Policy Paper “Managing religious diversity in democratic systems; a roadmap towards a civil state in Lebanon"

Also available in Deutsch

On the 28th of October 2017, the Democratic Renewal Movement and the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung organized an expert panel regarding the policy paper “Managing religious diversity in democratic systems; a roadmap towards a civil state in Lebanon.”

The political life in Lebanon is characterized by divisions that revolve around identity and especially religious identity. The divisions have been deepening in the past years due to the regional upheaval after the “Arab Spring” and the sectarian turn that the conflicts in Syria and Iraq have taken.

To maintain peace in Lebanon, identity conflicts must be reduced and political life must be transformed into a healthy debate about ideas, programs, rights and obligations.

To this end, the Democratic Renewal Movement discusses politically relevant issues with academics, experts from international organizations and institutions, representatives from the public sector, the private sector and the civil society to diversify opinions and resources. The policy paper on “Managing religious diversity in democratic systems; a roadmap towards a civil state in Lebanon”, presented and discussed on the 28th of October, will be subsequently published with the aim of implementing a paradigm shift in Lebanon, characterized by a shift away from the “identity politics” of recent decades towards a “program policy.”

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Lebanon, October 28, 2017

Presentation Policy Paper DRM
Presentation Policy Paper DRM
Presentation Policy Paper DRM

Diskussion des Policy Papers Religiöse Vielfalt in demokratischen Systemen; eine Roadmap zu einem Zivilstaat im Libanon

Auch verfügbar in English

Das Democratic Renewal Movement und die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung veranstalteten am 28. Oktober 2017 eine Expertenrunde zu dem Policy Paper „Religiöse Vielfalt in demokratischen Systemen; eine Roadmap zu einem Zivilstaat im Libanon.“

Das politische Leben im Libanon ist geprägt von Spaltungen, die sich um Identität, insbesondere religiöse Identität, drehen. Die Zerwürfnisse haben sich in den letzten Jahren aufgrund der regionalen Umwälzungen nach dem „Arabischen Frühling“ und der konfessionellen Wende, die die Konflikte in Syrien und im Irak eingeschlagen haben, vertieft.

Um den Frieden im Libanon aufrechtzuerhalten, müssen Identitätskonflikte verringert und das politische Leben in eine gesunde Debatte über Ideen, Programme, Rechte und Pflichten transformiert werden.

Zu diesem Zweck diskutiert das Democratic Renewal Movement politisch relevante Themen umfassend mit Wissenschaftlern, Experten aus internationalen Organisationen und Institutionen, Vertretern aus dem öffentlichen Sektor, dem Privatsektor und der Zivilgesellschaft, um Meinungen und Ressourcen zu diversifizieren. Das am 28. Oktober vorgestellte und diskutierte Policy Paper zum Thema „Religiöse Vielfalt in demokratischen Systemen; eine Roadmap zu einem Zivilstaat im Libanon“ wird anschließend mit dem Ziel veröffentlicht, einen Paradigmenwechsel im Libanon durchzusetzen, der sich durch eine Abwendung von der „Identitätspolitik“ der letzten Jahrzehnte hin zu einer „Programmpolitik“ auszeichnet.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Libanon, 28. Oktober 2017

Presentation Policy Paper DRM
Presentation Policy Paper DRM
Presentation Policy Paper DRM