Japan, India and Germany in a Changing World

March 26 Tuesday

Date/time

March 26, 2013, 10.00 - 18.00

Loc.

Nippon Foundation, Tokyo

Type

Symposium

Trilateral symposium in cooperation with the Institute for International Policy Studies and the Japanese-German Center Berlin

Also available in 日本語, Deutsch

Image

In a sequence of events on the trilateral relations between Japan, Germany and the single BRICS countries the KAS Japan Office on 26 March 2013 hosted an international symposium on Japan, India and Germany in a Changing World.

Image

Image

The symposium consisted of of keynote addresses and three panel discussions on various issues and was opened with remarks by JDZB-President and former Japanese Ambassador in Berlin, Mr. Yushu Takashima, as well as Mr. Jörg Wolff, KAS Resident Representative for Japan. Afterwards Mr. Ken Sato, President of IIPS, gave a short introduction to the contents of the event.

Image

Image

In a first Keynote Speech ,Volker Stanzel, Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany to Japan, dealt with the role of Germany and Europe in a G20 world, while Mrs. Yoriko Kawaguchi, Member of the Japanese House of Councillor and former Minister for Foreign Affairs, in her speech reflected on the Japanese view of current changes in the East Asian power dynamics.

Image

Image

Shyam Saran, Chairman of the National Security Advisory Board and former Indian Foreign Secretary, subsequently added the importance of value based partnerships for developing adequate institutions for a multipolar world order, before Elmar Brok, Member of the European Parliament and Chairman of the Committee on Foreign Affairs, presented his assessment on the development of the European Union's role in this new global environment.

Image

Image

In the First Panel moderated by Brahma Chellaney, Professor of Strategic Studies, Center of Policy Research, discussions focused on the question, how the three countries were actually connected and which role was given to their shared values as free democracies. In this context, the possible further cooperation of the three in an attempt to reform the United Nations and their Security Council in particular, which was especially advocated by the Japanese and Indian side through Mr. Lalit Mansingh, Prof. Emeritus, Foreign Service Institute of India and former Indian Foreign Secretary, and Mr. Hiroshi Hirabayashi, President of the Japan-India Association and former Japanese Ambassador to India. Heinrich Kreft, Director General for Public Diplomacy and Dialogue among Civilizations at the Foreign Office, added and emphasized the special responsibility for promoting and supporting democratic principles and values in the different regions of the world. Also, similar interests in the fields of non-traditional security were identified as important starting-points for deepening the interstate relations.

Image

In the Second Panel, unter the moderation of Mr. Manfred Hoffmann, Executive Director, German Chamber of Commerce and Industry in Japan, the focus changed to the increasing economic importance of Asia and the potentials in the economic relations between the three countries. The trilater relations, it was said, must not only be looked at on the government level. The presentation by Mr. Friedolin Strack, Director for Asia, the Middle East and Foreign Trade Promotion at the BDI - Federation of German Industries, left no doubt, that the significance of Asia for Europe and Germany in particular steadily increased, while especially China remained of particular interest, and at this point at latest became a central issue of the event. The economic relations between Japan, India and Germany, however, as was pointed out especially by the other two panelists, Mr. Yoshihiro Watanabe, Chairman of the Standing Committee of the Japan-India Business Cooperation Committee and Managing Director of the Institute for International Monetary Affairs, as well as Mrs. Vijaya Bajpai, East Asia experts from the International Division of the Confederation of Indian Industry, were still running below expectations, but could for example through upcoming free trade agreements and intended investments be stimulated.

Image

The final Third Panel turned, with Mr. Shinichi Kitaoka, Professor at the National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies, President of the International University of Japan, Executive Director of Research at IIPS and former Japanese Ambassador to the United Nations, acting as the moderator, on the uncertainties in the security environment in East Asia and their implications for Europe. After an introducting presentation by Mr. Nobushige Takamizawa, President of the National Institute for Defense Studies and former Director General Defense Policy Planning at the Japanese Ministry of Defense, all panelists acknowledged unisono the decisive but not stringently stabilizing role of the People's Republik, the threat posed by North Korea as well as the persisting relevance of the United States of America. Furthermure of crucial importance for all three countries remained, as Mr. Ulrich Schlie, Director General Security and Defence Policy at the Federal Ministry of Defence, in his comments iterated, the future development in Afghanistan and Pakistan. Brahma Chellaney as the third panelists reminded not to forget the growing significance of an expansive ressource policy of certain countries as well as the also therefore increasing imbalance in International Relations. Lastly the Taiwan-question was introduced to the discussion as a further common challenge. More difficult that the idenitifcation of existing risks, however, remained the quest for approriate and effective answers and stabilization measures, which were even more complicated by the accumulating complexity of contemporary international relations.

