Fellowship Programme 2015

Also available in Deutsch

Image 1 of 2
KAS Media Africa scholar Blessing Vava

KAS Media Africa scholar Blessing Vava from Zimbabwe

Since 2014, KAS Media Africa provides talented and promising young journalists with a scholarship to study Journalism at Wits University in Johannesburg, South Africa. Moreover, the Media Program offers participation in workshops, trainings and conferences as a stimulating addition to their studies as well as the opportunity to build up a strong network.

This year, Blessing Vava and Tapiwa Zivira, both from Zimbabwe, have been accepted to the programme.


Blessing Vava
Blessing Vava has made his mark in the field of journalism, PR and media consulting. The Zimbabwean studied horticulture at the Bulawayo Horticulture, attained an additional certificate in Marketing and Communication and recently started another bachelor studies in Politics, Philosophy and Economics at the University of South Africa. During his studies, he served as president of the national student union as well as of the national movement of catholic students and, with that, represented Zimbabwean students on a national and international level. In 2010, he joined the national constitutional assembly – back then a democratic movement, now an official political party – and quickly made his way up to the secretariat where he was the person in charge for public relations. Alongside, he started off his journalistic career by writing for several newspapers and media institutes. Still, he is writing political columns, for example for his personal blog, and provides media consultancy for various institutions.

Blessing Vava on the KAS-fellowship:
“Studying at Wits University and the additional workshops and trainings by KAS are a great support and an opportunity for me to get prepared for a later leadership position in media and politics in Zimbabwe. After the studies I want to go back to Zimbabwe to play an active role in the social democratic movement, mobilize young people and promote human rights and an independent and value-oriented media landscape.”


Tapiwa Zivira
Tapiwa Zivira has made his mark as a rising journalistic talent with a particlular interest in digital media. He studied mass communication and journalism at the Christian College of Southern Africa in Harare, Zimbabwe. In the following years, he completed several additional courses, including the 2013 Deutsche Welle Academy Multimedia and Online Advanced Journalism Course in Germany and ​the OSISA​ Summer Journalism School in Namibia. After his studies, he worked as public relations officer for an agricultural union and the General Agriculture and Plantation Workers Union of Zimbabwe. He has written for and managed news websites and social media platforms for the Zimbabwe independent media house, Alpha Media Holding​s' (AMH) print and​ online ​publications, such as NewsDay, Southern Eye, The Zimbabwe Independent and The Standard. In 2013, he received the UN-OCHA Humanitarian Reporter of the year Award and together with his colleagues from AMH won the Telkom SA Highway Africa Award for the most innovative newsroom.

Tapiwa Zivira on the KAS-fellowship:
“I hope with studying at Wits University and the additional workshops and training from KAS I can add value to my understanding of journalism. Wits is a top-ranked institution which provides me with the opportunity to attain current knowledge and exchange notes on best practices in the profession with colleagues and experts in the field that I can put to use in Zimbabwe. After the scholarship, I intend to go back to Zimbabwe, with the ultimate aim to add value to the journalism practice. My primary focus is on the digital media revolution where I want to make a contribution to sustainable digital media publishing.”


We are very pleased to support Blessing and Tapiwa in their journalistic ambitions. We hope this year in South Africa will be a valuable experience for them and wish them all the best and lots of success.

Stipendiaten 2015

Auch verfügbar in English

Bild 1 von 2
KAS Media Africa scholar Blessing Vava

Blessing Vava, Stipendiat des Medienprogramms Subsahara-Afrika

Seit 2014 vergibt das KAS Medienprogramm für Subsahara-Afrika Stipendien an talentierte und vielversprechende Jungjournalisten aus der Region. Den Stipendiaten wird ein einjähriges Journalismus-Masterstudium an der Wits University in Johannesburg finanziert. Zusätzlich ermöglicht das Medienprogramm die Teilnahme an Workshops, Konferenzen und Exkursionen und bietet damit eine anregende Ergänzung zum Studium und vielfältige Networking-Möglichkeiten.

