Korea Global Forum 2017

New Paths to Peace on the Korean Peninsula through International Cooperation

Also available in Deutsch

Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS), together with the Ministry of Unification of the Republic of Korea and The ASAN Institute for Policy Studies, hosted the "Korea Global Forum 2017" on September 29, 2017 in Berlin, Germany.

Image

Despite the heightened tensions on the Korean Peninsula that persist in the course of an expanding nuclear and missile development program of North Korea, the window for a peaceful solution through multi-level dialogue has not been closed entirely.
Against this backdrop, a delegation from the South Korean Ministry of Unification got together with experts for foreign and security policy at the Berlin headquarters of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) for the. Guest speakers of the "Korea Global Forum 2017" were among others MP Philipp Lengsfeld, Dr. Joachim Bertele, group leader for foreign policy, security policy, and global questions in the German Federal Chancellery, the former Swiss Army Major General Urs Gerber, and Mr. Moon Chung-in, special advisor for unification, diplomacy and national security affairs for South Korean President Moon Jae-in. This workshop, a joint program of the KAS Korea Office, the Ministry of Unification and the ASAN Institute for Policy Studies, provided an opportunity for an exchange of views in which the initiatives were intensively discussed that South Korean President Moon Jae-in had sketched in his Berlin speech in early July this year.
It became apparent that in addition to the efforts of the international community, a move towards more communication at the official level between South Korea and North Korea must also be attempted in order to contribute to a political solution of the current conflict. In this context, the 2018 Winter Olympics in Pyeongchang can play an important part: great hope is given to the fact that this sport mass gathering event can come in useful for further diplomatic attempts.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Korea, September 29, 2017

Contact

Stefan Samse

Resident Representative of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Korea

Stefan Samse
Phone +82 2 790 4774
Fax +82 2 793 3979
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français

Korea Global Forum 2017

New Paths to Peace on the Korean Peninsula through International Cooperation

Auch verfügbar in English

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung hat gemeinsam mit dem Wiedervereinigungsministerium der Republik Korea und dem koreanischen ASAN Institute for Policy Studies am Freitag, den 29. September 2017, die Konferenz "Korea Global Forum 2017" ausgerichtet.

Abbildung

In den letzten Wochen und Monaten ist es zu einer Zuspitzung der Konfrontation zwischen Nordkorea und den USA gekommen. Die Atom- und Raketentechnik Nordkoreas ist in der Entwicklung weit fortgeschritten, weiter als lange Zeit angenommen. Im Fall einer militärischen Eskalation in Nordkorea drohen verheerende Konsequenzen.
Vor diesem Hintergrund trafen am 29. September in der Zentrale der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung im Rahmen des „Korea Global Forum 2017“ eine Delegation des südkoreanischen Ministeriums für Wiedervereinigung mit Experten für Außen- und Sicherheitspolitik zusammen. Gastredner waren u.a. Philipp Lengsfeld MdB, VLR Dr. Joachim Bertele, der Generalmajor a.D. der Schweizer Armee Urs Gerber und Herrn Moon Chung-in, Sonderberater für Auswärtige Angelegenheiten und Nationale Sicherheit des südkoreanischen Präsidenten. Dieser Workshop, ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt der KAS Korea, dem Wiedervereinigungsministerium und dem ASAN Institute for Policy Studies, bot den Rahmen für einen intensiven Meinungsaustausch, bei dem die Initiativen diskutiert wurden, die der südkoreanische Präsident Moon Jae-in in seiner Berliner Rede Anfang Juli skizziert hatte.
Dabei wurde deutlich, dass neben den Bemühungen der internationalen Gemeinschaft auch eine Hinwendung zu mehr Kommunikation auf offizieller Ebene zwischen Süd- und Nordkorea angestrebt werden muss, um zu einer friedlichen Lösung des Konflikts auf der koreanischen Halbinsel beizutragen. Die bevorstehenden Olympischen Winterspiele 2018 in Pyeongchang können in diesem Zussamhang eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Denn neben der sportlichen Bedeutung wird große Hoffnung darin gesetzt, dass sich dieses Ereignis vor allem, aber nicht nur im Fall einer Teilnahme nordkoreanischer Athleten auch diplomatisch nutzen lässt.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Korea, 29. September 2017

Kontakt

Stefan Samse

Leiter des Auslandsbüros Korea

Stefan Samse
Tel. +82 2 790 4774
Fax +82 2 793 3979
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français