Image

The event closed with a Summary by Mrs. Beatrice Gorawantschy, Head of the Team Asia and the Pacific of Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung.

Contact person

Thomas Yoshimura

Assistant Representative

Thomas Yoshimura
Phone +49 30 26996-3496
Fax +49 30 26996-53496
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ 日本語

Naoko Ogawa

Project Coordinator (on parental leave)

Japan, India and Germany in a Changing World

März 26 Dienstag

Datum/Uhrzeit

26. März 2013, 10.00 - 18.00

Ort

Nippon Foundation, Tokyo

Typ

Symposium

Trilaterales Symposium in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institute for International Policy Studies und dem Japanisch-Deutschen Zentrum Berlin.

Auch verfügbar in 日本語, English

Abbildung

In einer mehrjährigen Veranstaltungsreihe zu den trilateralen Beziehungen zwischen Japan, Deutschland und den einzelnen Staaten der BRICS Länder veranstaltete das Auslandsbüro Japan am 26. März 2013 ein internationales Symposium zum Thema Japan, India and Germany in a Changing World.

Abbildung

Abbildung

Das Symposium setzte sich aus vier Keynote-Vorträgen und drei Paneldiskussionen zu unterschiedlichen Themenblöcken zusammen und wurde durch begrüßende Worte des JDZB-Präsidenten und ehemaligen japanischen Botschafters in Berlin, Herrn Yushu Takashima, sowie Herrn Jörg Wolff, Leiter des KAS Auslandsbüros, eröffnet. Anschließend gab Herr Ken Sato, Präsident des IIPS, eine kurze thematische Einführung in die Veranstaltung.

Abbildung

Abbildung

In einer ersten Keynote Speech beschäftigte sich Volker Stanzel, Botschafter der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in Japan, mit der Rolle Deutschlands und Europas in einer G20 Welt, während Frau Yoriko Kawaguchi, Mitglied des japanischen House of Councillor und ehemalige Außenministerin, in ihrer Rede die japanische Sicht auf die Veränderungen im regionalen Machtgefüge Ostasiens schilderte.

Abbildung

Abbildung

Shyam Saran, Chairman des National Security Advisory Board und ehemaliger indischer Foreign Secretary, ergänzte daraufhin die Bedeutung wertegebundener Partnerschaften zur Entwicklung angemessener Institutionen für eine multipolare Weltordnung, bevor Elmar Brok, Mitglied des Europäischen Parlaments und Vorsitzender des Committee on Foreign Affairs, seine Einschätzung zur Entwicklung der Rolle der EU in dieser neuen globalen Umgebung präsentierte.

Abbildung

Abbildung

Im ersten Panel unter Moderation von Brahma Chellaney, Professor of Strategic Studies, Center of Policy Research, stand die Frage im Vordergrund, in welcher Weise die drei Länder tatsächlich miteinander verbunden seien und welche Rolle hierfür ihre geteilte Wertebasis als freiheitliche Demokratien spielt. Dabei kam auch bereits die mögliche Fortsetzung einer stärkeren Zusammenarbeit der drei Staaten bei der Reform der Vereinten Nationen und speziell des VN Sicherheitsrates zur Sprache, die insbesondere von japanischer und indischer Seite durch die Herren Lalit Mansingh, Prof. Emeritus, Foreign Service Institute of India und ehemaliger indischer Foreign Secretary, und Hiroshi Hirabayashi, Präsident der Japan-India Association und ehemaliger japanischer Botschafter in Indien, nachdrücklich befürwortet wurde. Heinrich Kreft, Director General for Public Diplomacy and Dialogue among Civilizations im Auswärtigen Amt, ergänzte und unterstrich die besondere Verantwortung zur Verbreitung und Förderung demokratischer Prinzipien und Werte in den verschiedenen Regionen der Welt. Auch ähnliche Interessen in den bereichen nicht-traditioneller Sicherheit wurden als wichtige Ansatzpunkte zur Vertiefung der zwischenstaatlichen Beziehungen identifiziert.

