Strategy 4.0: The Revival of Lebanon's Economy

Also available in Deutsch

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung and the Kataeb Party organized an open expert meeting on traffic and public transportation on the 31st of October 2017.

The Lebanese economy is still suffering from the negative effects of the political and military unrests of the recent decades. An economic vision and a policy of economic revival are either not present or ineffective. Furthermore Lebanon lacks modern laws to develop the administration and make the private sector more competitive and the administration is accused of inefficiency and corruption. Governments are continuing to exhaust the financial capacity of the country, with the debt ratio reaching 145% in 2016 and the budget deficit exceeding 9.5% of GDP.

The conference, organized by the Kataeb Party and the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, was the third of a total of four meetings on the issue of reviving and strengthening the Lebanese economy. While the first two conferences focused on the accession of Lebanon to the World Trade Organization (WTO) and rural development and decentralization of the country, the third conference was all about traffic and public transportation. The fourth conference will deal with the issue of vocational training.

The aim of the four conferences is the development of visions and approaches to a national economic policy which promotes private initiatives and fosters the Lebanese economy. These objectives should be achieved in particular through improved economic conditions, greater competitiveness, better infrastructure and the reform of the public sector.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Lebanon, October 31, 2017

Strategy 4.0: Die Wiederbelebung der libanesischen Wirtschaft

Auch verfügbar in English

Die Kataeb-Partei und die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung organisierten am 31. Oktober 2017 eine öffentliche Fachtagung zu den Themen Verkehr und öffentliche Verkehrsmittel.

Die libanesische Wirtschaft leidet immer noch unter den negativen Auswirkungen der politischen und militärischen Unruhen der letzten Jahrzehnte. Eine wirtschaftliche Vision und eine Politik für die wirtschaftliche Wiederbelebung sind entweder nicht vorhanden oder unwirksam. Zudem fehlen dem Libanon moderne Gesetze, um die Verwaltung zu entwickeln und den privaten Sektor wettbewerbsfähig zu machen und der Verwaltung werden Ineffizienz und Korruption vorgeworfen. Die Regierungen erschöpfen mit ihrer Politik weiterhin die finanziellen Kapazitäten des Landes, wodurch 2016 die Schuldenquote 145% erreichte und das Haushaltsdefizit 9,5% des BIP überschritt.

Die von der Kataeb-Partei und der Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung organisierte Fachtagung bildete die dritte von insgesamt vier Tagungen rund um das Thema der Wiederbelebung und Stärkung der libanesischen Wirtschaft. Während sich die ersten beiden Konferenzen mit dem Beitritt des Libanon zur World Trade Organisation (WTO) und der ländlichen Entwicklung und Dezentralisierung des Landes beschäftigten, drehte sich bei der dritten Konferenz alles um die Themen Verkehr und öffentliche Verkehrsmittel. Die vierte Konferenz wird sich mit dem Thema der Berufsausbildung beschäftigen.

Ziel der insgesamt vier Konferenzen ist die Entwicklung von Visionen und Ansätzen einer nationalen Wirtschaftspolitik, welche private Initiativen fördert und die libanesische Wirtschaft nach vorne bringt. Diese Ziele sollen insbesondere durch verbesserte wirtschaftliche Rahmenbedingungen, eine größere Wettbewerbsfähigkeit, eine bessere Infrastruktur und die Reform des öffentlichen Sektors erreicht werden.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Libanon, 31. Oktober 2017