3rd National Economic Summit

Economic Reforms - Reaction, Impact, Priorities and Opportunities

July 18 Tuesday

Date/time

July 18, 2017

Loc.

Bandar Sunway, Petaling Jaya

With

Dato' Sri Mustapa Mohamed, Minister of International Trade and Industry Malaysia Ir. Dr. Mohd Shahreen, CEO, Malaysia External Trade Development Corporation (MATRADE) H.E. Maria Castillo Fernandez, Ambassador of the EU Delegation to Malaysia

Type

Congress

This conference by ASLI and KAS Malaysia focused on Malaysia’s economic future at a time of uncertainty. It was attended by ca. 280 participants, top government and business leaders, academics, researchers, diplomats and policy makers.

Also available in Deutsch

The conference "3rd National Economic Summit" was opened by the presentation of Dato' Sri Mustapa Mohamed, Minister of International Trade and Industry Malaysia. The Minister underlined the positive development and the impressive macro-economic data in the first three months of 2017 for the Malaysian economy. The economy expanded by 5.6 percent year-on-year in the first quarter of 2017, compared to a modest growth of 4.2% in 2016. The World Bank has revised upwards its prediction for Malaysia's growth in 2017 - to 4.9%, while Citibank research is predicting 5.2% for 2017. Malaysia is continuing its efforts to boost domestic demands and reduce the economy's dependence on exports. So in the March quarter, private consumption grew by 6.6 percent year-on-year. Nevertheless, exports - particularly of electronics, oil and gas, palm oil, remain a significant driver of the economy. Gross exports of goods and services constitute more than 73.6% of GDP, with 15.8% of Malaysia's exports going to China, its main trading partner. Unemployment stays by a low a 3.2%, while youth unemployment figures stay at worrying 10%.

Minister Dato`Sri Mustapa Mohamed regrets the withdrawal of the Trump administration from the 12-member Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement (TPP)which was painfully negotiated over more than five years. The remaining 11 countries will discuss options at the TPP Ministers meeting in November of this year. Another option or regional corporation will be the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP), which could start work by 2018. This is a grouping of 16 countries, with ASEAN as the main driver.

But there are also numerous challenges facing the Malaysian economy which were discussed during the various sessions of the conference. In the coming decade a new phase of industrialization will develop towards Industry 4.0 - e.g. knowledge-intensive services, digitalization, e-commerce - which will require a skilled workforce, and an increased production of knowledge as well as a growth of productivity. It will be necessary to attract new foreign investments, with a shift from the current labour intensive to knowledge- and skill-based investments.

Additional external risks which may dampen the economic success of Malaysia might come from the outside world - such as modest global growth due to sluggishness in the largest economies of the USA, China, EU and Japan plus economic uncertainties in huge emerging markets, particularly Russia, Brazil and Saudi Arabia. A negative influence could also be caused by low commodity prices, protectionist policies and other geopolitical risks.

Opening of the 3rd National Economic Summit by Dato' Sri Mustapa Mohamed, Minister of International Trade and Industry

Opening of the 3rd National Economic Summit by Dato' Sri Mustapa Mohamed, Minister of International Trade and Industry

Participants of the ASLI Conference: Left to Right: Mr. Prakash Chandran, CEO Siemens Malaysia, Mr. Wolfgang Hruschka, Country Director KAS Malaysia

Participants of the ASLI Conference: Left to Right: Mr. Prakash Chandran, CEO Siemens Malaysia, Mr. Wolfgang Hruschka, Country Director KAS Malaysia

Contact person

Wolfgang Hruschka

Leiter des Länderbüros in Malaysia

Wolfgang Hruschka
Phone +60 3 6203 1957
Languages: English,‎ Español,‎ Français

Partners

Asian Strategy & Leadership Institute (ASLI)

3rd National Economic Summit

Ökonomische Reformen - Prioritäten und Potenziale

Juli 18 Dienstag

Datum/Uhrzeit

18. Juli 2017, 8:30 - 17:00

Ort

Sunway Resort Hotel, Petaling Jaya

mit

Dato `Sri Mustapa Mohamed, Minister of International Trade and Industry Ir. Dr. Mohd. Shahreen, CEO, Malaysia External Trade Development Corporation (MATRADE) H.E. Maria Castillo Fernandez, Ambassador of the EU Delegation to Malaysia

Typ

Fachkonferenz

Diese von ASLI und KAS Malaysia organisierte Konferenz thematisierte die wirtschaftliche Zukunft Malaysias und adressierte Potenziale und Herausforderungen. Die etwa 280 Teilnehmer vertraten Politik, Wirtschaft, Diplomatie, Medien und Wissenschaft.

