Security challenges in the Middle East

Jordanian Military at KAS

Also available in Deutsch

On 30 March 2017, the Royal Jordanian National Defense College (RJNDC) visited the headquarters of Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation in Berlin, as part of a visiting programme to Germany in the context of their Officers’ training in cooperation with the German Federal Ministry of Defence.

The RJNDC is the central training institution and advisory body for the Jordanian Military. After an introduction to the Foundation, its mission, and its projects in the Middle East, the discussion focused on issues of regional security. Once again, Jordan’s key role as a stabiliser and partner in the struggle against terrorism became apparent. Amongst other things, the Jordanians also stressed the risk of a spill-over of terrorist groups from Syria to Jordan. In addition, the head of the delegation, General Dr Youssef Al Khatib, emphasised the effective German-Jordanian cooperation in the field of border security. At the same time, he highlighted the relevance of civilian support and the importance of advice on political and especially economic reform processes in Jordan, as provided by Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Jordan, March 30, 2017

The Royal Jordanian National Defense College (RJNDC) at headquarters of Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation.

The delegation of the Royal Jordanian National Defense College (RJNDC) with the chairman of Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation, Dr. Hans-Gert Pöttering, Dr. Manuel Schubert (Head of KAS Amman), Dr. Andreas Jacobs (Politics and Consulting), Dr. Edmund Ratka and Dr. Malte Gaier (Team Middle East/North Africa).

Sicherheitsherausforderungen im Nahen Osten

Jordanische Militärs bei der KAS

Auch verfügbar in English

Das „Royal Jordanian National Defense College“ (RJNDC) besuchte am 30. März 2017 die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung als Teil einer Studienreise in Deutschland im Rahmen ihres Offizierslehrganges in Kooperation mit dem Bundesministerium für Verteidigung.

Das RJNDC ist die zentrale Fortbildungs- und Beratungsinstitution des jordanischen Militärs. Nach der Vorstellung der Stiftung, ihrer Mission und ihren Projekten im Nahen Osten standen Fragen regionaler Sicherheit im Fokus der Diskussion. Dabei wurde erneut die Schlüsselrolle Jordaniens für die Stabilisierung der Region und sein Beitrag als Verbündeter im Kampf gegen den Terrorismus deutlich. Seitens der Jordanier wurde unter anderem das Risiko eines Übergreifens terroristischer Gruppen von Syrien auf Jordanien herausgestellt. Der Leiter der Delegation, General Dr. Youssef Al-Khatib, betonte dabei die wirkungsvolle deutsch-jordanische militärische Zusammenarbeit bei der Grenzsicherung. Zugleich hob er die Bedeutung ziviler Unterstützung und Begleitung für politische und insbesondere wirtschaftspolitische Reformen in Jordanien hervor, wie sie vor Ort gerade auch von der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung geleistet werde.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Jordanien, 30. März 2017

Besuch des „Royal Jordanian National Defense College“ bei der KAS.

Die Delegation des „Royal Jordanian National Defense College“ (RJNDC) mit dem Vorsitzenden der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung Dr. Hans-Gert Pöttering, Dr. Manuel Schubert (Leiter KAS Amman), Dr. Andreas Jacobs (Politik und Beratung) sowie Dr. Edmund Ratka und Dr. Malte Gaier (Team Naher Osten/Nordafrika).