About Us

Also available in Deutsch, Français

Freedom, justice and solidarity are the basic principles underlying the work of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS). The KAS is a political foundation, closely associated with the Christian Democratic Union of Germany (CDU). As co-founder of the CDU and the first Chancellor of the Federal Republic of Germany, Konrad Adenauer (1876-1967) united Christian-social, conservative and liberal traditions. His name is synonymous with the democratic reconstruction of Germany, the firm alignment of foreign policy with the trans-Atlantic community of values, the vision of a unified Europe and an orientation towards the social market economy. His intellectual heritage continues to serve both as our aim as well as our obligation today.

In our European and international cooperation efforts we work for people to be able to live self-determined lives in freedom and dignity. We make a contribution underpinned by values to helping Germany meet its growing responsibilities throughout the world.

We encourage people to lend a hand in shaping the future along these lines. With more than 70 offices abroad and projects in over 120 countries, we make a unique contribution to the promotion of democracy, the rule of law and a social market economy. To foster peace and freedom we encourage a continuous dialog at the national and international levels as well as the exchange between cultures and religions.

Human beings in their distinctive dignity and with their rights and responsibilities are at the heart of our work. We are guided by the conviction that human beings are the starting point in the effort to bring about social justice and democratic freedom while promoting sustainable economic activity. By bringing people together who embrace their responsibilities in society, we develop active networks in the political and economic spheres as well as in society itself. The guidance we provide on the basis of our political know-how and knowledge helps to shape the globalization process along more socially equitable, ecologically sustainable and economically efficient lines.

We cooperate with governmental institutions, political parties, civil society organizations and handpicked elites, building strong partnerships along the way. In particular we seek to intensify political cooperation in the area of development cooperation at the national and international levels on the foundations of our objectives and values. Together with our partners we make a contribution to the creation of an international order that enables every country to develop in freedom and under its own responsibility.

Through her country offices in the Middle East, the Konrad Adenauer Foundation assists the political, economic, and social development in the region. We want to contribute in a sustainable way to the rooting and the reinforcement of democracy, the rule of law, and civil society, to the development and the consolidation of social market economy structures, to the avoidance of violent conflict, to the consolidation of cooperation within the region and with Europe, as well as to a constructive dialogue between cultures and religions.

The country programme Lebanon supports projects independently as well as in cooperation with the Rule of Law Programme Middle East / North Africa, and also focuses on the current situation in Syria as well as on its repercussions in Lebanon. The work emphasis is on democracy and the rule of law, civil society, social market economy, intercultural dialogue, prevention of conflict and Euro-Mediterranean relations. Concretely, it is the mission of the country programme based in Beirut to:

  • contribute to the political, economic, and social development in Lebanon;
  • promote knowledge about the functioning of political institutions and processes;
  • inform about relevant political, economic, and social topics and offer a forum for the discussion of important societal problems;
  • strengthen German-Lebanese and Euro-Lebanese relations.

To achieve this, the Konrad Adenauer Foundation works together with a multitude of local partner organisations. Amongst these are, inter alia, Universities and scientific institutions, Think Tanks, civil society associations, and organisations of the private sector as well as governmental institutions and parties.

The country programme Lebanon engages in several activities for its mission and aims. These activities take the form of conferences, seminars, workshops, and forums for dialogue to debates or round tables. Further, it issues publications and engages with policy makers. Depending on the topic the programme addresses different audiences.

Finally, through its task of political education, the country programme Lebanon supports the dialogue about societal values as well as the interreligious and cultural dialogue in Lebanon.

On our website we invite you to get to know us, our activities, projects, and partners.

Über uns

Auch verfügbar in English, Français

Willkommen bei der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung!

Freiheit, Gerechtigkeit und Solidarität sind die Leitprinzipien der Arbeit der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS). Die KAS ist eine politische Stiftung, die der Christlich Demokratischen Union Deutschlands (CDU) nahe steht. Als Mitbegründer der CDU und erster deutscher Bundeskanzler verband Konrad Adenauer (1876-1967) christlich-soziale, konservative und liberale Traditionen. Sein Name steht für den demokratischen Wiederaufbau Deutschlands, die außenpolitische Verankerung in einer transatlantischen Wertegemeinschaft, die Vision der europäischen Einigung und die Orientierung an der Sozialen Marktwirtschaft. Sein geistiges Erbe ist uns weiterhin Aufgabe und Verpflichtung zugleich.

Mit unserer Europäischen und Internationalen Zusammenarbeit setzen wir uns dafür ein, dass Menschen selbstbestimmt in Freiheit und Würde leben können. Wir leisten einen werteorientierten Beitrag dazu, dass Deutschland seiner wachsenden Verantwortung in der Welt gerecht wird.