Auch verfügbar in English

Die Konferenz “3rd National Economic Summit” wurde von Dato´Sri Mustapa Mohamed, Minister für internationalen Handel und Industrie, eröffnet. Der Minister unterstrich die positive wirtschaftliche Entwicklung des Landes im ersten Quartal 2017. In diesen ersten drei Monaten wuchs die Wirtschaft des Landes um 5,6%, im Vergleich zum Gesamtjahreswachstum 2016 von nur 4,2%. Die Weltbank erhöhte ihre Wachstumsprognose für 2017 auf 4,9%, während Citibank Research sogar von 5,2% Wachstum ausgehen. Um die Abhängigkeit der Wirtschaft von den Exporten zu verringern, versucht die Regierung die heimische Nachfrage zu stimulieren. So wuchs im ersten Quartal der private Konsum um 6,6%. Trotz allem bilden die Exporte – besonders von Elektronik und Elektrotechnik, von Öl und Gas, petrochemischen Produkten und Palmöl - nach wie vor den Motor für das Wirtschaftswachstum. Die Bruttoexporte von Gütern und Dienstleistungen machen 73,6% des malaysischen BSP aus. 15,8% der Exporte gehen nach China, dem wichtigsten Handelspartner des Landes. Das Gesamthandelsvolumen Malaysias wuchs von Januar bis Mai 2017 um beeindruckende 25,4%!

Die Arbeitslosenquote legt bei niedrigen 3,2%. Allerdings ist die Jugendarbeitslosigkeit mit 10% sehr hoch.

Minister Dato`Sri Mustapa Mohamed bedauert den Rückzug der Trump Administration von dem 12 Mitglieder umfassenden Trans-Pazifik Partnerschaftsabkommen (TPP), das über fünf Jahre lang mühsam verhandelt worden war. Die verbleibenden 11 TPP-Länder werden Optionen für die weitere Zukunft dieses Abkommens am Rande des APEC-Meetings in Manila im November 2017 prüfen. Eine weitere Möglichkeit der regionalen Zusammenarbeit bietet sich zudem im Rahmen der „Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership – RCEP“, einer Partnerschaft der zehn ASEAN-Staaten mit sechs weiteren Ländern (darunter China, Indien und Japan). Diese Partnerschaft wird bereits seit 2012 verhandelt und könnte vielleicht schon 2018 ihre Arbeit aufnehmen.

Neben diesen positiven makro-ökonomischen Entwicklungen und Potenzialen wurden in den verschiedenen Panels der Konferenz eine Reihe von Herausforderungen für die Wirt-schaft Malaysias diskutiert. So wird die nächste Dekade von einer neuen Phase der Modernisierung und Industrialisierung – der Industrie 4.0 – mit fortschreitender Digitalisierung, wissensbasierten Dienstleistungen, E-Commerce – geprägt werden. Dies erfordert gut ausgebildete Arbeitskräfte und eine Steigerung von Innovation und Produktivität. Eine Herausforderung auch für das malaysische Bildungssystem. Zudem muß das Land um weitere Auslandsinvestitionen werben – wobei ein Wechsel von den bisher arbeitsintensiven zu mehr wissensbasierten Investitionen benötigt wird.

Risiken für die künftige Wirtschaftsentwicklung Malaysias liegen auch bei externen Faktoren. So etwa mögliche Schwächen der Nachfrage bei den großen Volkswirtschaften der USA, Chinas, der EU und Japans. Aber auch die wirtschaftliche Ungewissheit der aufstrebenden Märkte wie etwa Russland, Brasilien, Indien und Saudi-Arabien. Weitere geopolitische Risiken liegen bei protektionistischen Handelsbarrieren und einem Anstieg des Terrorismus.

Aber Malaysia kann auf eine lange Zeit der Stabilität zurückblicken und liegt in einer geopolitisch strategischen Lage.

Opening of the 3rd National Economic Summit by Dato' Sri Mustapa Mohamed, Minister of International Trade and Industry

Eröffnung des 3rd Economic Summit durch Dato' Sri Mustapa Mohamed, Minister für internationalen Handel und Industrie

Participants of the ASLI Conference: Left to Right: Mr. Prakash Chandran, CEO Siemens Malaysia, Mr. Wolfgang Hruschka, Country Director KAS Malaysia

Teilnehmer an der ASLI-Konferenz v.l. Herr Prakash Chandran, CEO Siemens Malaysia, Herr Wolfgang Hruschka, KAS Landesdirektor Malaysia

Ansprechpartner

Wolfgang Hruschka

Leiter des Länderbüros in Malaysia

Wolfgang Hruschka
Tel. +60 3 6203 1957
Sprachen: English,‎ Español,‎ Français

Partner

Asian Strategy & Leadership Institute (ASLI)