The Joint Israeli-Palestinian Polls

A valuable instrument for the study of public opinion among the conflicting parties

Also available in Deutsch, עברית

With the support of Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Jerusalem and Ramallah, The Harry S. Truman Research Institute for the Advancement of Peace at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and the Palestinian Centre for Policy and Survey Research in Ramallah regularly conduct opinion polls among Israelis and Palestinians. Until 2012, the polls were carried out at the end of each quarter; since 2013, the poll has been conducted at the end of every half year. On the Israeli side, the scientific mentor is Prof. Ifat Maoz and on the Palestinian side, it is Prof. Khalil Shikaki. The results attract great interest among the general public as well as among experts.

June 2015: According to the June 2015 poll, support for the two state solution has decreased among Palestinians and Israelis; today only 51% on each side support it. Meanwhile, each side continues to view the intentions of the other as posing an existential threat.According to the June 2015 poll.

December 2014: Following the war in Gaza in the summer of 2014 50% of Israelis and 38% of Palestinians support a permanent settlement package along the Clinton parameters and the Geneva Initiative. These results are lower than the figures in December 2013 when 54% of the Israelis and 46% of the Palestinians supported the package. Following the trend of the June poll, each side mutually continues to view the intentions of the other as posing an existential threat. According to the December 2014 poll.

June 2014: Despite the halt in Israeli-Palestinian negotiations, 66% of the Palestinians and 52% of the Israelis think that these negotiations will resume. At the same time each side continues to view the intentions of the other as posing an existential threat. According to the June 2014 poll, current opinions regarding conflict resolution are consistent with previous results: 62% of Israelis and 54% of Palestinians still support a two-state solution.

December 2013: The findings of the end-of-year poll have been politically most relevant, as they encourage the negotiation teams on both sides: The majority of Israelis (63% in favour, 32% against) and of Palestinians (53% in favour, 45.5% against) back the two-state solution. This result was explicitly mentioned by U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry during his meeting on January 2nd, 2014 with Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu.

June 2013: Over the last couple of weeks and months there were indications that the stalled peace process could be renewed. This, however, does not seem to leave an impression on the Israeli and Palestinian public as both sides – this is the outcome of the first semi-annual survey – continue to display pessimism regarding the prospects of success. Additionally, compared to the previous year, Israel’s willingness in seeing the Arab Peace Initiative of 2002 as an approach to solve the conflict has decreased from 36% to 24%.

December 2012: Given the outcome of the Israeli operation in Gaza and the UN recognition of a Palestinian state, the latest poll shows that Palestinians move towards Hamas’ (60 percent) over Abbas’ (28 percent) way. On both sides more than 60 percent consider it impossible to reach these days a final settlement between Israel and the Palestinians. The KAS offices in Israel and the Palestinian Territories have analysed the findings in a joint country report (in German).

September 2012: Around 80% of Palestinians and of Israelis think that if Israel were to carry out a military strike against Iran’s nuclear facilities, a major regional war will erupt. However a majority of Israelis do not believe that Israel will strike and the climate of opinion is against it.

June 2012: The June 2012 poll indicates, among other things, that Israeli plans to unilaterally encourage settlers to move back to Israel from areas east of the existing separation fence do not find favour. 46% of the Israelis und 59% of the Palestinians would oppose such a move. The poll results are analysed by the KAS offices in Jerusalem and Ramallah in a Country Report.

March 2012: According to the March 2012 poll, chances for resuming talks between Israelis and Palestinians look slim at this point, with a majority of Israelis (68%) rejecting the Palestinian conditions to stop all construction in the settlements and to commit to return to the 1967 borders, and a majority of Palestinians (58%) opposing the return to talks without fulfilling these conditions.

December 2011: The results of the poll conducted in December 2011 show among other things that the populations of both sides are more willing to compromise in solving the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. The poll results are analyzed in depth by the KAS offices in Jerusalem and Ramallah.

September 2011: The Palestinian bid for UN membership is the focus of the poll conducted in September 2011. One of the findings shows that more than 80 percent of Palestinians support the request while 70 percent of the Israelis think that if the United Nations approves it, their country should accept it.

