richter

Richterliche Berufsethik- Seminar und Austausch gegen Korruption

Auch verfügbar in English, Bahasa Indonesia

Als älteste Demokratie Asiens und als größtes muslimisches Land der Welt ist Indonesien auch weiterhin mit großen Herausforderungen bei der Stabilisierung und Konsolidierung seiner Demokratie konfrontiert. Im offiziellen Korruptionswahrnehmungsindex 2016 steht Indonesien auf Platz 90 von 176 Ländern und verbesserte sich damit im Vergleich zum Korruptionswahrnehmungsindex 2014, wo der Inselstaat auf Platz 107 der Gesamtwertung landete. Die KAS unterstützt den Weg der demokratischen Transition und des Fortschritts der indonesischen Demokratie.

Bild 1 von 2
Richter aus allen Distrikten Balis waren zum Workshop in die Provinzhauptstadt gekommen.

Korruption im Richteramt hat besonders schädliche Konsequenzen, weil Richter die Verkörperung des Rechtsstaats und tragende Säule einer funktionierenden Demokratie sind. In ihrem Amt sollen Richter hohen moralischen und ethischen Ansprüchen genügen, da sie sonst kaum glaubhaft Recht sprechen. Die Erwartungen an die Richterschaft eines demokratischen Indonesien sind hoch, doch bisher sehen viele bei weitem nicht alle ihrer Hoffnungen erfüllt.

Seit 2014 bietet die KAS in Kooperation mit der Jimly School of Law and Government ein Seminar für Richter an. Dadurch wird eine Plattform geschaffen in der Probleme des Berufsalltags mit Kollegen und Experten diskutiert werden können. Vom 15. bis zum 17. März kamen 20 Richter in Denpasar zusammen und tauschten sich über Vorgaben, Erwartungen und Hindernisse für ethisch richtiges Verhalten austauschen aus. Mit der Veranstaltung wird das Bewusstsein für schädliche Korruption und damit den Fortschritt der indonesischen Demokratie geschaffen.

Begleitet und unterstützt wird das Projekt von Jimly Asshiddiqie, dem ehemaligen und ersten Präsidenten des Verfassungsgerichtes. Als renommiertester indonesischer Staats- und Verfassungsrechtler konnte er den Teilnehmern mit fachlicher Kompetenz Hilfestellungen und Expertise vermitteln, die im richterlichen Alltag von großer Bedeutung sind. Auch der Vorsitzende der Justizkommision, Aidul Fitriciada Azhari, unterstützt das Projekt und konnte seine Erfahrungen in der Diskussion mit den Teilnehmern teilen und wichtige Inhalte vermitteln.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Indonesien, 20. März 2017