"Personal human contact is crucial."

E-lection Bridge Africa: Interview with Libolly L. Haufiku

Also available in Deutsch

The view from the KAS office window in Windhoek includes several landmarks of Namibian politics. Among other things, the observer sees the brickwork laid down for the Independence Museum, as well as the constitutional court. Both places have symbolic meaning for Libolly L. Haufiku. In the past he was a member of the liberation movement, while currently he and his new party, Rally for Democracy and Progress (RDP), fight in court against the government’s manipulation of the 2009 election. Our meeting starts with a firm handshake. Haufiku is considered to be one of the most energetic and distinguished strategists in Namibian politics.

KAS MEDIA AFRICA: Can you remember your first RDP campaign, and how successful was it?

LIBOLLY HAUFIKU: I do! As a new political party, we were the new kid on the block. Most of our prominent members came from the ruling party - so it presented a real alternative to the status quo in Namibia. Our manifesto presented a new vision for the country; hence it attracted many voters who in the past never bothered to vote.
We embarked on a new campaign strategy: away from the traditional huge rallies – to a house to house and village to village campaign. Our foot-soldier campaign was a huge success. The deployment of our young members to deliver the message of the party was well received and took our political opponents by surprise. In short, it really worked!

KAS MEDIA AFRICA: I am sure you will agree that we’ve come a long way since then… What are the significant changes for you?

LIBOLLY HAUFIKU: Definitely, a lot has changed since the last elections. The party has launched a monthly newsletter called The Voice of Change, as well as a website which has afforded many young people an opportunity to communicate through social media such as Facebook.

Biography
Libolly L. Haufiku is the Secretary for International Relations for the Rally for Democracy and Progress, RDP. He received an MA in Sociology from the University of Helsinki. Prior to independence, Mr Haufiku taught English and History to Namibians in Angola and Cuba. He is a former member of SWAPO, where he served as the chief researcher at the party’s archive unit. Libolly L. Haufiku resigned from SWAPO in 2007 to join the newly launched RDP.

KAS MEDIA AFRICA: And what about you? How digital are you personally?

LIBOLLY HAUFIKU: I am a fan of the latest gadgets on the market. For instance, I never part with my I-phone. I am hooked on Facebook, but I have yet to join the Twitter platform.
KAS MEDIA AFRICA: It seems that everywhere experts are trying to come to terms with what some call a “digital revolution”. What are the particular challenges that political communicators in Namibia face these days?

LIBOLLY HAUFIKU: The lack of access to social media platforms by the majority of rural Namibians, who play a significant role in any political transformation - that is a huge challenge indeed.

KAS MEDIA AFRICA: All over Africa, the use of cell phones is virtually exploding. Does the mobile phone play a role in your communication strategy?

LIBOLLY HAUFIKU Yes, since most Namibians own cell phones, even grannies and school kids. As a political party, we are able to reach a significant number of Namibians. For instance, invitations to meetings or party events are mainly communicated through cell phones. The party has a database of all its members – hence it makes it easier to contact individuals more effectively.

KAS MEDIA AFRICA: What do you think of social media platforms, such as Facebook and Twitter, in political communication?

LIBOLLY HAUFIKU: Facebook and Twitter are useful social media platforms but have limited users in Namibia. They are useful tools but are not widely accessible to the majority of Namibians. However, radio and TV still plays a significant role in this case. The new social media have to go a long way to replace the power of radio and TV in Africa.

About RDP
The Rally for Democracy and Progress is an opposition political party in Namibia. It was founded by two former ruling SWAPO party cabinet ministers, Hidipo Hamutenya and Jesaya Nyamu, in 2007. The launch of the RDP represents the strongest challenge to SWAPO's political dominance since the country gained its independence in 1990.

KAS MEDIA AFRICA: The E-lection Bridge sets out to link Africa and Germany. So, what could German observers learn from political communication in Namibia?