June 2011: According to the June 2011 poll Palestinians are determined to turn to the United Nations because in their view it is not possible to return to the negotiations with Netanyahu. This position corresponds to the expectations of the Israelis.

March 2011: A striking result of the poll conducted in March 2011 reveals that both sides still look pessimistically at the peace process. This is also reflected in how Israeli and Palestinian respondents view the impact of the protests in Egypt on the peace process and the prospect of near-term solution of the conflict. The poll results are analyzed in depth by the KAS offices in Jerusalem and Ramallah.

December 2010: The Joint Israeli-Palestinian poll of December 2010 focuses on the frozen direct negotiations between Israelis and Palestinians and the coexistence between Jews and Arabs in the Israeli society. The results show that both sides view the current peace process even more pessimistically. In this poll Arab and Jewish citizens of Israel were interviewed separately.

September 2010: The results of the poll conducted in September 2010 show that Palestinians believe they need success in the negotiations more than the Israelis, while Israelis think both sides need it equally. However, but both publics are skeptical about the negotiations’ success.

June 2010: The results of the poll conducted in June 2010 reveal that despite the Gaza flotilla incident, there is a rise in willingness to compromise among Palestinians and Israelis. However, two thirds on both sides remain pessimistic about the future of the peace process.

March 2010: A clear conclusion can be drawn from the latest poll conducted in March 2010: A majority of Israelis and Palestinians prefer a two-state solution as the most acceptable resolution of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, as opposed to a single binational state or a Palestinian-Israeli confederation.

December 2009: According to the most recent poll conducted in December 2009 a slim majority of Israelis (52%) believes that Israel should pay almost any price to return prisoners of war. Palestinians believe that if Marwan Barghouti will be released from the jail, he would beat Ismail Haniyeh for Presidency by a large margin.

August 2009: The results of the poll conducted in August 2009 show that Israelis are more apprehensive and Palestinians somewhat more favorable about US involvement in the region compared to their expectations after Obama’s election.

June 2009: Results of the poll conducted in June 2009 reveal that both Israelis and Palestinians view pessimistically the prospects for a settlement and a Palestinian state in the next few years. However, majorities on both sides support a two-state solution. Following Obama’s Cairo speech, Israelis’ pessimism decreased somewhat and support for the two-state solution increased slightly.

March 2009: The results of the recent poll reveal that in the aftermath of Israel’s military “Operation Cast Lead” in Gaza and the February elections, Israelis and Palestinians share hawkish positions and gloomy expectations regarding the peace process. Among other findings of the poll: Both Palestinians and Israelis believe that given the outcome of the Israeli military operation in Gaza, Palestinians are worse off after than before. Two thirds of Israelis believe that Israel stopped its military operation in Gaza too early, but only 30% think that Israel should reoccupy the Gaza Strip and stay there if shelling of Israeli communities continues.

December 2008: Following Obama’s Election, Palestinians and Israelis seek a more active role of the US in moderating the Conflict. This is one of the results of the joint Truman- PSR poll of December 2008. Among other findings: Both publics support continuation of the cease-fire agreement with Hamas. Only about a quarter of Israelis support re-occupation of the Gaza Strip if shelling of Israeli communities continues.

September 2008: According to the latest poll of September 2008, the majority of Israelis and Palestinians continue to support a two-state solution. However, 31% of Israelis and 43% of Palestinians do not believe in the reconciliation between two peoples in the long run even if a peace agreement will be reached and a Palestinian state would be established.

June 2008: According to the June 2008 poll Israelis strongly oppose cease- fire with Hamas if agreement does not include release of Gilad Shalit; Palestinians strongly oppose such an agreement if it does not include the West Bank.

March 2008: Threatened Israelis and Palestinians disenchanted with the peace process and do not believe in a non-violent solution. These are the results of the most recent poll conducted in March 2008.

Please find here the Joint Israeli Palestinian Polls which were conducted from 2000 to 2007.

