Lithuanian Parliamentary Elections 2016 – First Round

THE FIRST ROUND OF THE PARLIAMENTARY ELECTIONS IN LITHUANIA WAS HELD ON OCTOBER 9TH, 2016.

Also available in Deutsch

It took more than 24 hours for the Central Electoral Commission to count the votes and declare the winner. Right before midnight on October 10th it became ultimately clear that the Homeland Union – Lithuanian Christian Democrats (HU-LCD) received 1441 votes more than the Peasant and Greens Union and won the first round of the parliamentary elections of 2016. HU-LCD has already won 21 parliamentary seats after the first round, two seats more than the Peasants and Greens Union.

By voting for HU-LCD and Peasant and Greens Union Lithuanians showed their dissatisfaction with the current ruling coalition (Social Democratic Party, Order and Justice Party as well as Labour Party) and anticipate having a new government for the next four years.

The Lithuanian Social Democratic Party, which had been the strongest parliamentary group in the Seimas following the 2012 elections, only came in third whereas the Order and Justice Party hardly passed the 5% election threshold. The Labour Party that was founded in 2003 was left without any mandates this time. The Liberal Movement performed far better than most recent opinion polls had predicted and is preparing itself for coalition negotiations. By now 73 out of 141 parliamentary seats have already been allocated with the rest waiting to be occupied after the second round on October 23rd.

Homeland Union – Lithuanian Christian Democrats (HU-LCD) – winners of the first round

The preliminary results show that people clearly voted for change in the government: 275.365 voters (21.66%) expressed their support for the HU-LCD, a similar number of 273.924 (21.55%) Lithuanians voted for the Peasant and Greens Union (Table 1). The current ruling Social Democratic Party was left in third place with 183 479 (14.43%) of the votes (Table 1). The Labour Party which currently is part of the governing coalition is the main loser of the election. The Labour Party gained only 4.69% of the votes and will probably not be represented in the parliament (Seimas) during the next four years.

70 parliamentary seats were allocated among six out of 14 political parties (coalitions) that participated in the 2016 parliamentary elections. In 3 out of 71 single-member constituencies one of the candidates already got more than 50% of the votes in the first round and will not have to compete in the second. Among these three winners is Ingrida Šimonytė, former Minister of Finance (2008–2012) and a member of the Homeland Union-LCD. The other two highest-rated candidates are members of the Electoral Action of Poles in Lithuania – Christian Families Alliance. After the first round it was clear that 54 MPs have not been re-elected.

The defeat in the election resulted in strong reactions just one day after. The leaders of the Labour Party (Valentinas Mazuronis) and the Order and Justice Party (Rolandas Paksas) stepped down. Both of them are members of the European Parliament and will remain in their position in Brussels. The current Speaker of the Parliament, Loreta Graužinienė from the Labour Party, announced on Monday that she will leave not only the parliament but also the Labour Party.

Electoral turnout on 9th October, 2016

Barely half of the eligible voters casted their ballot on Sunday. The electoral turnout on 9th October, 2016 reached 50.56% which is around 2% lower than in 2012. Only 8% of the votes were cast by Lithuanians up to the age of 24 years (Table 2). The elderly were much more active – 14% of all Lithuanians who voted in the parliamentary elections on Sunday are older than 74 years.

The fight is not over in 68 constituencies – second round on 23rd October

On 23rd October the second ballot of the 2016 parliamentary elections will take place in 68 single-member constituencies. The two highest-rated candidates of the first round will compete for the place in the parliament. Amongst them there will be 42 conservatives (HU-LCD), 40 candidates of the Peasant and Greens Union, 21 social democrats (Social Democratic Party), 12 liberals (Liberal Movement), five members of the Labour Party, four candidates of the Order and Justice Party and several individual candidates, representing parties, which did not pass the threshold. There are 22 conservatives (HU-LCD) and 21 Peasant and Greens Union candidates who were the leaders of the first round in the single-member constituencies.

What will be the next ruling coalition?

