Conflict Resolution Training for the Lebanese Armed Forces

Also available in Deutsch

From the 1st to the 7th of November 2017, the Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung organized a conflict resolution training for officers of various units of the Lebanese Armed Forces (LAF) in cooperation with the LAF’s Department of Civil-Military Cooperation (CIMIC), carried out by the Lebanese Association for Mediation and Conciliation (LAMAC). Given the changing role of the LAF facing multiple challenges to Lebanon`s internal and external security, CIMIC has been established in 2015.

Image 1 of 4
Conflict Resolution Training

Lebanon still finds itself in an ongoing tense regional surrounding and is also confronted with continuous internal challenges, such as more than one million refugees from Syria and a changing political environment.

The Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Beirut is committed to Germany`s support for Lebanon and its institutions to further deepen the dialogue and the partnership with the country. Regarding this issue the Lebanese Armed Forces as a partner – in many regards - stand out: as a partner in the Global Coalition to Defeat the Islamic State and other terrorist organizations, the LAF is at the forefront of fighting extremism and terrorism. As a nationally unifying force, the LAF acts as a role model of integration and identity for the society and its citizens and is thus the only true and legitimate defender of Lebanon.

Publication series

Event Reports

published

Lebanon, November 7, 2017

Konfliktlösungstraining für die libanesischen Streitkräfte

Auch verfügbar in English

Vom 1. bis 7. November 2017 organisierte die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung ein Konfliktlösungstraining für Offiziere verschiedener Einheiten der libanesischen Streitkräfte (LAF) in Zusammenarbeit mit der Abteilung für zivil-militärische Zusammenarbeit (CIMIC), durchgeführt von der Lebanese Association for Mediation and Conciliation (LAMAC). Angesichts der sich wandelnden Rolle der LAF, die sich mit vielfältigen Herausforderungen für die innere und äußere Sicherheit des Libanon konfrontiert sehen, wurde CIMIC 2015 eingerichtet.

Bild 1 von 4
Conflict Resolution Training

Der Libanon befindet sich weiterhin in einem angespannten regionalen Umfeld und ist zugleich mit den andauernden internen Herausforderungen konfrontiert, wie beispielsweise über einer Million syrischer Flüchtlinge und einer sich verändernden politischen Umgebung.

Die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung in Beirut flankiert mit ihren Maßnahmen Deutschlands Unterstützung für den Libanon und seine Institutionen, um den bilateralen Dialog und die bestehende Partnerschaft weiter zu vertiefen. Diesbezüglich nehmen die libanesischen Streitkräfte als Partner in vielerlei Hinsicht eine Sonderrolle ein: als Mitglied der Internationalen Allianz gegen den Islamischen Staat und andere terroristische Organisationen stehen die LAF an vorderster Front bei der Bekämpfung von Extremismus und Terrorismus. Als nationale Kraft fungieren die LAF als Vorbild für die Integration und die nationale Identität der Gesellschaft und sind nicht zuletzt deshalb die einzig legitimierte Verteidigungskraft des Libanon.

Serie

Veranstaltungsberichte

erschienen

Libanon, 7. November 2017