JIPP - Zustimmung zu Clinton-Parametern

Unterstützung in der israelischen und der palästinensischen Bevölkerung für ein Kompromisspaket auf Grundlage der „Clinton-Parameter“ von 2000 und der „Genfer Initiative“ von 2003 (Verlaufsdiagramm 2003-2011)

Die gemeinsamen israelisch-palästinensischen Umfragen

Ein wertvolles Instrument zur Erforschung des Meinungsklimas bei den Konfliktparteien

Auch verfügbar in English, עברית

In regelmäßigen Abständen führen das Harry S. Truman Research Institute for the Advancement of Peace an der Hebräischen Universität Jerusalem und das Palestinian Center for Policy and Survey Research in Ramallah mit Unterstützung der KAS-Auslandsbüros Israel und Palästinensische Gebiete eine gemeinsame Umfrage bei Israelis und Palästinensern durch. Bis 2012 erfolgten diese Umfragen jeweils zum Quartalsende, seit 2013 werden die Daten nur noch zweimal im Jahr – jeweils zum Ende eines Halbjahres – erhoben. Auf israelischer Seite wird die Untersuchung von Prof. Ifat Maoz, auf palästinensischer Seite von Prof. Khalil Shikaki wissenschaftlich betreut. Die Resultate werden in der Öffentlichkeit wie in der Fachwelt immer stark beachtet.

Juni 2014: Trotz des Abbruchs der israelisch-palästinensischen Gespräche glauben immer noch 66% der Palästinenser und 52% der Israelis, dass die Verhandlungen wieder aufgenommen werden. Gleichzeitig geht jede Seite weiterhin davon aus, dass sie von der Gegenseite existenziell bedroht werde. Entsprechend früheren Befunden befürworten 62% der Israelis und 54% der Palästinenser eine Zwei-Staaten-Lösung - so die Befunde der Meinungsumfrage vom Sommer 2014.

Dezember 2013: Die Ergebnisse der Meinungsumfrage Ende 2013 waren von besonderem politischen Interesse, weil sie den Verhandlungsteams auf beiden Seiten den Rücken stärkten: Die Mehrheit der Israelis (63% dafür, 32% dagegen) und der Palästinenser (53% dafür, 45,5% dagegen) unterstützen die Zwei-Staaten-Lösung. Auf diesen Befund wies sogar US-Außenminister John Kerry ausdrücklich hin. In einem gemeinsamen Länderbericht analysieren die auftraggebenden KAS-Auslandsbüros für Israel und die Palästinensischen Gebiete die wesentlichen Ergebnisse dieser brisanten Umfrage.

Juni 2013: In den vergangenen Wochen und Monaten mehrten sich die Anzeichen, dass wieder Bewegung in den festgefahrenen Friedensprozess kommen könnte. In der israelischen und der palästinensischen Gesellschaft scheint das alles keinen großen Eindruck zumachen. Auf beiden Seiten bleibt – so das Ergebnis der ersten Halbjahresumfrage – die Mehrheit skeptisch im Blick auf die Erfolgsaussichten. Überdies hat in Israel hat die Bereitschaft, in der Arabischen Friedensinitiative von 2002 einen Lösungsansatz zu sehen, gegenüber dem Vorjahr von 36% auf 24% abgenommen.

Dezember 2012: Nach dem israelischen Einsatz in Gaza und der Anerkennung eines palästinensischen Staates als Nicht-Mitgliedstaat der Vereinten Nationen zeigt die neueste Umfrage, dass 60 Prozent der Palästinenser die Strategie der Hamas bevorzugen und nur 28 Prozent zu Abbas tendieren. Auf beiden Seiten glauben mehr als 60 Prozent, dass ein endgültiges Abkommen zwischen Israelis und Palästinensern momentan unmöglich ist. Die KAS-Auslandsbüros Israel und Palästinensische Gebiete haben die Ergebnisse der Umfrage in einem Länderbericht ausführlich analysiert.

September 2012: Ein bemerkenswerter Befund dieser Umfrage ist, dass ca. 80% der Israelis und Palästinenser glauben, ein größerer regionaler Krieg könnte entstehen, sollte Israel einen Militärschlag gegen Einrichtungen des iranischen Atomwaffenprogramms ausführen. Allerdings meint eine Mehrheit der israelischen Befragten, dass es zu einem solchen Schlag nicht kommen werde.

Juni 2012: Die Umfrage von Juni 2012 zeigt unter anderem, dass israelische Pläne zur einseitigen Rückführung von Siedlern aus den palästinensischen Gebieten östlich des Trennungszauns keine positive Resonanz finden. 46% der Israelis und 59% der Palästinenser sind dagegen.