In das diesjährige Förderprogramm wurden Blessing Vava und Tapiwa Zivira aufgenommen, beide kommen aus Simbabwe.


Blessing Vava
Blessing Vava hat sich in den letzten Jahren durch vielfältige Aktivitäten in Journalismus, PR und Medienberatung einen Namen gemacht. Er studierte Gartenbau an der Bulawayo Polytechnic, absolvierte eine Weiterbildung in Marketing und Kommunikation und nahm kürzlich ein weiteres Studium an der University of South Africa in Politics, Philosophy and Economics auf. Er engagierte sich als Präsident der National Student Union sowie der Nationalen Bewegung Katholischer Studenten und vertrat so die Studentenschaft auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene. 2010 schloss er sich der National Constitutional Assembly an und stieg dort schnell in den Vorstand auf, wo er sich um die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit kümmerte. Daneben startete er seine journalistische Karriere als Redakteur für verschiedene Zeitungen und Medieninstitute. Nach wie vor schreibt er politische Kolumnen, u.a. für seinen persönlichen Blog, und berät verschiedene Institutionen hinsichtlich ihrer Öffentlichkeitsarbeit.

Blessing Vava über die Förderung der KAS:
„Das Studium an der Wits University und die ergänzenden Angebote der KAS sind eine großartige Unterstützung auf meinem Ausbildungs- und Berufsweg und bereiten mich hoffentlich auf eine zukünftige Führungsposition in der Medienlandschaft und in der Politik vor. Nach dem Studium möchte ich nach Simbabwe zurückkehren, um dort eine aktive Rolle in der Demokratiebewegung zu spielen und mich insbesondere für Menschenrechte und eine unabhängige, werteorientierte Medienlandschaft einsetzen.“


Tapiwa Zivira
Tapiwa Zivira hat sich in den letzten Jahren als aufstrebendes journalistisches Talent mit besonderem Interesse an digitalen Medien hervorgetan. Er studierte Mass Communication and Journalism am Christan College of Southern Africa. In den darauffolgenden Jahren absolvierte er verschiedene journalistische Weiterbildungen und Summer Schools, beispielsweise von der Deutschen Welle Akademie oder OSISA. Nach dem Studium übernahm er schnell Verantwortung in der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit für landwirtschaftliche Verbände und eine Europäisch-Simbabwische Demokratieinitiative. Zudem schrieb er für verschiedene Zeitungen, u.a. The Standard Newspaper und Alpha Media Holdings und verwaltete deren Online-Auftritte. 2013 wurde er mit dem UN-OCHA Humanitarian Reporter of the year Award ausgezeichnet, mit seiner Redaktion bei Alpha Media Holdings gewann er den Telkom SA Highway Africa Award für die innovativste Redaktion.

Tapiwa über die Förderung der KAS:
“Das Studium an der Wits University und das ergänzenden Angebot der KAS stellt einen Mehrwert für mein Journalismusverstaendis. Die Wits ist eine führende Institution, die mir die Gelegenheit bietet, auf hohem Niveau zu lernen und zu forschen, mich mit Kollegen und Experten über aktuelle Entwicklungen im Feld auszutauschen. Nach dem Studium möchte ich nach Simbabwe zurückkehren und die in Südafrika erworbenen Fähigkeiten einsetzen. Mein ultimatives Ziel ist, den Journalismus in Simbabwe voranzubringen und weiterzuentwickeln. Mit meinem Fokus auf digitalen Medien möchte ich insbesondere einen Beitrag zu nachhaltigen digitalen Geschäftsmodellen leisten.”


Wir freuen uns, Blessing und Tapiwa unterstützen zu können! Wir hoffen, dass sie während ihrer Förderung in Südafrika wertvolle Erfahrungen sammeln können und wünschen ihnen alles Gute und viel Erfolg.