LIBOLLY HAUFIKU: Personal human contact is crucial. Our traditions require human contact. For instance, a traditional chief prefers to meet or make personal contact rather than through a cell phone. That’s crucial to take note of!

KAS MEDIA AFRICA: The final question is always the same in this format - what is the “next big thing” in political communication?

LIBOLLY HAUFIKU: To educate electorates about the rigging of elections in Namibia. As you may be aware, we are still legally challenging the outcome of the 2009 national election, which was massively rigged. Our focus will be to expose the methods used and those responsible, and to properly train our party agents to prepare for the 2014 elections.

"Der persönliche Kontakt ist und bleibt entscheidend."

E-lection Bridge Africa: Interview mit Libolly L. Haufiku

Auch verfügbar in English

Wer vom KAS-Büro in Windhoek aus dem Fenster schaut, dem liegen einige Sehenswürdigkeiten des politischen Namibias zu Füßen: Der Betrachter sieht unter anderem den Rohbau des Unabhängigkeitsmuseums sowie das Verfassungsgericht. Für unseren Interviewpartner Libolly L. Haufiku sind diese Orte mit Symbolik aufgeladen. Zum einen war er in der Vergangenheit selbst ein Mitglied der Befreiungsbewegung, zum anderen kämpft er nun mit seiner neuen Partei „Rally for Democracy and Progress“ (RDP) vor Gericht engagiert gegen Wahlmanipulationen seiner ehemaligen Mitstreiter. Wir treffen uns zum Gespräch. In Namibias Parteienlandschaft genießt Haufiku einen exzellenten Ruf als brillianter Stratege.

KAS MEDIEN AFRIKA: Willkommen zur E-lection Bridge Africa, Herr Haufiku. Erinnern Sie noch an Ihren ersten Wahlkampf mit der RDP?

LIBOLLY HAUFIKU: Ja, natürlich. Unsere Partei war frisch gegründet und viele unserer prominenten Mitglieder kamen damals von der alles bestimmenden Regierungspartei. Somit gab es auf einmal eine echte politische Alternative in Namibia. Das Programm der RDP zeigte eine völlig neue Perspektive auf und sprach viele Wähler an, die in der Vergangenheit nicht einmal mehr ihre Stimme abgegeben hatten.
Unsere Wahlkampfstrategie bedeutete damals einen Bruch mit der Tradition: Statt der klassischen Massenveranstaltungen gingen wir in die Dörfer und Nachbarschaften, von Haus zu Haus. Diese Basiskampagne war ein riesiger Erfolg: Junge Mitglieder trugen die Botschaft direkt zu den Menschen. Das kam in der Bevölkerung gut an – und überraschte unsere politischen Gegner. Es hat wirklich funktioniert!

KAS MEDIEN AFRIKA: Ich bin sicher, dass sich seitdem viel getan hat. Was hat die RDP inzwischen auf den Weg gebracht?

LIBOLLY HAUFIKU: Sie haben Recht – seit den letzten Wahlen hat sich etliches verändert. Unsere Partei hat einen monatlichen Newsletter ins Leben gerufen – mit dem Titel „Voice of Change“. Und die neue Website hat uns die Möglichkeit eröffnet, junge Leute unmittelbar an unseren Kommunikationsprozessen zu beteiligen – dank der sozialen Netzwerke.

Biographie
Libolly L. Haufiku zeichnet in der RDP zuständig für Auswärtige Beziehungen und Strategie. Er besitzt einen Masters-Abschluß in Soziologie von der Universität Helsinki. Vor der Unabhängigkeit Namibias unterrichtete er Englisch und Geschichte für seine Landsleute in Angola und Kuba. Das frühere SWAPO-Mitglied verließ die Regierungspartei 2007 und schloß sich der frischgegründeten RDP an.

KAS MEDIEN AFRIKA: Sie erwähnten die junge Zielgruppe. Wie digital sind Sie selbst?

