Young Lebanese participate in a workshop on interfaith dialogue

July 16 Saturday

Date/time

July 16 - 17, 2016

Loc.

Batroun, Lebanon

Type

Workshop

On July 16 and 17, 2016 a workshop series on conflict resolution techniques has been implemented in the Lebanese town Batroun.

Also available in Deutsch

The event, which has been organized by the Konrad Adenauer Foundation in cooperation with the Lebanese NGO EDGE, was directed at young, socially engaged men and women aged 20 to 26.

The workshop series is taking place on two successive weekends, first in the north of Lebanon in Batroun, then in Baalbeck. Lebanon is a religiously, politically and socially diverse country, which has frequently led to conflicts between different societal subgroups. Therefore, the main objective of this project is to equip the socially engaged Lebanese youth with conflict resolution strategies, which they can apply in the course of their future engagement.

On July 16, the workshop series was inaugurated with speeches of Marwan Abdallah, co-founder of EDGE, and Hana Nasser, Administrative Director of the KAS office in Beirut. Both speakers emphasized the importance of peaceful conflict resolution strategies and praised the successful cooperation between EDGE and the Konrad Adenauer Foundation.

Subsequently, the workshop s, which were attended by eleven young men and women from diverse social, religious and political backgrounds, began. The program was led by Cynthia Nassif, a specialist in conflict resolution strategies, who is experienced with UN and NGO work. Over the course of the weekend she informed the participants about different conflict types, dialogue strategies and stress situations. Thanks to the practical focus of the workshops the participants had the opportunity to put their newly acquired knowledge directly into practice.

Considering the fruitful exchange of experiences and motivation of the participants, the weekend was a great success. The second part of the workshop series, which is going to take part in Baalbeck next weekend is thus awaited with anticipation.

Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Workshops im Gespräch

Discussion between participants of the workshops

Eröffnung des Workshops

Opening session of the workshops

Contact person

Peter Rimmele

Resident Representative India

Peter Rimmele
Phone +91 11 26113520
Fax +91 11 45506836
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Bahasa Indonesia

Hana Nasser

Administrative Director

Hana Nasser
Phone +961 (0)1 388 095/6
Languages: Deutsch,‎ Français,‎ English,‎ عربي

Junge Libanesinnen und Libanesen nehmen an einem interkonfessionellen Dialog-Workshop teil

Juli 16 Samstag

Datum/Uhrzeit

16. – 17. Juli 2016

Ort

Batroun, Libanon

Typ

Workshop

Am 16. und 17. Juli 2016 fand in der libanesischen Stadt Batroun eine Workshop-Reihe zum Thema Konfliktmanagement statt.

Auch verfügbar in English

Die von der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Zusammenarbeit mit der libanesischen Nichtregierungsorganisation EDGE durchgeführte Veranstaltung richtete sich an junge, zivilgesellschaftlich engagierte Frauen und Männer im Alter von20 bis 26 Jahren.

Die Workshop-Reihe findet an zwei aufeinanderfolgenden Wochenenden zunächst im Norden von Libanon in Batroun und anschließend in Baalbeck statt. Der Libanon ist ein religiös, politisch und sozial äußerst vielfältiges Land, was bereits häufig zu Konflikten zwischen den diversen gesellschaftlichen Subgruppen geführt hat. Ziel des Projektes ist es dementsprechend junge, zivilgesellschaftlich aktive Libanesen über Konfliktmanagementstrategien zu informieren, welche sie im Zuge ihres zukünftigen Engagements anwenden können.

Die Workshop-Reihe wurde am 16. Juli mit Reden von Marwan Abdallah, dem Mitbegründer von EDGE, und Hana Nasser, Büroleiterin des KAS-Büros in Beirut, eröffnet. Dabei wurde die Bedeutung von friedlichen Konfliktbewältigungsstrategien hervorgeheben. Zudem wurde die erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit zwischen EDGE und der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung gelobt.

Anschließend begannen die Workshops, an denen insgesamt elf junge Männer und Frauen mit diversen sozialen, religiösen und politischen Hintergründen teilnahmen. Das Programm wurde von Cynthia Nassif, einer mit UN- und Nichtregierungsarbeit erfahrenen Spezialistin im Bereich Konfliktmanagement, geleitet. Im Laufe des Wochenendesinformierte sie die Teilnehmer unter anderem über verschiedene Konfliktarten, Dialogstrategien und Stresssituationen. Die Workshops waren sehr praktisch orientiert, wodurch die jungen Frauen und Männer Gelegenheit hatten, ihr neuerlangtes Wissen direkt in die Tat umzusetzen.

Das Wochenende war bereits durch den Erfahrungsaustausch und die Motivation der diversen Teilnehmer ein großer Erfolg. Mit Spannung wird dementsprechend der zweite Teil der Workshop-Serie erwartet, der nächstes Wochenende in Baalbeck stattfinden wird.

Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des Workshops im Gespräch

Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer der Workshops im Gespräch

Eröffnung des Workshops

Eröffnung der Workshops

Ansprechpartner

Peter Rimmele

Leiter des Auslandsbüros Indien

Peter Rimmele
Tel. +91 11 26113520
Fax +91 11 45506836
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Bahasa Indonesia

Hana Nasser

Verwaltungsleiterin/Programm-Managerin

Hana Nasser
Tel. +961 (0)1 388 095/6
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ Français,‎ English,‎ عربي