"The tool kit of political communication is aligning itself."

E-lection Bridge Africa: Interview with Oliver Röseler

Also available in Deutsch

Oliver Röseler is much in demand: in political Berlin as well as in West Africa. The Director for Marketing and Communication at the CDU of Germany travelled to Ghana as a prominent speaker for the first KAS E-lection Bridge Africa conference – and was promptly asked for an improvised TV interview. So, the political expert is now patiently answering the reporter’s questions in a stairwell at a research institute on the edge of the capital city of Accra, which serves as a voting station for the primaries of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in greater Accra. On the topic of political communication, the native of Lower Saxony has a lot to say in the course of our conversation for the E-lection Bridge Africa.

KAS MEDIA AFRICA: Mr, Röseler, the E-lection Bridge Africa began with a chunk of political praxis – with an informational visit to the primaries of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) in greater Accra. How did you experience this process within the KAS’ partner party on location?

OLIVER RÖSELER: Honestly, I was really impressed! We visited three voting stations in different parts of the capital and in each location we met highly committed people. You could literally sense how proud they were to be taking part in something so important. This appreciation of the democratic opinion-building process really struck me. In Germany it seems to be taken for granted and is therefore sometimes stuck in a rut.

Biography
Oliver Röseler was born in 1969 in Gehrden, Lower Saxony. He gained experience in the field of politics from the ground up: While studying law at Bonn University, he was the Federal Chairman of the Ring of Christian Democratic Students (RCDS). He has worked as Director for Marketing and Communication at the CDU of Germany’s headquarters in Berlin since 2006. Between 1998 and 2009, Röseler took part in four parliamentary and several state election campaigns. At the international level, the family man represents the CDU as a delegate to the Campaign Manager’s Committee of the International Democratic Union (IDU).

KAS MEDIA AFRICA: The E-lection Bridge Africa is based on the realization that the election experts in Germany and the countries of Africa face similar questions and challenges. Is that really the case?

OLIVER RÖSELER: The central task is essentially the same: We all want to win votes, and majorities, with the help of political communication. That unifies us and we all noticed in Accra that the instruments for it are converging globally. On the other hand, what differentiates us is the general framework – legal, financial and political. Let me put it this way: the tool kit of political communication is aligning itself, but from it we choose different instruments. To stay with that metaphor: One uses the file, while another takes the saw.

KAS MEDIA AFRICA: You have already worked for the Konrad Adenauer Stiftung in several parts of the world. Now you have been one of the speakers at the founding event of the E-lection Bridge Africa – what is your impression?

OLIVER RÖSELER: I travelled to Ghana without any clear expectations and I was positively surprised. First of all, I was impressed with the diversity: from small but courageous opposition parties to former governing parties with well-oiled machinery, everyone was represented. Also, the professionalism of the participants was incredibly high. Many of them do a fantastic job in their countries under difficult conditions. This has provided inspiration for my own work – especially within the context of over 60 years of democracy in the Federal Republic, which many people do not really appreciate anymore. So, the event gave me an additional burst of motivation.

KAS MEDIA AFRICA: In 2009 you implemented several digital instruments, such as CDU.TV, in the parliamentary election campaign. How digital does Africa, or the participating countries, seem to you?

OLIVER RÖSELER: Some of the campaigns in Africa today are as digital as in Germany, this is a continent on the move. It almost seems like political communication here skipped a step and took two steps forward at once. In Africa the modern instruments, such as the cell phone, are often the only way to reach people across great distances, and don’t forget, Youtube and Facebook are also free, which is important! The increasing digitalization has real reasons and will play an even greater role in the future. In comparison: In Germany, the meaning of this field is growing rapidly, but in Africa it is of existential importance.

KAS MEDIA AFRICA: The last question of the interviews on the KAS E-lection Bridge Africa website is always…

OLIVER RÖSELER: …what is the “next big thing”? Everyone knows that by now (laughs). I’ll answer with a concrete example from the E-lection Bridge Africa in Ghana. Michelle Fondo from Kenya impressed us a lot with her successful Facebook campaign. That really motivated me. For a while now I have been busy with the question of how to get people more excited about politics. I’m not talking about a particular technique, but rather about a philosophy or strategy. The E-lection Bridge Africa made me once again aware that the decisive challenge is: How do we get people interested in what politics does? How do we reach their heads and their hearts? The conference in Accra has provided me with important stimuli for the answer to those questions.

"Der Werkzeugkasten der politischen Kommunikation gleicht sich an."

E-lection Bridge Africa: Interview mit Oliver Röseler

Auch verfügbar in English

Oliver Röseler ist ein gefragter Mann: im politischen Berlin genauso wie in Westafrika. Der Bereichsleiter für Marketing und Interne Kommunikation der CDU Deutschlands ist als prominenter Referent für die erste Konferenz der KAS E-lection Bridge Africa nach Ghana gereist – und wird vor Ort umgehend von zu einem improvisierten Fernsehinterview gebeten. Am Rande der Hauptstadt Accra steht der Politprofi nun im Treppenhaus eines Forschungsinstituts, das im Rahmen von Vorwahlen als Wahlstation dient, und beantwortet geduldig die Fragen der Reporterin. Zum Thema „Politische Kommunikation“ hat der gebürtige Niedersachse jede Menge zu sagen – auch im Gespräch für die E-lection Bridge Africa.

KAS MEDIEN AFRIKA: Herr Röseler, die E-lection Bridge Africa begann mit einem Stück politischer Praxis – mit einem Informationsbesuch bei den Vorwahlen der New Patriotic Party (NPP) im Großraum Accra. Wie haben Sie diesen innerparteilichen Prozeß der KAS-Partnerpartei vor Ort erlebt?