Wir wollen Menschen dazu bewegen, die Zukunft in diesem Sinne mitzugestalten. Durch weltweit mehr als 70 Büros und Projekte in über 120 Ländern leisten wir einen eigenständigen Beitrag zur Förderung von Demokratie, Rechtsstaatlichkeit und Sozialer Marktwirtschaft. Um Frieden und Freiheit zu sichern, unterstützen wir den kontinuierlichen außen- und sicherheitspolitischen Dialog sowie den Austausch zwischen Kulturen und Religionen.

Im Zentrum steht für uns der Mensch in seiner unverwechselbaren Würde, seinen Rechten und Pflichten. Er bildet für uns den Ausgangspunkt für soziale Gerechtigkeit, freiheitliche Demokratie und nachhaltiges Wirtschaften. Indem wir Menschen zusammenbringen, die ihre gesellschaftliche Verantwortung annehmen, entwickeln wir aktive Netzwerke in Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Unser politisches Wissensmanagement verbessert die Chancen, die Globalisierung sozial gerecht, ökologisch nachhaltig und wirtschaftlich effizient zu gestalten.

Partnerschaftlich arbeiten wir mit staatlichen Institutionen, Parteien, Organisationen der Bürgergesellschaft sowie ausgewählten Eliten zusammen. Durch unsere Ziele und Wertevorstellungen wollen wir insbesondere in der Entwicklungspolitik auch in Zukunft politische Zusammenarbeit regional und global vertiefen. Zusammen mit unseren Partnern tragen wir zu einer internationalen Ordnung bei, die jedem Land eine Entwicklung in Freiheit und Eigenverantwortung ermöglicht.

Durch ihre Länderprogramme im Nahen Osten wirkt die KAS an der politischen, wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Entwicklung der Region mit. Sie will einen nachhaltigen Beitrag zur Verankerung und Stärkung von Demokratie, Rechtsstaat und Zivilgesellschaft, zur Entwicklung und Vertiefung sozial orientierter, marktwirtschaftlicher Strukturen, zur Vermeidung gewaltsamer Konflikte, zur Vertiefung der Kooperation innerhalb der Region und mit Europa sowie zu einem konstruktiven Dialog der Kulturen und Religionen leisten.

Das Auslandsbüro in Beirut betreut Projekte im Libanon sowohl unabhängig als auch in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Rechtsstaatsprogramm Naher Osten / Nordafrika der KAS und beschäftigt sich derzeit auch mit der aktuellen Lage in Syrien sowie ihrer Auswirkung auf den Libanon. Die Schwerpunkte der Arbeit liegen in den Bereichen Demokratie und Rechtstaat, Zivilgesellschaft, Soziale Marktwirtschaft, interkultureller Dialog, Konfliktprävention und euromediterrane Beziehungen.

Konkret ist es die Mission des Auslandsbüros in Beirut:

  • zur politischen, wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Entwicklung im Libanon beizutragen;
  • Wissen über die Funktionsweise politischer Institutionen und Prozesse zu vermitteln;
  • über relevante politische, wirtschaftliche und soziale Themen zu informieren und Foren für die Diskussion wichtiger gesellschaftlicher Probleme anzubieten;
  • die deutsch-libanesischen, bzw. die europäisch-libanesischen Beziehungen zu stärken.

Zur Realisierung ihrer Ziele arbeitet die KAS mit einer Vielzahl von lokalen Partnerorganisationen zusammen. Hierzu gehören u.a. Universitäten und wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen, Think-Tanks, Vereinigungen der Zivilgesellschaft und Verbände der Privatwirtschaft sowie staatliche Institutionen und Parteien.

Das Auslandsbüro in Beirut engagiert sich durch eine Vielzahl an Aktivitäten für die Anliegen und Ziele der KAS im Libanon. Diese Aktivitäten finden in Form von Konferenzen, Seminaren, Workshops, Dialogforen, Debatten oder Runden Tischen statt. Darüber hinaus werden Publikationen erstellt und Entscheidungsträger fachlich und politisch beraten. Je nach Thematik werden dabei unterschiedliche Zielgruppen angesprochen.

Nicht zuletzt unterstützt die KAS in Beirut durch ihre Aufgabe der politischen Bildung den Dialog über gesellschaftliche Grundwerte sowie den interreligiösen und kulturellen Dialog im Libanon.

Auf diesen Seiten laden wir Sie dazu ein, unsere einzelnen Projekte und Partner kennenzulernen sowie die Einschätzung der KAS zu verschiedenen aktuellen Fragestellungen zu konsultieren.