Page 3

T20 Task Force on Forced Migration (TFFM)in Amman

Leading up to this year’s G20 Hamburg Summit, Task Force on Forced Migration (TFFM) meetings have been held in Berlin and Amman. They seek to develop evidence-based policy advice and solutions for the current refugee situation, especially in terms of robust funding, distribution, education, and labour market integration. Following the framework of other TFFM, an Outreach Event was hosted in Amman (Jordan) from the 14th to the 16th of February 2017. Representatives from both the Jordan and Syria/Iraq offices of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung participated in this session. more…

Manuel Schubert, Imke Haase, Barbara Sabitzer | Event Reports | March 16, 2017

Policy Mechanisms of Ministries Working with International Organizations

On 27 February 2017, the Ministry of Social Development and KAS Jordan Office held a pilot workshop entitled, “Policy Mechanisms of Ministries Working with Foreign Organizations” to communicate best practice examples of registration, residency and work permit procedures for employees, and foreign funding applications, with the benefit of less obstructive bureaucracy as a consequence. The session helped close the procedural knowledge gap. more…

Manuel Schubert, Afaf Maraqa | Event Reports | February 27, 2017

Jordan’s cabinet re-(re-)-shuffled

A window of opportunity for reforms in Jordan?

At a time of deteriorating economic conditions and security challenges Prime Minister Hani Mulki, appointed by HM King Abdullah in May last year, conducted a re-shuffle to his cabinet on 15 January 2017. The changes were approved by a Royal decree and are affecting major portfolios. It is the second re-shuffle to Mulki’s cabinet after less than seven months in office and includes six new ministers. more…

Mona Koehler-Schindler, Manuel Schubert, Imke Haase | Country Reports | February 15, 2017

Merkel's Dilemma – Refugees and the Rise of the European Populists


The Regional Office Gulf States and the Jordan Office jointly organised an expert talk with TV presenter and journalist Mr Ali Aslan on Germany's refugee policy, the rise of European populist parties and the future of the European Union. more…

Dr. Gidon Windecker, Philipp Dienstbier | Event Reports | December 8, 2016

The Road to a Civil Democratic State

The Konrad Adenauer Foundation’s Jordan Office, in cooperation with the Nisan Center for Political and Parliamentary Development, has held a series of four workshops on topics presented by the government as matters of public debate. Those include King Abdullah’s Sixth Discussion paper on “Rule of Law and Civil State.” This fourth and last workshop in the series focused on the subject of the civil democratic state, the main topic of the King’s most recent discussion paper, and also dealt with the rule of law and judicial reform, subjects that developed out of the King’s paper. more…

Manuel Schubert, Mona Deeb | Event Reports | December 3, 2016

Publikationen

Seite 3

T20 Task Force on Forced Migration (TFFM)

Im Vorfeld zum diesjährigen G20-Treffen in Hamburg fanden zwei Treffen der „Task Force on Forced Migration“ (TFFM) statt, um evidenzbasierte Handlungsempfehlungen für globale Lösungen in den Bereichen Finanzierung, Verteilung, Bildung und (Arbeitsmarkt-)Integration von Flüchtlingen zu entwickeln. Im Rahmen der TFFM fand dabei vom 14. bis 16. Februar 2017 eine Veranstaltung in Amman, Jordanien statt. Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung nahm daran mit Vertretern der Auslandbüros Jordanien und Syrien/ Irak teil. mehr…

Dr. Manuel Schubert, Imke Haase, Barbara Sabitzer | Veranstaltungsberichte | 16. März 2017

Jordaniens (erneute) Kabinettsbildung

Neue Chancen für dringend benötigte Reformen?

Am 15. Januar 2017 ordnete der jordanische Premierminister Hani Al-Mulki eine Kabinettsumbildung an, bereits die zweite in seiner siebenmonatigen Amtszeit. Die neuen Minister sind mehrheitlich alte Bekannte der politischen Arena Jordaniens. Ist die jordanische Regierung in der Lage, neue Akzente zu setzen, notwendige Reformen zu implementieren und das Königreich gegen den wirtschaftlichen Abwärtstrend und den anschwellenden Extremismus zu immunisieren? mehr…

Dr. Manuel Schubert, Mona Koehler-Schindler, Imke Haase | Länderberichte | 2. März 2017

Merkels Dilemma – Flüchtlingspolitik und Populismus in Europa

EXPERTENGESPRÄCH ZU DEN GESELLSCHAFTSPOLITISCHEN HERAUSFORDERUNGEN IM UMGANG MIT MIGRATION

Gemeinsam mit dem Auslandsbüro Jordanien veranstaltete das Regionalprogramm Golf-Staaten ein Expertengespräch mit dem Journalisten und TV-Moderator Ali Aslan zum Thema Flüchtlingspolitik, dem Aufstieg populistischer Parteien und der Zukunft der Europäischen Union (EU). mehr…

Dr. Gidon Windecker, Philipp Dienstbier | Veranstaltungsberichte | 8. Dezember 2016

„Tribal Revival“? Stammesrecht in Jordanien

Zwar lebt die Mehrheit der jordanischen Bevölkerung heutzutage nicht mehr als Nomaden, sondern sesshaft in Städten und Dörfern, dennoch stellen Stammeszugehörigkeiten und -loyalitäten weiterhin eine entscheidende, häufig sogar die primäre Identifikationsquelle dar und beeinflussen auch aktuelle Rechtskonzeptionen. Die jordanische Regierung hat nun ein neues Gesetz verabschiedet, welches Praktiken der Stammesverfahren beschränkt und moderate Aspekte in das staatliche Rechtssystem integriert. mehr…

Dr. Manuel Schubert, Imke Haase | Länderberichte | 20. November 2016

Parlamentswahlen in Jordanien

Wahl des 18. Nationalen Parlaments am 20. September 2016 mit neuem Verhältniswahlrecht

Im ganzen Land säumte eine Flut von Wahlplakaten die Straßen und öffentlichen Plätze: Mehr als 1.200 Kandidaten hatten sich für die Wahl um die 130 Sitze der Abgeordnetenversammlung aufstellen lassen, doch der Enthusiasmus der Jordanier blieb begrenzt: Nur 37 Prozent der wahlberechtigen Bevölkerung gingen trotz des nationalen Urlaubstages zu den Urnen. Dennoch lobten internationale Beobachter eine transparente Wahl, die das Land auf dem Reformweg weiter bestärke. Lohnenswert ist ein Blick auf das neue Verhältniswahlrechts zur Förderung von Parteienbildungen und die Rückkehr der Muslimbrüder. mehr…

Imke Haase, Dr. Gidon Windecker, Dr. Manuel Schubert | Länderberichte | 30. September 2016