LIBOLLY HAUFIKU: Wissen Sie, ich muss zugeben, dass ich ein Fan der neuesten Spielereien auf dem Markt bin, zum Beispiel habe ich mein iPhone immer dabei. Ich bin fasziniert von Facebook, aber bei Twitter bin ich noch außen vor.

KAS MEDIEN AFRIKA: Man hat den Eindruck, als würden die Wahlkampfexperten überall auf der Welt versuchen, die „digitale Revolution“ für sich zu nutzen. Was sind in dieser Hinsicht ganz konkret die Herausforderungen für Politische Kommunikatoren in Namibia?

LIBOLLY HAUFIKU: Die Mehrheit der Namibier auf dem Land hat kaum Zugang zu den digitalen sozialen Netzwerken und kann deshalb nicht – wie gewünscht – am politischen Transformationsprozess teilhaben. Das, würde ich sagen, ist im Moment die zentrale Herausforderung für uns.

KAS MEDIEN AFRIKA: Überall in Afrika explodieren geradezu die Nutzerzahlen der Mobiltelefonie. Spielt das Handy eine signifikante Rolle in ihrer Kommunikationsstrategie?

LIBOLLY HAUFIKU: Ja, denn die meisten Namibier besitzen ein Mobiltelefon, Großmütter und Schulkinder eingeschlossen. Als politische Partei erreichen wir auf diese Weise eine stolze Zahl unserer Landsleute. Ich möchte Ihnen ein Beispiel geben: Einladungen zu Meetings oder Parteiveranstaltungen werden fast nur noch über das Mobiltelefon verschickt. Die Partei hat eine Datenbank ihrer Mitglieder – das hilft natürlich erheblich, sie einzelnen zu erreichen und einzubinden.

KAS MEDIEN AFRIKA: Was denken Sie über die sozialen Plattformen wie Facebook und Twitter im namibischen Kontext?

LIBOLLY HAUFIKU: Sie sind nützlich, aber sie erreichen nur einen begrenzten Nutzerkreis in Namibia. Sie sind für die meisten unserer Wähler schlicht nicht verfügbar. Und vergessen Sie nicht: Radio und Fernsehen spielen immer noch eine wichtige Rolle. Die sozialen Medien können sich in Afrika noch längst nicht mit der Reichweite und der Wirkung von Rundfunk messen.

Über RDP
Die „Rally for Democracy and Progress“ (RDP) ist eine Oppositionspartei in Namibia. Sie wurde von zwei ehemaligen Ministern der Regierungspartei SWAPO, Hidipo Hamutenya und Jesaya Nyamu, im Jahr 2007 ins Leben gerufen. Die Gründung der RDP bedeutet die bisher größte Herausforderung für die politische Dominanz der SWAPO seit der Unabhängigkeit des Landes 1990.

KAS MEDIEN AFRIKA: Die E-lection Bridge will Afrika und Deutschland stärker miteinander verbinden. Was können die deutschen Beobachter von der Politischen Kommunikation in Namibia mitnehmen?

LIBOLLY HAUFIKU: Der persönliche Kontakt ist und bleibt entscheidend. Unsere Traditionen sind auf diesen Kontakt ausgerichtet – sie werden nach wie vor praktiziert. Zum Beispiel: Ein traditioneller Stammesführer wird immer ein persönliches Treffen mit Ihnen bevorzugen – statt einem Telefonat am Handy. Es ist wichtig, dass man das weiß!

KAS MEDIEN AFRIKA: Die letzte Frage, wie immer, in diesem Interviewformat: Was ist „the next big thing“?

LIBOLLY HAUFIKU: Wir müssen die Menschen über die Wahlmanipulationen in Namibia aufklären. Wie Sie vielleicht wissen, kämpfen wir vor Gericht gegen den Ausgang der Wahlen von 2009, die massiv manipuliert waren. Wir konzentrieren uns derzeit darauf, die Methoden offen zu legen, die Verantwortlichen dafür zu benennen – und unsere Parteimitglieder für die Wahlen 2014 auszubilden, damit so etwas nicht wieder passiert.