New Economic Governance in Japan

Market Economic Perceptions in Germany

May 9 Thursday

Date/time

May 9, 2013

Loc.

Tokyo

Type

Experts' Meeting

Experts' Meeting with the delegation of the Committee on Economics and Technology of the German Bundestag in cooperation with the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung

Also available in 日本語, Deutsch

On occasion of a visit to Japan by a delegation of the Committee on Economics and Technology of the German Bundestag the KAS Japan Office in cooperation with the Japan Office of the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung hosted an experts' meeting on New Economic Governance in Japan and Market Economic Perceptions in Germany.

Image

After short welcome remarks and an introduction on behalf of both organizers by the KAS Resident Representative for Japan, Mr. Jörg Wolff, the head of the delegation and committee chairman, Mr. Ernst Hinsken, CDU/CSU Parliamentary Group, presented in his speech Current Issues of Germany’s Economic Governance and simultaenously already elaborated on the crucial commonalities and shared challenges that linked Germany and Japan: foremost the ongoing demographic changes and their also in economic terms enormous effects on the future development of our societies.

Image

Subsequently the German parliamentarians were given further insight into the backgrounds and perspectives of current economic and financial policy developments by three Japanese experts.

Image

In a first presentation Mr. Atsushi Nakajima, Chairman of the Research Institute for Economy, Trade and Industry (RIETI), illustrated the contents and approaches of the economic reform policy of Prime Minister Shinzo Abe, widely known as Abenomics.

Image

In his contribution on Sovereign Debt and Japan’s Current Fiscal and Monetary Policy Mr. Yoshihiro Watanabe, Advisor to the Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ and General Manager of the Institute for International Monetary Affairs (IIMA) as well as Co-Chairman of the APEC Business Advisory Committee, then explained further in detail the current situation of Japan's sovereign debts and, based upon their structural characteristics, named some of the required and possible fiscal and monetary policy measures.

Image

In a final presentation, Mr. Satohiro Akimoto, Senior Vice President and General Manager of the Global Relations Department of the Mitsubishi Corporation, additionally referred to the importance of international trade for Japanese economic development and added A Private Sector Assessment of of Japan’s Free Trade Negotiations with a special emphasis on the Transpacific Partnership Agreement (TPP).

Image

Following their presentations, the Japanese experts answered remaining questions and engaged in deeper discussions with the German parliamentarians.

The members of the German delegation were:

  • Ernst Hinsken, Chairman of the Committee on Economics and Technology, former Parliamentary Secretary of State, Member of the Board of the CDU/CSU Parliamentary Group
  • Martin Dörmann, Deputy Chairman of the Committee on Economics and Technology, SPD Parliamentary Group
  • Klaus Breil, FDP Parliamentary Group
  • Tobias Lindner, Economic Policy Spokesman, Bündnis 90/Die Grünen Parliamentary Group
  • Franz Obermeier, CDU/CSU Parliamentary Group
  • Rita Pawelski, CDU/CSU Parliamentary Group
  • Wolfgang Tiefensee, former Federal Minister of Transport, Building and Urban Development, Economic Policy Spokesman, SPD Parliamentary Group
BM-AA-13-005 New Economic Governance in Japan 01

Contact person

Thomas Yoshimura

Assistant Representative

Thomas Yoshimura
Phone +49 30 26996-3496
Fax +49 30 26996-53496
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ 日本語

Naoko Ogawa

Project Coordinator (on parental leave)

New Economic Governance in Japan

Market Economic Perceptions in Germany

Mai 9 Donnerstag

Datum/Uhrzeit

9. Mai 2013

Ort

Tokyo

Typ

Expertengespräch

Expertengespräch mit der Delegation des Ausschusses für Wirtschaft und Technologie des Deutschen Bundestags in Zusammenarbeit mit der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung

Auch verfügbar in English, 日本語

Anlässlich des Japanbesuchs einer Delegation des Ausschusses für Wirtschaft und Technologie des Deutschen Bundestags veranstaltete das Auslandsbüro Japan in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Auslandsbüro Japan der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung ein Expertengespräch zum Thema New Economic Governance in Japan and Market Economic Perceptions in Germany.

