A country between hope and challenge

Prof. Dr. Vogel and Dr. Wahlers visited Lebanon

Also available in Deutsch

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Vogel, former Minister President of Rhineland- Palatinate and Thuringia and Honorary Chairman of Konrad- Adenauer- Stiftung (KAS) and Dr. Gerhard Wahlers, Deputy Secretary- General and Head of the Department of European and International Cooperation of KAS have been on a visit to Lebanon.

Image 1 of 8
The Delegation was invited to the Presidential Palace by H.E. President General Michel Aoun (from left to right: Dr. Wahlers, Prof. Dr. Vogel, H.E. General Michel Aoun, Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany in Lebanon H.E. Martin Huth, Resident Representative Lebanon and Head of the Rule of Law Program Middle East/North Africa Peter Rimmele)

The Delegation was invited to the Presidential Palace by H.E. President General Michel Aoun (from left to right: Dr. Wahlers, Prof. Dr. Vogel, H.E. General Michel Aoun, Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany in Lebanon H.E. Martin Huth, Resident Representative Lebanon and Head of the Rule of Law Program Middle East/North Africa Peter Rimmele)

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Vogel, former Minister President of Rhineland-Palatinate and Thuringia, and honorary chairman of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung and Dr. Gerhard Wahlers, Deputy General Secretary of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, have been on a visit to Lebanon from 6 to 9 February 2017. The trip involved meetings with several eminent figures, such as the new president of the Lebanese Republic, His Excellency General Michel Aoun, former President H.E. Amine Gemayel, former Prime Minister H.E. Tammam Salam, former Prime Minister H.E. Fouad Siniora and H.E. Bishop Boulos Matar.

In the talks it became clear how much the cedar state is between hope and challenge: after a long period of internal political stalemate, the country has a new president with Michel Aoun since a few months. At the same time, the neighboring regions do not settle down: regional instability, terrorism and the continuing flow of refugees from neighboring Syria have a direct impact on the political and economic situation of the country. In addition, Lebanon has become a stage for conflict of interests between Saudi Arabia and Iran that are struggling for regional supremacy.

"It is therefore all the more important that we continue to expand our cooperation with Lebanon, including political as well as non-state partners," said Deputy Secretary-General Dr. Gerhard Wahlers during the trip. A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) was signed between the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung and its long-standing partner Maison du Futur (MdF). The goal of this partnership is to strengthen the exchange of information and opinions on conflict resolution, political and economic development and the promotion of dialogue between cultures in Lebanon and the Middle East and North Africa region. The foundation already has two offices in Lebanon. In addition to the country project Lebanon, the countries Syria / Iraq are also processed from Beirut. Lastly, the rule of law program of the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung for the Middle East and North Africa, which is also managed from Beirut, will be continued under a new direction.

Press releases:

Conference:

Kataeb

L'Orient Le Jour

Lebanon Files

National News Agency

INN Lebanon

Memorendum of Understanding:

Al Liwaa

An-Nahar

Lebanon Debate

El Nashra

Shafaqna

IM Lebanon

Akhbarak

Al hadath News

Addiyar

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Lebanon, February 8, 2017

Contact

Peter Rimmele

Resident Representative India

Peter Rimmele
Phone +91 11 26113520
Fax +91 11 45506836
Languages: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Bahasa Indonesia

Ein Land zwischen Hoffnung und Herausforderung

Prof. Dr. Vogel und Dr. Wahlers zu Gast im Libanon

Auch verfügbar in English

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Vogel, Ministerpräsident a.D. von Rheinland-Pfalz und Thüringen und Ehrenvorsitzender der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung (KAS) und Dr. Gerhard Wahlers, stellvertretender Generalsekretär und Leiter der Hauptabteilung für Europäische und internationale Zusammenarbeit der KAS sind Anfang Februar zu einem Besuch im Libanon gewesen.