März 2012: Um die Chancen zur Wiederaufnahme der israelisch-palästinensischen Gespräche steht es der März-Umfrage zufolge derzeit schlecht. 68 Prozent der Israelis sind gegen die palästinensische Forderung nach einem vorangehenden Siedlungsstopp, 58 Prozent der Palästinenser möchten auf diese Vorbedingung nicht verzichten.

Dezember 2011: Die Umfrage vom Dezember 2011 kommt unter anderem zu dem Ergebnis, dass in den Bevölkerungen beider Seiten die Bereitschaft zu einer Kompromisslösung für den israelisch-palästinensischen Konflikt zugenommen hat. In einer Auswertung der Befunde durch die KAS-Auslandsbüros Israel und Palästinensische Gebiete werden die Umfrageresultate vertiefend analysiert.

September 2011: Aktueller Schwerpunkt der Umfrage vom September 2011 ist der palästinensische Antrag auf Mitgliedschaft eines Staates Palästina in den Vereinten Nationen. Einer der Befunde: Mehr als 80 Prozent der Palästinenser befürworten den Antrag; gleichzeitig meinen rund 70 Prozent der Israelis, ihr Land solle es akzeptieren, wenn die Vereinten Nationen sich zu einem solchen Schritt entschlössen.

Juni 2011: Die Palästinenser zeigen sich laut Umfrage vom Juni 2011 entschlossen, im September zu den Vereinten Nationen zu gehen, weil es ihrer Ansicht nach keine Rückkehr zu Verhandlungen mit Netanyahu gibt. Diese Position deckt sich mit den Erwartungen der Israelis.

März 2011: Die Meinung zum Friedensprozess ist weiterhin auf beiden Seiten von Pessimismus geprägt, so ein hevorstechendes Ergebnis der Umfrage vom März 2011. Dies spiegelt sich auch in den Ansichten der befragten Israelis und Palästinenser bezüglich des Einflusses der Proteste in Ägypten auf den Friedensprozess sowie die Aussicht auf eine zeitnahe Lösung des Konflikts wieder. In einem Länderbericht des KAS-Auslandsbüros Palästinensische Gebiete werden die Umfrageresultate vertiefend analysiert.

Dezember 2010: Laut Umfrage vom Dezember 2010 herrscht auf beiden Seiten Pessimismus, was den derzeitigen Friedensprozess angeht. Dieser Pessimismus ist seit der letzten Umfrage im Oktober sogar noch weiter gestiegen. Neuer Aspekt der Umfrage ist die separate Befragung von arabischen und jüdischen Israelis. Umfrageschwerpunkte sind die eingefrorenen direkten Verhandlungen zwischen Israelis und Palästinensern und das Zusammenleben von Juden und Arabern innerhalb der israelischen Gesellschaft. Eine von den KAS-Auslandsbüros Israel und Palästinensische Gebiete gemeinsam erstellte Auswertung der Ergebnisse finden sie hier.

September 2010: Laut Umfrage vom September 2010 glauben die Palästinenser, dass sie mehr als die Israelis an dem Erfolg der Verhandlungen interessiert sind, während die Israelis der Meinung sind, dass dies für beide Seiten ebenso wichtig ist. Die beiden Parteien betrachten jedoch die Aussichten auf Erfolg der Verhandlungen mit Skepsis.

Juni 2010: Die Umfrage vom Juni 2010, die die Schwerpunkte auf die indirekten Verhandlungen und die Clinton-Parameter legte, zeigt, dass trotz des Zwischenfalls mit der „Gaza-Solidaritätsflotte“ auf beiden Seiten eine steigende Bereitschaft zur Zusammenarbeit zu verzeichnen ist. Allerdings sind zwei Drittel der befragten Israelis und Palästinenser skeptisch, was den derzeitigen Friedensprozess betrifft.

März 2010: Laut Umfrage vom März 2010, die den Schwerpunkt auf die Hauptaspekte eines israelisch-palästinensischen Übereinkommens über die „Endstatus“-Fragen legte, zieht die Mehrheit der Palästinenser und Israelis weiterhin die Zwei-Staaten-Lösung einem binationalen Staat oder einer Konföderation vor.