Already before the election day, it was predicted that three parties – HU-LCD, Peasant and Greens Union and the Liberal Movement – could form a governing coalition for the next parliamentary term of 2016 till 2020. After the first round it seems that this prediction may become reality. Politicians and political analysts name several possible scenarios, which may occur after the second round on October 23rd. Having in mind the results of the first round, it is highly possible that the new ruling coalition will consist of the three above mentioned parties. The Peasant and Greens Union said that they will not participate in any coalition negotiations until the end of the second round. Afterwards, they claim to be prepared to negotiate coalition building possibilities with Homeland Union-LCD as well as with the Social Democratic Party. However, they said that they are not ready to form a coalition with the Party Order and Justice which could be a natural partner for the center-left coalition. Furthermore, it is highly unlikely that the Homeland Union-Lithuanian Christian Democrats could join forces with the Social Democratic Party. What is more likely and worth mentioning is that for the first time in Lithuanian history there might be a possibility for only two parties (HU-LCD and Peasant and Greens Union) to have a majority in the parliament and to form the governing coalition. Although the first scenario seems to be the most realistic, it will be decided in the second round of the parliamentary election who will be the actual winner in 2016 and what kind of government Lithuania will have for the next four years.

Authors

Elisabeth Bauer, Augustina Zamuškevičiūtė

Publication series

Country Reports

published

Berlin, October 20, 2016

Litauen: Regierungsparteien verlieren die erste Runde der Parlamentswahlen

AM 9. OKTOBER 2016 FAND DIE ERSTE RUNDE DER PARLAMENTSWAHLEN IN LITAUEN STATT

Auch verfügbar in English

Nach mehr als 24 Stunden Stimmenauszählung konnte die Zentrale Wahlbehörde die Gewinner bekannt geben. Kurz vor Mitternacht des 10. Oktobers stand fest, dass die Vaterlandsunion/Litauische Christdemokraten (TS-LKD) die erste Runde der litauischen Parlamentswahlen für sich entschieden hatte. Die Union Bauernpartei/Grüne hatte 1.441 Stimmen weniger und wurde damit zweitstärkste Partei. Bereits 21 Sitze hat sich die TS-LKD im Parlament gesichert. Dies sind zwei Sitze Vorsprung gegenüber der Union Bauernpartei/Grüne.

Mit ihrer Stimme für die TS-LKD und die Union Bauernpartei/Grüne zeigten die Wähler ihre Unzufriedenheit mit der derzeitigen Regierungskoalition (bestehend aus der Sozialdemokratischen Partei, der Partei für Ordnung und Gerechtigkeit und der Arbeitspartei). Sie erhoffen sich eine neue Regierung.

Die nach den Wahlen 2012 stärkste Fraktion im Parlament (Seimas), die Sozialdemokratische Partei, landete auf dem dritten Platz. Nur knapp über die Fünf-Prozent-Hürde kam die Partei für Ordnung und Gerechtigkeit. Die 2003 gegründete Arbeitspartei konnte bei diesen Wahlen kein Mandat erzielen. Für die Liberale Bewegung verlief die Wahl weit besser als die jüngsten Meinungsumfragen prognostiziert hatten. Sie bereitet sich bereits auf Koalitionsverhandlungen vor. Mittlerweile sind 73 der 141 Parlamentssitze vergeben. Die verbleibenden Sitze werden nach der zweiten Wahlrunde am 23. Oktober vergeben.

Gewinner der ersten Runde: Vaterlandsunion/Litauische Christdemokraten (TS-LKD)

Die vorläufigen Ergebnisse zeigen deutlich, dass die litauische Bevölkerung für einen Regierungswechsel plädiert: 275.365 Wähler (21,66 %) stimmten für die TS-LKD. Vergleichbar viele Wählerstimmen – 273.924 (21,55 %) – erhielt auch die Union Bauernpartei/Grüne. Auf Platz drei landete die aktuell noch an der Regierung beteiligte Sozialdemokratische Partei mit 183.479 Stimmen (14,43 %) (Abbildung 1). Der größte Verlierer der Wahl ist die ebenfalls an der derzeitigen Regierungskoalition beteiligte Arbeitspartei. Sie konnte lediglich 4,69 Prozent der Stimmen auf sich vereinigen und wird voraussichtlich während der kommenden vier Jahre nicht mehr in der Seimas vertreten sein.

Die bereits vergebenen 70 Parlamentssitze gingen an sechs der 14 der in den Parlamentswahlen 2016 vertretenen Parteien (Koalitionen). In drei der 71 Einzelwahlkreise erhielten die Kandidaten mehr als die Hälfte der Stimmen und werden somit in der zweiten Wahlrunde nicht mehr antreten müssen. Unter den Gewinnern ist die ehemalige Finanzministerin (2008 bis 2012) und Mitglied der TS-LKD Ingrida Šimonytė. Die beiden anderen Kandidaten, die die höchste Stimmenzahl erhielten, sind Mitglieder der polnischen Minderheitenpartei Wahlaktion der Polen Litauens – Allianz Christlicher Familien. Nach der ersten Runde war klar, dass 54 Mitglieder des Parlaments nicht mehr wiedergewählt worden waren.