Abbildung

Im zweiten Panel, moderierte von Herrn Manfred Hoffmann, Executive Director, Deutsche Industrie- und Handelskammer in Japan, wechselte der Fokus auf die zunehmende wirtschaftliche Bedeutung Asiens und die Potentiale der ökonomischen Beziehungen zwischen den drei Staaten. Die trilateralen Beziehungen dürften nicht ausschließlich auf Regierungsebene betrachtet werden. Der Vortrag von Herrn Friedolin Strack, Direktor für Asien, Nahost und Außenhandelsförderung des Bundesverbands der Deutschen Industrie, ließ keinen Zweifel, dass die Bedeutung Asiens auch für Europa und insbesondere Deutschland stetig wachse, wobei speziell China von besonderem Interesse bleibe, das spätestens zu diesem Zeitpunkt ein zentrales Thema der Veranstaltung wurde. Die wirtschaftlichen Beziehungen zwischen Japan, Indien und Deutschland blieben, wie vor allem die beiden anderen Panelisten Herr Yoshihiro Watanabe, Chairman des Standing Committee des Japan-India Business Cooperation Committee und Managing Director des Institute for International Monetary Affairs, sowie Frau Vijaya Bajpai, Ostasienexpertin in der International Division der Confederation of Indian Industry, betonten, dem entgegen hinter ihren Möglichkeiten zurück, könnten aber beispielsweise durch in Aussicht stehende Freihandelsabkommen und vorgesehene Investitionszuwächse gefördert werden.

Abbildung

Das abschließende dritte Panel thematisierte unter Leitung von Herrn Shinichi Kitaoka, Professor am National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies, Präsident der International University of Japan, Executive Director of Research bei IIPS und früherer japanischer Botschafter bei den Vereinten Nationen, die Unsicherheiten im sicherheitspolitischen Gefüge Ostasiens und deren Auswirkungen auf Europa. Nach einem einleitenden Vortrag durch Herrn Nobushige Takamizawa, Präsident des National Institute for Defense Studies und ehemaliger Director General Defense Policy Planning des japanischen Ministry of Defense, erkannten alle Panelisten einstimmig die entscheidende, jedoch nicht zwingend stabilisierende Rolle der Volksrepublik, die Bedrohung durch Nordkorea sowie die bleibende Wichtigkeit der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika. Weiterhin von herausragender Bedeutung für alle drei Länder bleibe auch, wie unter anderem Herr Ulrich Schlie, Director General Security and Defence Policy im Bundesministerium der Verteidigung, in seinem Kommentar unterstrich, die zukünftige Entwicklung in Afghanistan und Pakistan. Nicht zu vergessen sei ebenfalls, wie Brahma Chellaney als dritter Panelist erinnerte, die zunehmende Bedeutung einer expansiven Resourcenpolitik bestimmter Länder sowie die auch dadurch verstärkte Störung des internationalen Gleichgewichts. Auch die Taiwan-Frage fand zuletzt als gemeinsam erkannte Herausforderung Eingang in die Diskussionen. Schwieriger als die Feststellung und Identifikation der vorliegenden Risiken bleibe jedoch die Suche nach angemessenen und wirkungsvollen Reaktionen und Stabilisierungsmaßnahmen, die durch die wachsende Vielschichtigkeit der Verhältnisse weiter kompliziert werde.

Abbildung

Die Veranstaltung endete mit einer Zusammenfassung durch Frau Beatrice Gorawantschy, Leiterin des Teams Asien und Pazifik der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung.

Ansprechpartner

Thomas Yoshimura

Referent PASTIS

Thomas Yoshimura
Tel. +49 30 26996-3496
Fax +49 30 26996-53496
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ 日本語

Naoko Ogawa