OLIVER RÖSELER: Ehrlich gesagt: Ich war sehr angetan! Wir haben drei Wahllokale in unterschiedlichen Teilen der Hauptstadt besucht und überall trafen wir auf engagierte Menschen. Man konnte förmlich ihren Stolz spüren, dass sie an etwas Wichtigem teilnehmen. Diese Wertschätzung für den demokratischen Meinungsbildungsprozeß hat mir imponiert. Bei uns in Deutschland erscheint es ja als selbstverständlich und ist daher manchmal sehr eingefahren.

Biographie
Oliver Röseler wurde 1969 in Gehrden/Niedersachsen geboren. Politik hat er von der Pike auf gelernt: Bereits in seiner Zeit an der Bonner Universität führte der damalige Jura-Student den Ring Christlich-Demokratischer Studenten (RCDS) als Bundesvorsitzender. Seit 2006 wirkt er als Bereichsleiter für Marketing und Interne Kommunikation der CDU Deutschlands im Konrad-Adenauer-Haus in Berlin. Zwischen 1998 und 2009 war Röseler an vier Bundestags-, drei Europa- und etlichen Landtagswahlkämpfen beteiligt. Auf internationaler Bühne repräsentiert der Familienvater die CDU bei der International Democratic Union (IDU) – im Komitee der Wahlkampfmanager.

KAS MEDIEN AFRIKA: Die E-lection Bridge Africa basiert auf der Erkenntnis, dass die Wahlkampfexperten in Deutschland und den Staaten Afrikas vor ähnlichen Fragen und Herausforderungen stehen. Ist das denn wirklich so?

OLIVER RÖSELER: Die zentrale Aufgabe ist tatsächlich dieselbe: Wir wollen alle mithilfe politischer Kommunikation Stimmen gewinnen, möglichst sogar Mehrheiten. Das eint uns. Und wir haben alle in Accra gemerkt, dass sich das Instrumentarium dazu global annähert. Was uns dagegen unterscheidet, das sind die Rahmenbedingungen – rechtlicher, finanzieller und politischer Natur. Lassen Sie es mich so sagen: Der Werkzeugkasten der politischen Kommunikation gleicht sich an, aber wir greifen bisweilen zu unterschiedlichen Instrumenten. Um im Bilde zu bleiben: Der eine benutzt die Feile, der andere gebraucht die Stichsäge.

KAS MEDIEN AFRIKA: Sie haben für die Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung schon in einigen Teilen der Welt gewirkt. Jetzt waren Sie einer der Referenten dieser Gründungsveranstaltung der E-lection Bridge Africa – ihr Eindruck?

OLIVER RÖSELER: Ich bin mit ungewissen Erwartungen nach Ghana gereist und wurde positiv überrascht. Zunächst hat mich die Vielfalt beeindruckt: Von kleiner, aber mutiger Opposition bis hin zu ehemaligen Regierungsparteien mit einer gut geölten Maschinerie war alles vertreten. Die Professionalität der Teilnehmer war ausgesprochen hoch. Viele von ihnen machen in ihren Ländern unter schwierigen Bedingungen einen phantastischen Job. Das beflügelt meine eigene Arbeit – gerade vor dem Hintergrund von mehr als 60 Jahren Demokratie in der Bundesrepublik, die viele oft gar nicht mehr wirklich zu schätzen wissen. Also: Mir hat die Veranstaltung einen zusätzlichen Motivationsschub gegeben.

KAS MEDIEN AFRIKA: Sie haben 2009 etliche digitale Instrumente, wie z.B. CDU TV, im Bundestagswahlkampf eingesetzt. Wie digital haben Sie Afrika wahrgenommen bzw. die Teilnehmerländer aus der Region?

OLIVER RÖSELER: Einige der Kampagnen im Afrika von heute sind digital auf Augenhöhe mit der Bundesrepublik. Ja, dies ist ein Kontinent im Aufbruch. Fast wirkt es so, als würden die politischen Kommunikatoren hier eine Stufe auslassen und zwei Stufen auf einmal nehmen. Denn: Häufig sind die modernen Instrumente, insbesondere das Mobiltelefon, auf diesem Kontinent der einzige Weg, Menschen über weite Distanzen zu erreichen. Und vergessen Sie nicht: Youtube und Facebook sind zudem kostenfrei, das ist wichtig! Die zunehmende Digitalisierung hat also handfeste Gründe und wird zukünftig eine noch größere Rolle spielen, da bin ich sicher. Zum Vergleich: In Deutschland wächst die Bedeutung dieses Bereichs zwar auch rasant, in Afrika aber ist er existenziell.

KAS MEDIEN AFRIKA: Die letzte Frage der Interviews auf der Website der KAS E-lection Bridge Africa lautet immer…

OLIVER RÖSELER: … was ist „the next big thing“? Das weiß man doch inzwischen schon (lacht). Ich antworte mit einem konkreten Fallbeispiel von der E-lection Bridge Africa in Ghana. Dort hat uns Michelle Fondo aus Kenia mit ihrer erfolgreichen Facebook-Kampagne sehr beeindruckt. Das hat mich angespornt. Schon seit längerer Zeit beschäftigt mich die Frage, wie man Menschen verstärkt für Politik begeistern kann. Es geht dabei nicht um bestimmte Techniken, sondern eher um eine Philosophie, eine Strategie. Die E-lection Bridge Africa hat mir wieder bewusst gemacht, dass dies die entscheidende Herausforderung ist: Wie interessiert man die Bürger dafür, was Politik tut? Wie erreicht man ihre Köpfe und ihre Herzen? Für die Antwort hat mir die Konferenz in Accra wichtige Impulse gegeben.