Nur einen Tag nach der Wahlniederlage folgten deutliche Reaktionen. Die Parteivorsitzenden sowohl der Arbeitspartei (Valentinas Mazuronis) als auch der Partei für Ordnung und Gerechtigkeit (Rolandas Paksas) legten ihre Ämter nieder. Ihre Positionen in Brüssel indes, wo beide Mitglieder des Europäischen Parlaments sind, werden sie behalten.

Die derzeitige Sprecherin des litauischen Parlaments, Loreta Graužinienė, verkündete am Montag, dass sie nicht nur das Parlament, sondern auch ihre Partei, die Arbeitspartei, verlassen werde.

Wahlbeteiligung am 9. Oktober 2016

Nur rund die Hälfte der Wahlberechtigten ging am Sonntag zur Wahlurne. Insgesamt erreichte die Wahlbeteiligung am 9. Oktober 2016 50,56 Prozent, das ist rund 2 Prozent weniger als im Jahr 2012. Dabei entfielen nur 8 Prozent der Stimmen auf unter 24-jährige Litauer. Die ältere Generation hingegen zeigte sich wesentlich aktiver. Auf die Altersgruppe der Über-74-jährigen entfielen 14 Prozent der Stimmen (Abbildung 2).

In 68 Wahlkreisen ist der Kampf noch nicht vorbei – zweite Runde am 23.Oktober

Am 23. Oktober wird die zweite Abstimmung der Parlamentswahlen 2016 in den verbleibenden 68 Wahlkreisen stattfinden. Die beiden führenden Kandidaten in den jeweiligen Wahlkreisen werden in der zweiten Runde gegeneinander antreten. Dabei handelt es sich um 42 Konservative (TS-LKD), 30 Kandidaten der Union Bauernpartei/Grüne, 21 Sozialdemokraten (Sozialdemokratische Partei), zwölf Liberale (Partei für Ordnung und Gerechtigkeit) sowie etliche Einzelkandidaten aus Parteien, die die 5-Prozent-Hürde nicht erreichten. Unter den Kandidaten, die in der ersten Runde in ihren Wahlkreisen in Führung lagen, befinden sich 22 Konservative (TS-LKD) und 21 Mitglieder der Bauernpartei/Grüne.

Wie wird die künftige Regierungskoalition aussehen?

Bereits vor dem ersten Wahltag wurde prophezeit, dass die drei Parteien TS-LKD, Union Bauernpartei/Grüne und Liberale Bewegung in der nächsten Legislaturperiode von 2016 bis 2020 eine Regierungskoalition bilden könnten. Nach der ersten Wahlrunde sieht es ganz danach aus, als könne sich diese Annahme bestätigen. Politiker und politische Beobachter entwerfen bereits zahlreiche mögliche Szenarien, die nach der zweiten Runde am 23. Oktober eintreffen könnten. Mit Blick auf die Wahlergebnisse der ersten Runde scheint es höchst wahrscheinlich, dass sich die neue Regierungskoalition aus den drei genannten Parteien zusammensetzen wird. Die Union aus Bauernpartei/Grünen machte bereits deutlich, dass sie erst nach der zweiten Runde für Koalitionsgespräche offen seien. Dann aber seien sie für Gespräche mit der TS-LKD sowie mit der Sozialdemokratischen Partei bereit. Eine Koalition mit der Partei für Ordnung und Gerechtigkeit, einem naheliegenden Partner im Falle einer Mitte-Links-Koalition, lehnt das Bündnis jedoch ab. Ebenso unwahrscheinlich ist ein Zusammenschluss aus TS-LKD und der Sozialdemokratischen Partei. Viel wahrscheinlicher ist, dass zwei Parteien (TS-LKD und Union Bauernpartei/Grüne) eine Mehrheit im Parlament erreichen und eine Regierungskoalition bilden werden – dies wäre in der litauischen Geschichte ein Novum. Zwar erscheint ersteres Szenario realistischer, jedoch wird erst die zweite Runde der Parlamentswahlen darüber entscheiden, welche Partei am Ende tatsächlich als Wahlsieger 2016 hervorgehen und wie sich die Regierung in den nächsten vier Jahren zusammensetzen wird.

Autoren

Elisabeth Bauer, Augustina Zamuškevičiūtė

Serie

Länderberichte

erschienen

Berlin, 20. Oktober 2016