Bild 1 von 8
Besuch bei dem Präsidenten der Republik Libanon S.E. General Michel Aoun (v.l.n.r. Dr. Wahlers, Prof. Dr. Vogel, S.E. General Michel Aoun, S.E. der Botschafter der Bundesrepublik Deutschland im Libanon Martin Huth, Leiter des Auslandsbüros und des Rechtsstaatsprogramm Naher Osten und Nordafrika Peter Rimmele)

Seit wenigen Monaten im Amt: der neue Präsident des Libanon, General Michel Aoun (Mitte), im Gespräch mit Prof. Dr. Bernhard Vogel, Dr. Gerhard Wahlers, dem Botschafter der Bundesrepublik Deutschland im Libanon, Martin Huth, sowie Peter Rimmele, Leiter des Auslandsbüros Libanon (v.l.n.r.)

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Vogel, Ministerpräsident a.D. von Rheinland-Pfalz und Thüringen und Ehrenvorsitzender der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung und Dr. Gerhard Wahlers, stellvertretender Generalsekretär, sind vom 06. bis zum 09. Februar 2017 zu einem Besuch im Libanon gewesen. Teil der Reise waren Gespräche mit dem neuen Präsidenten der Libanesischen Republik, Seiner Exzellenz General Michel Aoun, dem ehemaligen Präsidenten S.E. Amine Gemayel, dem ehem. Premierminister S.E. Tammam Salam, dem ehem. Premierminister S.E. Fouad Siniora sowie S.E. Bischof Boulos Matar.

In den Gesprächen wurde deutlich, wie sehr sich der Zedernstaat zwischen Hoffnung und Herausforderung befindet: nach jahrelangem innenpolitischen Stillstand hat das Land seit wenigen Monaten mit Michel Aoun einen neuen Präsidenten. Gleichzeitig kommt die Nachbarregion des Libanon nicht zur Ruhe: regionale Instabilität, Terrorismus und der anhaltende Flüchtlingsstrom aus dem benachbarten Syrien haben unmittelbare Auswirkungen auf die politische und wirtschaftliche Situation des Landes. Hinzu kommt, dass gerade der Libanon zu einem Schauplatz des Konflikts zwischen Saudi-Arabien und dem Iran um die regionale Vorherrschaft geworden ist.

„Umso wichtiger ist es, dass wir unsere Zusammenarbeit mit dem Libanon und unseren staatlichen, politischen und nicht-staatlichen Partnern weiter ausbauen“, so der stellvertretende Generalsekretär Dr. Gerhard Wahlers während der Reise. Unterzeichnet wurde deshalb auch ein Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) zwischen der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung und ihrem langjährigen Partner Maison du Futur (MdF). Ziel dieser Partnerschaft ist es, den Informations- und Meinungsaustausch hinsichtlich Konfliktbewältigung, politischer und wirtschaftlicher Entwicklung sowie der Förderung des Dialogs zwischen den Kulturen im Libanon sowie dem Nahen Osten und Nordafrika zu vertiefen. Die Stiftung ist bereits mit zwei Büros im Libanon vertreten. Neben dem Länderprojekt Libanon werden auch die Länder Syrien/Irak von Beirut aus bearbeitet. Zusätzlich wird das ebenfalls von Beirut aus agierende Rechtsstaatsprogramm für den Nahen Osten und Nordafrika unter neuer Leitung fortgeführt werden.

Pressemeldungen:

Konferenz:

Kataeb

L'Orient Le Jour

Lebanon Files

National News Agency

INN Lebanon

Memorendum of Understanding:

Al Liwaa

An-Nahar

Lebanon Debate

El Nashra

Shafaqna

IM Lebanon

Akhbarak

Al hadath News

Addiyar

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Libanon, 8. Februar 2017

Kontakt

Peter Rimmele

Leiter des Auslandsbüros Indien

Peter Rimmele
Tel. +91 11 26113520
Fax +91 11 45506836
Sprachen: Deutsch,‎ English,‎ Français,‎ Bahasa Indonesia