Cyber Incident Simulation for Decision Makers in Indonesia

WORKSHOP IN COOPERATION WITH THE INDONESIAN SECURITY COUNCIL

Also available in Deutsch, Bahasa Indonesia

Security in the digital age is becoming an increasingly important and complex topic which for the Indonesian Government is currently of primary importance. It is not just about the protection of strategic infrastructure,communication channels and financial systems, but also the protection of the society and democracy against harmful attacks and effects from the cyberspace.

Image 1 of 6
Speaker of the panel-discussion, the Indonesian Minister of Home Affairs, Tjahjo Kumolo and Head of National Cyber Encryption Agency (BSSN) Major General Dr. Djoko Setiadi, accompanied by the Head of the KAS Office in Indonesia, Jan Senkyr and Secretary General of the Indonesian Security Council, Lieutenant General Doni Monardo, arriving at the Grand Hyatt Jakarta

Speaker of the panel-discussion, the Indonesian Minister of Home Affairs, Tjahjo Kumolo and Head of National Cyber Encryption Agency (BSSN) Major General Dr. Djoko Setiadi, accompanied by the Head of the KAS Office in Indonesia, Jan Senkyr and Secretary General of the Indonesian Security Council, Lieutenant General Doni Monardo, arriving at the Grand Hyatt Jakarta.

Indonesia has some catching up to do in the area of cybersecurity. With a weak digital infrastructure, but a very high number of users on the Internet and social media, Indonesia is vulnerable to all sorts of digital attacks, whether for criminal, political or intelligence purposes. President Joko Widodo and his government have therefore declared the protection of cyberspace and digital infrastructure to be Indonesia's strategic priority. Through a presidential decree in 2017 the Indonesian Cyber Agency BSSN (Badan Siber dan Sandi Negara) was founded which is the coordination center for cyber security in the country. All government agencies and state institutions are instructed to take appropriate precautions to protect the digital Infrastructure and cyberspace.

Against this background, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung together with the Indonesian Security Council Wantannas (Dewan Ketahanan Nasional) and the Ministry of Home Affairs (Kemendagri) conducted a cyber incident simulation in Jakarta on July 24, 2018.

It was the first event of its kind in Indonesia, through decision-makers and representatives of ministries, government agencies and security forces were transferred knowledge and awareness of the risks and challenges of the cyberspace. The event was opened by the Secretary General of the Indonesian Security Council, Lieutenant General Doni Monardo. He underlined the central importance attached to cyber security in Indonesia. "Alertness in cyberspace has to be considered in all aspects of community life. Attacks can be frontal and real in groups. But also hidden and by spreading false reports, viruses, radical ideologies, recruitment by terrorist groups and data theft" said Gen. Monardo.

Before the simulation, various aspects of digital challenges and threats were discussed in a panel discussion. The Minister of Home Affairs of the Republic of Indonesia, Tjahjo Kumolo SH., also took part in the discussion. The minister informed about the current measures of the government in the cyber area. At present, the government continues to strive to maintain the nation's sovereignty, including in the digital space. These efforts of sovereignty are in line with President Joko Widodo's Nawacita program to secure national and community strategic sectors. The Ministry of Home Affairs supports the implementation of national cyber security in all provinces and cities.

The subsequent simulation was conducted by Prof. Dr. Marco Gercke, founder and Director of the Cybercrime Research Institute and one of the leading cybersecurity experts. This was not a technical simulation but a simulation focused on perspective on the top management level in the case of cyber-attacks, allowing participants to test their responsiveness. Basis of the scenario was at the request of the Indonesian side, a fictional international airport.

A group of role-players consist of decision makers from the National Aviation Safety Authority, of the airport management Angkasa Pura, the National Cyber Agency BSSN and the Ministry of Transportation had to react in an interactive way to the dynamic development of the plot of the simulation. The simulation was followed by about 100 representatives from various ministries, security agencies, the military, the police, intelligence agencies and large national companies.

The simulation ended with a debriefing by Prof. Gercke, in which he underlined again the importance and scope of political decisions during a cyberattack. He pointed out that one of the key factors in successfully countering attacks from cyberspace is the existence of a well-developed emergency plan with clear allocation of decision-making powers and the establishment of effective communication channels.

Enclosed a short clip of the event at CEO Indonesia News TV: Link to the video

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Berlin, August 7, 2018

Cyber Incident Simulation für indonesische Entscheidungsträger

WORKSHOP IN ZUSAMMENARBEIT MIT DEM INDONESISCHEN SICHERHEITSRAT

Auch verfügbar in English, Bahasa Indonesia

Sicherheit im digitalen Zeitalter wird zu einem zunehmend wichtigen und komplexen Thema, dem die indonesische Regierung derzeit vorrangige Bedeutung beimisst. Dabei geht es nicht nur um den Schutz der strategischen Infrastruktur, Kommunikationswege und Finanzsysteme, sondern auch um den Schutz der Gesellschaft und Demokratie vor schädlichen Angriffen und Einwirkungen aus dem Cyberspace.

Bild 1 von 6
Ankunft der Teilnehmer der Podiumsdiskussion im Hotel Grand-Hyatt Jakarta, v.l.n.r der indonesische Innenminister, Tjahjo Kumolo und Leiter der National Cyber Encryption Agency (BSSN)begleitet vom Leiter des KAS Auslandsbüro in Indonesien, Jan Senkyr und Generalsekretär des indonesischen Sicherheitsrats, Leutnant General Doni Mornado.

