KAS empowers young students to become Job-Creators

October 11 Tuesday

Date/time

October 11, 2016

Loc.

Nakuru County, Kenya

Type

Seminar

In cooperation with the Kenyatta University, Kenya, the Konrad Adenauer Foundation organized a six weeks lasting students training on entrepreneurship from in Nakuru.

Also available in Deutsch

In cooperation with the Kenyatta University, Kenya, the Konrad Adenauer Foundation organized a six weeks lasting students training on entrepreneurship from in Nakuru. The STEP-4Y –Program (Student Training for Entrepreneurial Promotion for Youths) is developed by Leuphana University to assist young students to become Job-Creators. The efficiency of the training has been proven for the three years the program has been implemented at Kenyatta University, where 86% of the trainees were able to start small businesses successfully.

The seminar reflected mainly on the empowerment of the youths to be able to think “outside the box” and start innovative enterprises that will generate income for them. It further focused on social justice where with public private partnership structures in place, the previously marginalized groups can now access local economic opportunities. This is due to the introduction of affirmative action in the conduct of business with both the government and the private sector. The concept of social justice was also discussed in depth and several dimensions of the current status of the economy and policy implementation in Kenya were brought out. Additionally, there was a session that discussed the necessary entrepreneurship skills required for successful running of small businesses. Through seminar the students learned how to overcome barriers and networking challenges, how to write a business plan and how to register a business legally. Participants were also taken through simulations on how to establish small businesses and pre-empt challenges within their local economies based on the Political, Economic, Social, Technological, Environmental and Legal (PESTEL) analysis. The training covered a standardized curriculum of 12 modules that cover a wide range of areas relevant to the needs of the youths and cut across three domains namely psychology, business and entrepreneurship.

At the opening ceremony the training seminar was acknowledged by the Deputy Governor of Nakuru County, H.E Joseph Ruto, who represented the Governor. The County Governments was given the opportunity to select the 100 youths within Nakuru County. Others in attendance included the 12 trainers, the county representatives and two KAS representatives. Upon completion of the training in a separate closing ceremony, the trainees were given a certificate issued by Kenyatta University and co-signed by the University of Leuphana and the Nakuru County Government benefitting from the program and the sponsor.

With the training of the one hundred students over the period of six weeks, KAS has made an important contribution to empower young students to become Job-creators. STEP has already been successfully implemented three times at Kenyatta University; the evaluation has showed positive short- and long-term effects. There was a change in entrepreneurial mind-set: students identified more opportunities, were more confident, and showed more entrepreneurial planning and action. These factors predict successful start-up and it is therefore expect that students will start more ventures and create more value.

The efficiency of the training has been proven for the three years the program has been implemented at Kenyatta University, where 86% of the trainees were able to start small businesses successfully.

The efficiency of the training has been proven for the three years the program has been implemented at Kenyatta University, where 86% of the trainees were able to start small businesses successfully.

Cutting the for the closing ceremnony.

Cutting the cake for the closing ceremony.

Participants celebrating their achievements.

Participants celebrating their achievements.

Representatives of Nakuru County, Kenyatta University, Leuphana University and KAS at the closing ceremony.

Representatives of Nakuru County, Kenyatta University, Leuphana University and KAS at the closing ceremony.

Contact person

Antonie Maria Hutter

Programme Coordinator

Antonie Maria Hutter
Phone +254 20 2610021/2
Fax +254 20 2610023
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English

Die KAS unterstützt junge Erwachsene dabei, ihre unternehmerischen Potentiale auszuschöpfen

Oktober 11 Dienstag

Datum/Uhrzeit

11. Oktober 2016

Ort

Nakuru County, Kenia

Typ

Seminar

In Kooperation mit der Kenyatta Universität hat die Konrad Adenauer Stiftung ein sechswöchiges Training in Nakuru organisiert, das jungen Kenianern ihre Potentiale im Unternehmertum aufzeigt.

