Publications

Jordan and the Jihadist Threat

How Stable is Germany’s Ally in the Middle East?

Jordan is widely considered to be an “anchor of stability” in a crisis-ridden region. That is why Germany is also seeking to extend its strategic partnership, not least noticeable through their relocation of its Bundeswehr Tornado jets from Turkey to Jordan. It should be noted, however, that Jordan is currently facing some immense economic and domestic challenges. These include a jihadist scene, in which recent developments suggest that the country is still at risk of terrorist attacks, necessitating innovative approaches for preventing extremism. more…

Dr. Annette Ranko, Imke Haase | International Reports | July 4, 2018

EU-Jordan Trade Agreement

Overview and Implementation Status

In February 2016, as the Syria refugee crisis started to peak, the international community held a conference in London to discuss a joint response to the crisis: It heralded a decisive paradigm shift in European development cooperation, away from short-term emergency aid to long-term strengthening of initial host country resilience. A core outcome of the conference was the Jordan Compact — an agreement between Jordan, the European Union, and the World Bank. This study aims to give an overview on Jordan’s economy and to reflect on the progress of the Compact implementation two years on. more…

Shereen Abbadi | Country Reports | June 29, 2018

#JordanStrikes

Protests and Government Change in the Hashemite Kingdom

The protests in Jordan that began with a nationwide strike on Wednesday, May 30th, were the largest, most sustained in years, and were supported by a broad base of the population. Thousands of people organised on social media using hashtags such as #JordanStrikes. The protests were the immediate reaction to the Amended Income Tax Draft Law that was meant to address the kingdom’s serious debt and fiscal deficit by increasing revenue through taxes. Yet, frustration had long built up in the population as the economy of Jordan has been in decline for years. more…

Dr. Annette Ranko, Leontine von Felbert, Bayan Al-Halawani | Country Reports | June 28, 2018

Country portrait Jordan: Forms of extremism

From an exporter to a target of Islamist fighters?

While Jordan was not a primary target of Islamist terror in the past, relevant jihadist fighters and thinkers come from Jordan, such as Abu Musab al-Zarqawi, former al-Qaeda leader in Iraq, who was killed in 2006 by an American air strike in Iraq, or the Palestinian-Jordanian Abu Muhammad al-Maqdisi, who is considered one of the most influential jihadist ideologues in the world. more…

Country Reports | May 13, 2018

Business and Professional Women in Jordan

Despite showing remarkable rates of female education, a factor usually leading to higher levels of employment, Jordan continues to have one of the world’s lowest rates of women’s formal workforce participation at only 15%. Nevertheless, success stories of Jordanian women who managed to overcome barriers and establish their own businesses do exist. With this article we would like to draw attention to positive examples of Jordanian businesswomen, as they have the power to motivate and inspire others. more…

Stefanie Turkanik, Dr. Annette Ranko | Country Reports | December 21, 2017

Publikationen

Jordanien und die dschihadistische Gefahr

Wie stabil ist Deutschlands Partnerland im Nahen Osten?

Jordanien gilt vielen als „Anker der Stabilität“ in einer von Krisen gezeichneten Region. Auch Deutschland zielt deshalb auf eine längerfristige Partnerschaft ab, nicht zuletzt erkennbar durch die Verlegung der Bundeswehr- Tornados nach Jordanien. Zu konstatieren ist jedoch, dass Jordanien vor enormen wirtschaftlichen und innenpolitischen Herausforderungen steht. Dazu gehört eine dschihadistische Szene, deren jüngste Entwicklungen nahelegen, dass die Gefahr terroristischer Anschläge im Land weiterhin bestehen bleibt und innovative Ansätze im Rahmen der Extremismusprävention erforderlich sind. mehr…

Dr. Annette Ranko, Imke Haase | Auslandsinformationen | 4. Juli 2018

Der EU-Jordan Compact

Umsetzung in der Praxis

2016 läutete die "Supporting Syria and the Region"-Konferenz in London inmitten der syrischen Flüchtlingskrise einen Paradigmenwechsel in der europäischen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit ein: von einer kurzfristigen Notfallhilfe hin zu einer langfristigen Stärkung der Resilienzen der Erstaufnahmeländer. Der Jordan Compact, ein Abkommen zwischen der EU und Jordanien, war ein wichtiges Ergebnis der Konferenz. Zwei Jahre nach der Konferenz beleuchtet die Publikation, inwieweit das Abkommen in der Praxis umgesetzt wurde. mehr…

Shereen Abbadi | Länderberichte | 29. Juni 2018

Proteste in Jordanien

Die Proteste in Jordanien, die am 30. Mai 2018 mit einem landesweiten Streik begannen, waren die größten und ausdauerndsten der letzten Jahre und wurden von einer breiten Masse der Bevölkerung unterstützt. Die Proteste richteten sich unmittelbar gegen einen Entwurf für ein neues Einkommenssteuergesetz. Jedoch hatte sich schon lange Unzufriedenheit in der Bevölkerung aufgebaut, da die wirtschaftliche Situation Jordaniens sich seit Jahren verschlechtert, der Lebensstandard gesunken ist und sich die Preise für Güter des Grundbedarfs stark erhöht haben. mehr…

Dr. Annette Ranko, Leontine von Felbert, Bayan Al-Halawani | Länderberichte | 28. Juni 2018

Länderporträt Jordanien: Extremismusformen

Vom Exporteur zur Zielscheibe islamistischer Kämpfer?

Jordanien war in der Vergangenheit zwar selbst kein primäres Anschlagsziel islamistischen Terrors, doch einschlägige jihadistische Kämpfer und Denker kommen aus Jordanien, so beispielsweise der 2006 durch einen amerikanischen Luftangriff im Irak getötete Abu Musab al-Zarqawi, der ehemalige Führer von al-Qaeda im Irak (einem Vorläufer des sogenannten Islamischen Staates) oder der palästinensisch-jordanische Abu Muhammad al-Maqdisi, der als einer der einflussreichsten jihadistischen Ideologen weltweit gilt. mehr…

Länderberichte | 13. Mai 2018

Das gesellschaftliche Stimmungsbild im Nahen Osten

Wie schauen Israelis, Jordanier und Palästinenser auf politische Veränderungen im Nahen Osten?

Im August 2017 eröffneten drei arabische Israelis am nördlichen Zugang des Jerusalemer Tempelbergs/Haram ash-Sharif das Feuer auf israelische Grenzpolizisten. mehr…

Marc Frings, Dr. Annette Ranko, Dr. Alexander Brakel | Länderberichte | 30. April 2018