The Mekong Region: From a divided to a connected Region

Published by Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung Cambodia

Also available in Deutsch

The new KAS publication “The Mekong Region: From a Divided to a Connected Region” by Dr Vannarith Chheang describes the dynamics of the Mekong region and points out the role of regional and international institutions, cooperation and partnerships with regard to economic and social development, environmental policies and energy security.

The new KAS publication “The Mekong Region: From a Divided to a Connected Region” by Dr Vannarith Chheang describes the dynamics of the Mekong region and points out the role of regional and international institutions, cooperation and partnerships with regard to economic and social development, environmental policies and energy security. The detailed analysis will be helpful for everyone who tries to understand to complex connections and pending challenges in the Mekong region.

Background:

The KAS workshop on ”Regional Cooperation and Integration in the Greater Mekong Sub-Region - What role for KAS and KAS Alumni” in November 2016 brought together KAS alumni from Myanmar, Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand to share experiences and country perspectives concerning cooperation and integration in the Mekong Region. Set in this context, the workshop fostered political dialogue and made Climate Change, Energy Security as well as Rule of Law a subject of discussion. The paper is based on the opening remarks of Dr Vannarith Chheang, senior fellow at Cambodian Institute for Cooperation and Peace.

published

Cambodia, February 23, 2017

The Mekong Region: From a divided to a connected region

Eine Publikation der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung Kambodscha

Auch verfügbar in English

Die Publikation “The Mekong Region: From a Divided to a Connected Region” von Dr Chheang Vannarith beschreibt die Dynamik der Mekong Region und hebt dabei die Rolle regionaler und internationaler Institutionen, Kooperationen und Partnerschaften hervor.

Die Publikation “The Mekong Region: From a Divided to a Connected Region” von Dr Chheang Vannarith beschreibt die Dynamik der Mekong Region und hebt dabei die Rolle regionaler und internationaler Institutionen, Kooperationen und Partnerschaften hervor. Dabei stehen vor allem die Felder ökonomische und gesellschaftliche Entwicklung, Umweltpolitik und Energiesicherheit im Vordergrund. Für jeden Leser, der sich für die komplexen Zusammenhänge und die anstehenden Herausforderungen der Region interessiert wird die Dr. Chheang’s Analyse mit Sicherheit hilfreich sein.

Hintergrund:

Der Workshop “The Mekong Region: From a Divided to a Connected Region” im November 2016 brachte KAS Alumni aus Myanmar, Vietnam, Thailand und Kambodscha zusammen um den Austausch zwischen den Ländern und ihren Perspektiven bezüglich der Mekong Region anzustoßen und außerdem den politischen Dialog über Themen wie Klimawandel, Energiesicherheit sowie Rechtsstaatlichkeit zu fördern. Die Publikation basiert auf den Opening Remarks von Dr Chheang Vannarith, Senior Fellow am Kambodschanischen Institut für Kooperation und Frieden (CICP).

erschienen

Kambodscha, 23. Februar 2017