Auch verfügbar in English

In Kooperation mit der Kenyatta Universität hat die Konrad Adenauer Stiftung ein sechswöchiges Training in Nakuru organisiert, das jungen Kenianern ihre Potentiale im Unternehmertum aufzeigt. Das STEP-4Y-Programm (Student Training for Entrepreneurial Promotion for Youths) wurde von der Leuphana Universität entwickelt, um Schüler und Studenten dazu zu ermutigen selbstständige und nachhaltige Geschäftsmodelle zu entwerfen. Frühere STEP-Trainings der Kenyatta Universität haben bereits gezeigt, dass 86% der Teilnehmer in der Folge ein erfolgreiches Kleinunternehmen aufbauen konnten.

Fokus des Trainings ist es, jungen Erwachsenen zu zeigen, wie sie abseits geebneter Pfade innovative Geschäftsideen entwickeln können. Besonders marginalisierten Gruppen werden damit Möglichkeiten aufgezeigt, wie sie erfolgreich und kreativ aus Armut und Arbeitslosigkeit entkommen können. In den 12 verschiedenen Unterrichtseinheiten wurde dafür die Notwendigkeit unternehmerischer Fähigkeit hervorgehoben, um ein erfolgreiches Geschäft zu führen. Während des Seminars haben die Teilnehmer dabei u. a. gelernt wie man einen Businessplan entwickelt, seine Netzwerkfähigkeiten stärkt, Investoren von sich überzeugt und ein Unternehmen legal registrieren kann. Teil des Trainings war auch eine real-Simulation, bei welcher die jungen Erwachsenen bereits ihr eigenes Geschäftsmodell, simultan zu den verschiedenen Seminaren, entwickeln. In der offenen Diskussion mit den Trainern und anderen Teilnehmern wurden die anfangs vagen Ideen dabei zu effizienten Unternehmensplänen weiterentwickelt. Neben den unternehmerischen Fähigkeiten, dient die Ausbildung in weiteren Bereichen wie Wirtschaftspsychologie und Recht dazu die Nachhaltigkeit der Projekte sicherzustellen und mündige Bürger als Garanten von Demokratie und Rechtstaatlichkeit heranzuziehen.

Eingerahmt wurde das sechswöchige Training von einer Eröffnungs- und einer Abschlusszeremonie, die jeweils vom Deputy Governor of Nakuru County, H.E Joseph Ruto, begleitet wurde. Bei der Abschlusszeremonie erhielten die 100 Teilnehmer des Trainings schließlich ein Zertifikat über die erfolgreiche Mitwirkung am STEP-Programm, welches vom County-Government, der Kenyatta Universität und der Leuphana Universität unterschrieben ist. Neben den Fähigkeiten die sie bei dem Training erworben haben, wurde damit zusätzlich die Chancen der Teilnehmer auf eine professionelle Anstellung erhöht.

Mit der Durchführung des STEP-Programms hat die KAS einen wichtigen Beitrag geleistet, junge Menschen dazu zu ermutigen, sich selbstständig zu machen und somit auch weitere Arbeitsplätze zu schaffen. Frühere STEP-Trainings der Kenyatta Universität haben bereits gezeigt, dass sich die entwickelten Unternehmen auch langfristig auf dem Markt behaupten können. Darüber hinaus wurden den Teilnehmern ihre Potentiale vor Augen geführt und somit ihr Selbstbewusstsein, mit einem positiven Blick in die Zukunft, gesteigert.

The efficiency of the training has been proven for the three years the program has been implemented at Kenyatta University, where 86% of the trainees were able to start small businesses successfully.

Frühere STEP-Trainings der Kenyatta Universität haben bereits gezeigt, dass 86% der Teilnehmer in der Folge ein erfolgreiches Kleinunternehmen aufbauen konnten.

Cutting the for the closing ceremnony.

Anschnitt der Torte bei der Abschlusszeremonie.

Participants celebrating their achievements.

Die jungen Teilnehmer des Trainings feiern ihre Erfolge.

Representatives of Nakuru County, Kenyatta University, Leuphana University and KAS at the closing ceremony.

Vertreter des Nakuru Countys, der Kenyatta Universität, der Leuphana Universität und der KAS, bei der Abschlusszeremonie.

Ansprechpartner

Antonie Maria Hutter

Programmkoordinatorin

Antonie Maria Hutter
Tel. +254 20 2610021/2
Fax +254 20 2610023
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English