Promoting the economic transformation in Kazakhstan

Also available in Deutsch, русский

KAS Fellows Seminar in Burabay, July 22-24, 2016

At the end of July of 2016 the annual seminar for alumni-fellows of the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation (KAS) took place. The event was held at Burabay, a popular recreational area close to Kazakhstan’s capital Astana.

At the outset Thomas Helm, director of the KAS foreign office in Kazakhstan and Mukhtar Yerman, PhD, member of the Mazhilis of the Republic of Kazakhstan could welcome 30 new KAS fellows that had won out over the roughly 500 applications within a month-long selection process.

Over the further course of the three-day seminar the new and former fellows and their partners had the opportunity to learn and exchange views about the current state and economic challenges of their country within a friendly atmosphere. The invited keynote speakers from both Kazakh and German political and economic backgrounds, including Arman Kashkinbekov, Vice Chairman of the Association for Renewable Energies Kazakhstan, Murat Abenov, Vice Chairman of the National Chamber of Commerce of Kazakhstan, Adil Jalilov, Director of the international journalists center MediaNet, Dirk Eppner, Finance & Supply Chain Manager of Beiersdorf AG in Central Asia and Johnny Kramer, Vice Ambassador at the German Embassy in Kazakhstan, delivered further insights and experience reports and called on the participants for joint discussions. Olzhas Khudaibergenov, Director of the Center for Macro-Economic Research provided a review on the state of the Kazakh economic transformation. A field trip to the surrounding area moreover gave

the participants a chance to personally discover the impressive landscape of Burabay and its historical relevance.

Aside from mere financial aspects the so-called “Sur-Place” scholarship of the Konrad-Adenauer-Foundation particularly involves chances for advanced education and networking among its fellows. Accordingly, the fellows seminar is especially supposed to rapidly impart a large amount of impressions and acquaintanceships and therefore help to grow as a group, collectively.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Kasachstan, August 3, 2016

Die wirtschaftliche Transformation in Kasachstan vorantreiben

Auch verfügbar in English, русский

KAS Stipendiatenseminar in Burabay, 22.-24. Juli 2016

Ende Juli 2016 fand das jährliche Seminar für Alumni-Stipendiaten der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Kasachstan statt. Als Veranstaltungsort diente Burabay, ein beliebtes Naherholungsgebiet in der Nähe von Kasachstans Hauptstadt Astana.

Zu Beginn des Seminars konnten Thomas Helm, Leiter des KAS-Auslandsbüros in Kasachstan und Dr. Mukhtar Yerman, Abgeordneter des Mazhilis der Republik Kasachstan 30 neue Stipendiaten begrüßen, die sich innerhalb des monatelangen Auswahlverfahrens aus etwa 500 Bewerbern durchgesetzt hatten.

Der weitere Verlauf des dreitägigen Seminars bot den neuen und ehemaligen Stipendiaten der Stiftung gemeinsam mit ihren Partnern die Möglichkeit, sich in lockerer Atmosphäre über die aktuelle Lage und die wirtschaftlichen Herausforderungen ihres Landes zu informieren und auszutauschen. Geladene Referenten von Seiten kasachischer sowie deutscher Politik und Wirtschaft, darunter Arman Kashkinbekov, Stellvertretender Vorsitzender der Assoziation für erneuerbare Energien Kasachstans, Murat Abenov, Stellvertretender Vorsitzender der Nationalen Unternehmerkammer Kasachstans, Adil Jalilov, Direktor des internationalen Journalistikzentrums MediaNet, Dirk Eppner, Finance & Supply Chain Manager der Beiersdorf AG in Zentralasien und Johnny Kramer, stellvertretender Botschafter an der deutschen Botschaft in Kasachstan, boten erweiterte Einblicke und Erfahrungsberichte und luden zu Diskussionen ein. Olzhas Khudaibergenov, Direktor des Zentrums für makroökonomische Forschungen nahm eine Bestandsaufnahme der kasachischen Wirtschaftstransformation vor. Eine Exkursion in die Umgebung ermöglichte den Teilnehmern zudem, die beeindruckende Landschaft von Burabay und ihre historische Bedeutung zu entdecken.

Das sogenannte „Sur-Place“-Stipendium der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Kasachstan schließt bewusst neben finanziellen Aspekten auch verstärkt Chancen zu Fortbildung und Vernetzung der Stipendiaten mit ein. Das Stipendiatenseminar vertritt dabei insbesondere den Anspruch, zügig eine hohe Dichte von Eindrücken und Bekanntschaften zu vermitteln und dadurch als Gemeinschaft nachhaltig zu wachsen.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Kasachstan, 3. August 2016