Dezember 2009: Der Umfrage vom Dezember 2009 zufolge glaubt eine knappe Mehrheit der Israelis (52%), dass Israel um jeden Preis die Kriegsgefangenen zurück erlangen muss. Palästinenser sind der Meinung, dass Marwan Barghouti, wenn er aus dem Gefängnis entlassen wird, Ismail Haniyeh bei den Präsidentschaftswahlen mit großem Vorsprung schlagen werde. Hier finden Sie eine kurze Zusammenfassung der Befunde.

August 2009: Im Vergleich zu ihren Erwartungen unmittelbar nach der Wahl Obamas zeigen sich zurzeit laut Umfrage vom August 2009 Israelis besorgter und die Palästinenser positiver über das Engagement der USA in der Region. Ein gemeinsamer Länderbericht der KAS-Auslandsbüros Israel und Palästinensische Gebiete widmet sich der Analyse der Ergebnisse.

Juni 2009: Die Ergebnisse der Umfrage vom Juni 2009 zeigen, dass sowohl Israelis als auch Palästinenser die Aussichten für eine Konfliktlösung und die Bildung eines palästinensischen Staates pessimistisch betrachten. Allerdings unterstützen die Mehrheiten auf beiden Seiten eine Zwei-Staaten-Lösung. Nach Obamas Rede in Kairo sind Israelis weniger pessimistisch gestimmt und befürworten mehr die Zwei-Staaten-Lösung. Die Ergebnisse der Umfrage werden in einem Länderbericht der KAS Israel analysiert.

März 2009: Im Hinblick auf die Operation „Gegossenes Blei“ im Gaza-Streifen sind laut Umfrage vom März 2009 66% der Israelis der Ansicht, dass diese zu früh beendet wurde. 30% befürworten eine erneute Besetzung des Gaza-Streifens, sollte der Beschuss Israels aus dem Gaza-Streifen andauern, 38% sind für Ad-hoc-Einsätze, während 28% der Befragten auf diplomatische Schritte setzen. Ein gemeinsamer Länderbericht der KAS-Auslandsbüros Israel und Palästinensische Autonomiegebiete wertet die Umfrage aus.

Dezember 2008: Nach Obamas Wahl wollen Palästinenser und Israelis, dass die USA bei der Vermittlung des Konflikts mehr beteiligt sind – dies ist eines der Ergebnisse der gemeinsamen Truman-PSR-Umfrage vom Dezember 2008. Laut dieser Umfrage unterstützen beide Seiten die Fortsetzung des Waffenstillstandsabkommens mit der Hamas. Nur etwa ein Viertel der Israelis unterstützen eine Wiederbesetzung des Gaza-Streifens, sollten israelische Gemeinden weiter beschossen werden.

September 2008: Laut der Umfrage vom September 2008 ist die Mehrheit der Israelis und Palästinenser weiterhin für eine Zwei-Staaten-Lösung. Selbst wenn ein Friedensabkommen erreicht und ein palästinensischer Staat gegründet würde, glauben jedoch 31% der Israelis und 43% der Palästinenser auch auf lange Sicht nicht an die Versöhnung zwischen den beiden Völkern. Einen Länderbericht zu den Ergebnissen der Umfrage finden sie hier.

Juni 2008: Laut Umfrage von Juni 2008 äußern sich die Israelis vehement gegen einen Waffenstillstand mit Hamas, wenn die Vereinbarung keine Freilassung von Gilad Shalit enthält. Die Palästinenser lehnen eine solche Vereinbarung ab, wenn sie nicht die West Bank umfasst. Die Ergebnisse werden durch einen Länderbericht der KAS Palästinensische Autonomiegebiete zusammengefasst.

März 2008: Israelis und Palästinenser sind vom Friedensprozess enttäuscht und glauben nicht an eine gewaltfreie Lösung. Dies sind die Ergebnisse der jüngsten Truman-PSR-Umfrage vom März 2008. Eine kurze Auswertung durch die KAS Palästinensische Autonomiegebiete ist hier nachzulesen.

Gemeinsame israelisch-palästinensische Umfragen aus der Zeit von 2000 bis 2007 finden Sie hier.