Ankunft der Teilnehmer der Podiumsdiskussion im Hotel Grand-Hyatt Jakarta, v.l.n.r der indonesische Innenminister, Tjahjo Kumolo und Leiter der National Cyber Encryption Agency (BSSN)begleitet vom Leiter des KAS Auslandsbüro in Indonesien, Jan Senkyr und Generalsekretär des indonesischen Sicherheitsrats, Leutnant General Doni Mornado.

Indonesien hat im Bereich Cybersecurity Nachholbedarf. Mit einer relativ schwachen digitalen Infrastruktur, aber sehr hohen Zahl von Nutzern im Internet und den sozialen Medien, ist Indonesien anfällig für alle Arten von digitalen Angriffen, ob zu kriminellen, machtpolitischen oder nachrichten-dienstlichen Zwecken. Staatspräsident Joko Widodo und seine Regierung haben deshalb den Schutz des Cyberspace und der digitalen Infrastruktur zur strategischen Priorität Indonesiens erklärt. 2017 wurde durch eine Präsidialverordnung die indonesische Cyber-Agentur BSSN (Badan Siber dan Sandi Negara) gegründet, die las Koordinationszentrum für die Cyber-Sicherheit im Lande zuständig ist. Alle Regierungsbehörden und staatlichen Institutionen sind angewiesen, entsprechende Vorkehrungen zum Schutz der digitalen Infrastruktur und des Cyberspace zu treffen.

Vor diesem Hintergrund hat die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung gemeinsam mit dem Indonesischen Sicherheitsrat Wantannas (Dewan Ketahanan Nasional) und dem Innenministerium (Kemendagri) am 24. Juli 2018 in Jakarta eine Cyber Incident Simulation durchgeführt.

Es handelte sich um die erste Veranstaltung dieser Art in Indonesien, mit der Entscheidungsträgern und Vertretern von Ministerien, Regierungsbehörden und den Sicherheitskräften das Wissen und das Bewusstsein für die Gefahren und Herausforderungen des Cyberspace vermittelt werden sollte.

Die Veranstaltung wurde durch den Generalsekretär des Indonesischen Sicherheitsrats, Generalleutnant Doni Monardo, eröffnet. Er unterstrich die zentrale Bedeutung, die dem Bereich Cyber-Sicherheit in Indonesien beigemessen wird. „Wachsamkeit im Cyberspace ist in allen Aspekten des Gemeinschaftslebens zu berücksichtigen. Angriffe können frontal und real in Gruppen erfolgen. Zudem aber auch verdeckt und durch Verbreitung von falschen Meldungen, Viren, radikaler Ideologien, Rekrutierung durch Terrorgruppen und Raub von Computerdaten“, sagte Gen. Monardo.

Vor der Simulation wurden die verschiedenen Aspekte der digitalen Herausforderungen und Gefahren in einer Podiumsdiskussion erörtert. An der Diskussion nahm auch der Innenminister der Republik Indonesien, Tjahjo Kumolo SH., teil. Der Minister informierte über die aktuellen Maßnahmen der Regierung im Cyberbereich. Gegenwärtig bemüht sich die Regierung weiterhin, die Souveränität der Nation aufrechtzuerhalten, einschließlich der im digitalen Raum. Diese Bemühungen der Souveränität stehen im Einklang mit dem „Nawacita-Programm“ von Präsident Joko Widodo zur Sicherung nationaler und gemeinschaftlicher strategischer Sektoren. Das Innenministerium unterstützt die Durchführung der nationalen Cyber-Sicherheit in allen Provinzen und Städten.

Die anschließende Cyber Incident Simulation wurde von Prof. Dr. Marco Gercke durchgeführt, dem Gründer und Direktor des Cybercrime Research Institute und einem führenden Experten im Bereich Cybersecurity. Dabei handelte es sich nicht um eine technische Simulation, sondern eine die Perspektive des Top-Mangements abgestellte Simulation von Angriffen, die es den Teilnehmern ermöglicht, ihre Reaktionsbereitschaft zu prüfen. Grundlage des Szenarios war auf Wunsch der indonesischen Seite ein fiktiver Großflughafen.

Eine Gruppe von Role-Playern, die sich aus Entscheidungsträgern der Nationalen Flugsicherheitsbehörde, des Flughafen-Managements Angkasa Pura, der Nationalen Cyberagentur BSSN und der Nationalen Fluglinie Garuda zusammensetzte, musste in interaktiver Form auf die dynamische Entwicklung des Plots der Simulation reagieren. Verfolgt wurde die Simulation von ca. 100 Vertretern aus verschiedenen Ministerien, den Sicherheitsbehörden, des Militärs, der Polizei, der Geheimdienste sowie großer nationaler Unternehmen.

Die Simulation wurde mit einem Debriefing durch Prof. Gercke beendet, in dem er nochmals die Bedeutung und die Tragweite von politischen Entscheidungen während eines Cyberangriffs unterstrich. Er wies darauf hin, dass zu den entscheidenden Faktoren für eine erfolgreiche Abwehr von Attacken aus dem Cyberspace das Vorhandensein eines ausgearbeiteten Notfallplans mit klarer Zuordnung von Entscheidungskompetenzen sowie die Einrichtung von effektiven Kommunikationswegen gehören.

Anbei ein kurzer Mitschnitt der Veranstaltung auf CEO Indonesia News TV: Link zum Video

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Berlin, 7. August 2018