Abbildung

Nach einer kurzen Begrüßung und Einleitung im Namen der beiden Veranstalter durch den Leiter des Auslandsbüros Japan der KAS, Herrn Jörg Wolff, schilderte der Delegationsleiter und gleichzeitige Ausschussvorsitzende, Herr Ernst Hinsken, CDU/CSU-Bundestagsfraktion, in einem ersten Vortrag die aktuellen Themen und Herausforderungen der Wirtschaftspolitik in Deutschland und verwies gleichzeitig bereits zu diesem Zeitpunkt auf die wichtigen Gemeinsamkeiten sowie geteilten Herausforderungen, die Japan und Deutschland verbinden: darunter allen voran der Demographische Wandel und dessen auch in wirtschaftlicher Hinsicht enormen Auswirkungen auf die zukünftige Entwicklung unserer Gesellschaft.

Abbildung

Im Folgenden erhielten die Abgeordneten durch die Impulsvorträge von drei japanischen Fachexperten einen Einblick in die Hintergründe und Perspektiven der aktuellen wirtschafts- und finanzpolitischen Entwicklungen des Landes.

Abbildung

In einer ersten Präsentation schilderte Herr Atsushi Nakajima, Chairman des Research Institute for Economy, Trade and Industry (RIETI), die Inhalte und Ansätze der unter dem Begriff Abenomics bekannten wirtschaftlichen Reformpolitik von Premierminister Shinzo Abe.

Abbildung

Herr Yoshihiro Watanabe, Berater der Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ und General Manager des Institute for International Monetary Affairs (IIMA) sowie Mitglied des APEC Business Advisory Committee, erläuterte daraufhin im Detail die aktuelle Verschuldungssituation Japans, sowie die angesichts von deren struktureller Beschaffenheit nötigen und möglichen wirtschafts- und ordnungspolitischen Maßnahmen.

Abbildung

In einem abschließenden Vortrag widmete sich Herr Satohiro Akimoto, Senior Vice President und General Manager der Abteilung für globale Beziehung der Mitsubishi Corporation, außerdem der Bedeutung des internationalen Handels für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung Japans und ergänzte auf dieser Grundlage eine privatwirtschaftliche Einschätzung der aktuellen Verhandlungen für Freihandelsabkommen mit japanischer Beteiligung unter besonderem Bezug auf das Transpacific Partnership Agreement (TPP).

Abbildung

Im Anschluss an die Kurzreferate standen die japanischen Experten den Abgeordneten für vertiefende Fragen und Diskussionen zu Verfügung.

Die Mitglieder der Delegation waren:

  • Ernst Hinsken, Vorsitzender des Ausschusses für Wirtschaft und Technologie des Deutschen Bundestags, Parlamentarischer Staatssekretär a.D, Mitglied des Vorstandes der CDU/CSU-Bundestagsfraktion
  • Martin Dörmann, Stellv. Vorsitzender des Ausschusses für Wirtschaft und Technologie des Deutschen Bundestags, SPD-Bundestagsfraktion
  • Klaus Breil, FDP-Bundestagsfraktion
  • Tobias Lindner, Sprecher für Wirtschaftspolitik der Bundestagsfraktion Bündnis 90/Die Grünen
  • Franz Obermeier, CDU/CSU-Bundestagsfraktion
  • Rita Pawelski, CDU/CSU-Bundestagsfraktion
  • Wolfgang Tiefensee, Bundesverkehrsminister a.D., wirtschaftspolitischer Sprecher der SPD-Bundestagsfraktion
BM-AA-13-005 New Economic Governance in Japan 01

Ansprechpartner

Thomas Yoshimura

Referent PASTIS

Thomas Yoshimura
Tel. +49 30 26996-3496
Fax +49 30 26996-53496
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ 日本語

Naoko Ogawa